My Dear I Wanted to Tell You

by Louisa Young

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

My Dear I Wanted to Tell You Synopsis

A letter, two lovers, a terrible lie. In war, truth is only the first casualty. 'Inspires the kind of devotion among its readers not seen since David Nicholls' One Day' The Times While Riley Purefoy and Peter Locke fight for their country, their survival and their sanity in the trenches of Flanders, Nadine Waveney, Julia Locke and Rose Locke do what they can at home. Beautiful, obsessive Julia and gentle, eccentric Peter are married: each day Julia goes through rituals to prepare for her beloved husband's return. Nadine and Riley, only eighteen when the war starts, and with problems of their own already, want above all to make promises - but how can they when the future is not in their hands? And Rose? Well, what did happen to the traditionally brought-up women who lost all hope of marriage, because all the young men were dead? Moving between Ypres, London and Paris, My Dear I Wanted to Tell You is a deeply affecting, moving and brilliant novel of love and war, and how they affect those left behind as well as those who fight.

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Closing date: 24/05/2018

Molly Green is back this spring, with the perfect read for fans of 'Call The Midwife' and 'Grantchester'. Celebrating Molly Green's newest release 'An Orphan's War' we are giving away 10 copies of this book to TEN lucky winners. War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love, loss and war.   To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 24 May 2018. The Winners will be notified by 4 June 2018. Good luck!

Enter Now

My Dear I Wanted to Tell You Press Reviews

'Every once in a while comes a novel that generates its own success, simply by being loved.'
The Times

'Birdsong for the new millennium'
Tatler

'Powerful, sometimes shocking, boldly conceived, it fixes on war's lingering trauma to show how people adapt - or not - and is irradiated by anger and pity'
The Sunday Times

'[A] tender, elegiac novel. Others have been here before, of course, from Sebastian Faulks to Pat Barker, but Young belongs in their company'
Mail on Sunday

'Unmissable ... in crisp poignant prose Young explores what war really means in terms of mental anguish, while cleverly commenting on class and sex'
Marie Claire

'Weaving heartbreakingly painful irony, heroic sacrifice, human weakness, vanity, tragedy and the purest of loves, you'll be left sobbing and grasping onto any hope that all is not lost amid the poppies, the guns and the hospital beds'
Easy Living

'A memorable and unusual novel which explores new ground in the literature of the Great War'
Linda Grant

'This novel is a triumph'
Elizabeth Jane Howard

'Young has a historian's eye for the private details of war, and a warmth to her prose that makes her small cast emotionally engaging ... Through Riley, however, the novel achieves an appeal to compassion and courage that deserves to reach a wide audience ... Hindsight tells us peace will not be final, but Young conveys, beautifully, the universal wish that it might be'
Independent

'Beautifully realised'
Daily Express

'Masterfully conveyed'
Woman

& Home 'Full of drama, betrayal and addictive real-life detail
Red

'This is a moving and powerful novel, one you're not likely to forget'
Choice

'A book that should be read by everyone'
New Books

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Summer Before the War
Beneath the Earth
From a Distance
A History of Loneliness

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007361441
Publication date: 05/01/2012
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007361434
Publication date: 17/03/2011
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9780007429196
Publication date: 17/03/2011
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: CD-Audio

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007361441
Publication date: 5th January 2012
Author: Louisa Young
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Louisa Young

Louisa Young was born in London. She was for many years a freelance journalist, working mostly for the motorcycle press, for Marie Claire and for the Guardian. She has travelled widely and published ten books. She lives in London and Italy with her daughter and the composer Robert Lockhart. She is the adult half of Zizou Corder, authors of the best-selling Lionboy trilogy, which is published in 36 languages.

More About Louisa Young

More Books By Louisa Young

Cover for The Heroes' Welcome by Louisa Young
Cover for The Heroes' Welcome by Louisa Young
Cover for My Dear I Wanted to Tell You by Louisa Young
View All Books By Louisa Young

Share this book