join us on facebook twitter
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Witch Hunt by Syd Moore

The Witch Hunt

Horror   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

Follow-up to the excellent reinvention of the ghost story The Drowning Pool comes another spooky tale inspired by stories of Essex witches. Journalist Sadie Asquith finds, rather chillingly, that her life starts mirroring her art as she researches a book on 16th century witchcraft. A scary, chilling and haunting ghost story perfect for fans of Susan Hill or Christopher Ransom.

If you like Syd Moore you might also like to read books by K. N. Shields.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst


The Witch Hunt by Syd Moore

Sadie Asquith has been fascinated by the dark past of Essex's witch hunts for as long as she can remember. And for good reason: between 1560 and 1680, over 500 women were tried for witchcraft in the county of Essex. But as she researches a book on the subject, Sadie experiences strange, ghostly visions. She hears noises at night, a sobbing sound that follows her, and black moths appear from nowhere. It's as if, by digging up the truth about the witch hunts, she has opened an unearthly connection to the women treated so cruelly and killed centuries before. And something else in the modern world is after her too: Sadie is sure she's being followed, her flat is burgled and she finds clues that reveal her own past isn't all that she believed. Can she find peace for the witches of Essex's history and can she find a safe path for herself? So scary you'll sleep with the lights on...


Praise for The Drowning Pool:

'A stunning reinvention of the ghost story and an exploration of a 19th-century Essex witch hunt.

'A goose-pimply old-fashioned ghost story.'
Christopher Fowler, author of the Bryant and May series

'A must for any intelligent Essex girls out there and a gripping ghosty read for everyone. Hurry up and write the next one please Syd...'
The Women's Room Blog

About the Author

Syd Moore

Syd Moore is the author of The Drowning Pool, a novel inspired by the legend of a 19th Century Essex woman -- the Sea Witch Sarah Moore. She is also co-creator of Super Strumps, the game that reclaims female stereotypes through the medium of Top Trumps, and was founding editor of Level 4, an arts and culture magazine based in South Essex. She has worked extensively in publishing and the book trade and presented Channel 4's late night book programme, Pulp.

Author photo © Simon Fowler

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th October 2012


Syd Moore

More books by Syd Moore
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


446 pages


eBook Favourites

Horror & ghost stories



Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett