LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Happy Days

by Graham Hurley

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Happy Days

This is the 12th and final Faraday and Winter Portsmouth-based police procedural mystery. As the book opens with the discovery of DI Faraday’s body this really is the end of an era. The series of books with their compelling and realistic characters makes them perfect for fans of Ian Rankin’s Rebus.

Sarah Broadhurst

Happy Days Synopsis

D/I Faraday is gone and the police are left reeling. As his boss attempts to limit any possible PR damage his one time shadow on the force, ex D/C Winter is ever more concerned that he may have made the biggest mistake of his life throwing in his lot with the city's drug baron, Bazza McKenzie. Especially as Bazza is becoming increasingly desperate and violent as his empire begins to crumble under the weight of austere times. And, in the person of D/S Jimmy Suttle there's a new will at the heart of Portsmouth's embattled police force to nail Bazza once and for all, the one man Faraday was always desperate to bring to justice. Graham Hurley's new novel is about loss. It is about the decisions we make in life, about the impact our lives have on others. Hurley's trademark authenticity has been allied to an ever increasing sense of drama as he charts the lives of his vivid characters and paints a stunning portrait of a city and a country at war with itself. A war which throws the police into the front line. Happy days?

Signed set of Will Carver Books!

Signed set of Will Carver Books!

Closing date: 01/12/2019

Nothing Important Happened Today by Will Carver was published on the 14th November and to celebrate we have three signed sets of Will  Carver's books published by Orenda (Good Samaritans and Nothing Important Happened Today). "If you like your books to be a little twisted, dark, and provocative, then *waves frantically* stop right here!" Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer on Nothing Important Happened Today. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st December 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Happy Days Press Reviews

'There is no one writing better police procedurals today.' -- Sunday Telegraph


If you loved this, you might like these...

A Dark Matter
The Home
Long Bright River
Local Legend

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781409102366
Publication date: 11/10/2012
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781409102366
Publication date: 11th October 2012
Author: Graham Hurley
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Graham Hurley

Graham Hurley is an award-winning TV documentary maker who now writes full time. He lived in Portsmouth for 20 years. He is married and has grown up children. He now lives in Exmouth, Devon.   Maxim Jakubowski's view on JOE FARADAY... The investigations of a Portsmouth cop and a fascinating look into crime on the British coast. If you like Ian Rankin’s Rebus, this should be your next step. NO LOVELIER DEATH is the 9th book in the Faraday series.   A Q & A with Graham Hurley   Who’s your favourite author?The Alan Furst of ...

More About Graham Hurley

More Books By Graham Hurley

Cover for Touching Distance by Graham Hurley
Cover for The Sins of the Father by Graham Hurley
Cover for Western Approaches by Graham Hurley
View All Books By Graham Hurley

Share this book