newgen books for YA readers book price comparison
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Witch Hunt by Syd Moore
  

The Witch Hunt

Horror   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Follow-up to the excellent reinvention of the ghost story The Drowning Pool comes another spooky tale inspired by stories of Essex witches. Journalist Sadie Asquith finds, rather chillingly, that her life starts mirroring her art as she researches a book on 16th century witchcraft. A scary, chilling and haunting ghost story perfect for fans of Susan Hill or Christopher Ransom.

If you like Syd Moore you might also like to read books by K. N. Shields.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Witch Hunt by Syd Moore

Sadie Asquith has been fascinated by the dark past of Essex's witch hunts for as long as she can remember. And for good reason: between 1560 and 1680, over 500 women were tried for witchcraft in the county of Essex. But as she researches a book on the subject, Sadie experiences strange, ghostly visions. She hears noises at night, a sobbing sound that follows her, and black moths appear from nowhere. It's as if, by digging up the truth about the witch hunts, she has opened an unearthly connection to the women treated so cruelly and killed centuries before. And something else in the modern world is after her too: Sadie is sure she's being followed, her flat is burgled and she finds clues that reveal her own past isn't all that she believed. Can she find peace for the witches of Essex's history and can she find a safe path for herself? So scary you'll sleep with the lights on...

Reviews

Praise for The Drowning Pool:

'A stunning reinvention of the ghost story and an exploration of a 19th-century Essex witch hunt.
Guardian

'A goose-pimply old-fashioned ghost story.'
Christopher Fowler, author of the Bryant and May series

'A must for any intelligent Essex girls out there and a gripping ghosty read for everyone. Hurry up and write the next one please Syd...'
The Women's Room Blog

About the Author

Syd Moore

Syd Moore is the author of The Drowning Pool, a novel inspired by the legend of a 19th Century Essex woman -- the Sea Witch Sarah Moore. She is also co-creator of Super Strumps, the game that reclaims female stereotypes through the medium of Top Trumps, and was founding editor of Level 4, an arts and culture magazine based in South Essex. She has worked extensively in publishing and the book trade and presented Channel 4's late night book programme, Pulp.

Author photo © Simon Fowler

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th October 2012

Author

Syd Moore

More books by Syd Moore
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
446 pages

Categories

Horror
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Horror & ghost stories

ISBN

9781847562692

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools