The Restless Sea

by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Part of the Morland Dynasty Series

Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on The Restless Sea

This is number 27 in the magnificent Dynasty Series that traces the whole of British history through the many branches of the Morland family. We are now into 1912 and the Titanic. If you want English history in digestible slices then I do highly recommend this series.

Comparison: Reay Tannahill, E V Thompson.
Similar this month: None but I really think you’ll enjoy all Robert Goddard’s titles too.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Restless Sea Synopsis

England in 1912 still bears itself with Edwardian confidence, but strikes, protests and public violence reveal the fault lines as society evolves under the spur of new ideas and technology.

Among the many branches of the Morland family, Jessie and Violet, childhood friends, learn to cope with the surprises of marriage and motherhood and their different strata of society. Jack, disappointed in love, loses himself in designing aircraft and training airmen for the newly formed flying corps. And Anne exhausted by the Suffragette struggle, seeks comfort in her friendship with an unconventional young woman.


The Titanic tragedy shakes the confidence of a people used to conquering nature with engineering; and all the while, the troubled nations of Europe edge closer to a war no-one wants, but which seems inevitable.

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Dark and Distant Shore
The Mystery of Three Quarters
Fatal Inheritance

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780751533446
Publication date: 03/11/2005
Publisher: Time Warner Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780751533446
Publication date: 3rd November 2005
Author: Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Publisher: Time Warner Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 512 pages
Genres: Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical fiction,

About Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is the author of the contemporary Bill Slider Mystery series as well as the Morland Dynasty novels. Her passions are music, wine, horses, architecture and the English countryside.

More About Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

More Books By Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Cover for Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
Cover for Goodbye, Piccadilly War at Home, 1914 by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
View All Books By Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Share this book