The Witch Hunt

by Syd Moore

eBooks of the Month Horror

LoveReading View on The Witch Hunt

Follow-up to the excellent reinvention of the ghost story The Drowning Pool comes another spooky tale inspired by stories of Essex witches. Journalist Sadie Asquith finds, rather chillingly, that her life starts mirroring her art as she researches a book on 16th century witchcraft. A scary, chilling and haunting ghost story perfect for fans of Susan Hill or Christopher Ransom.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Witch Hunt Synopsis

Sadie Asquith has been fascinated by the dark past of Essex's witch hunts for as long as she can remember. And for good reason: between 1560 and 1680, over 500 women were tried for witchcraft in the county of Essex. But as she researches a book on the subject, Sadie experiences strange, ghostly visions. She hears noises at night, a sobbing sound that follows her, and black moths appear from nowhere. It's as if, by digging up the truth about the witch hunts, she has opened an unearthly connection to the women treated so cruelly and killed centuries before. And something else in the modern world is after her too: Sadie is sure she's being followed, her flat is burgled and she finds clues that reveal her own past isn't all that she believed. Can she find peace for the witches of Essex's history and can she find a safe path for herself? So scary you'll sleep with the lights on...

The Witch Hunt Press Reviews

Praise for The Drowning Pool:

 

'A stunning reinvention of the ghost story and an exploration of a 19th-century Essex witch hunt.
Guardian

'A goose-pimply old-fashioned ghost story.'
Christopher Fowler, author of the Bryant and May series

'A must for any intelligent Essex girls out there and a gripping ghosty read for everyone. Hurry up and write the next one please Syd...'
The Women's Room Blog

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sweet Heart
Little Eve
Strange Weather
Awakened A Novel

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781847562692
Publication date: 11/10/2012
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781847562692
Publication date: 11th October 2012
Author: Syd Moore
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 446 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Horror,
Categories: Horror & ghost stories,

About Syd Moore

Syd Moore is the author of The Drowning Pool, a novel inspired by the legend of a 19th Century Essex woman -- the Sea Witch Sarah Moore. She is also co-creator of Super Strumps, the game that reclaims female stereotypes through the medium of Top Trumps, and was founding editor of Level 4, an arts and culture magazine based in South Essex. She has worked extensively in publishing and the book trade and presented Channel 4's late night book programme, Pulp.   Author  photo © Simon Fowler

More About Syd Moore

More Books By Syd Moore

Cover for The Drowning Pool by Syd Moore
View All Books By Syd Moore

Share this book