book price comparison desmond elliott 2017 rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Cornish House by Liz Fenwick
  

The Cornish House

Romantic Fiction   Debuts of the Month   Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A gorgeously sprawling, emotional debut, about starting a new life in a beautiful, crumbling old house in Cornwall. Perfect for fans of Rosamunde Pilcher. Artist Maddie loses her husband and shortly after inherits a house in Cornwall. Is it meant to be the fresh start she and her step daughter need?

If you like Liz Fenwick you might also like to read books by Rosamunde Pilcher, Charlotte Bingham and Susan Sallis.

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Cornish Gift!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of A Cornish Gift, Fern Britton's festive short story collection - each with a book plate signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

The Cornish House by Liz Fenwick

When artist Maddie inherits a house in Cornwall shortly after the death of her husband, she hopes it will be the fresh start she and her step-daughter desperately need. Trevenen is beautiful but neglected, and as Maddie discovers the stories of generations of women who've lived there before, she begins to feel her life is somehow intertwined within its walls. But Maddie's dream of a calm life in the countryside is far from the reality she faces - and as she pulls at the seams of Trevenen's past, the house reveals secrets that have lain hidden for generations.

Reviews

'A heart tugging story of loss and recovery.' -- Fanny Blake WOMAN & HOME

'This is a book about loss, misguided decisions, heartbreak and change, but it's also about hope, long held secrets and friendships formed between the unlikeliest of people ... [it] made me laugh out loud and cry a few times. I loved it' -- Debs Carr NOVELICIOUS

About the Author

Liz Fenwick

Growing up in Boston, Liz Fenwick discovered early on that her best friends could be books. While waiting on a place for Harvard, she moved to London to see if life looked different from the other side of the Atlantic. It did and she soon fell in love with an Englishman. Now happily married with three children, she spends as much time as possible at her home in Cornwall.

Author photo © Paul Sumner

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th April 2013

Author

Liz Fenwick

More books by Liz Fenwick
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.lizfenwick.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Debuts of the Month
Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781409137481

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools