desmond elliott 2017 twitter likeyoulove
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Sacrilege by S. J. Parris
  

Sacrilege

Historical Fiction   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

August 2012 Book of the Month.

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012.

We loved her debut Heresy, with the ex-monk turned secret agent Giordano Bruno and the follow up historical mystery, Sacrilege, is just as gripping. Assassinations, threats of plague and dark secrets hidden in the crypt of Canterbury Cathedral prove a formidable challenge for renaissance man Bruno, who is also battling with demons of his own. If you enjoy authors like C J Sansom then we think you will find it hard to resist.

If you like S. J. Parris you might also like to read books by Claire Letemendia, James Forrester and C. J. Sansom.

Synopsis

Sacrilege by S. J. Parris

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the third historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. In the pursuit of power, nothing is sacred...Summer, 1584. The Protestant Prince William of Orange has been assassinated by a fanatical Catholic, and there are whispers that Queen Elizabeth will be next. Fear haunts the streets of London, and plague is driving many citizens away. Giordano Bruno, radical philosopher and spy, chooses to remain, only to find that someone is following him through the city. Confronting his stalker, he realizes it is the woman he once loved - she is on the run, having been accused of murder. Bruno travels to Canterbury to help clear her name, and also on behalf of Sir Francis Walsingham. The Queen's spymaster has long suspected Catholic influence in the ancient centre of pilgrimage, and instructs Bruno to work to expose any enemy plots. As Bruno begins his hunt for the real killer, he is drawn into the heart of a sinister conspiracy hiding in the shadow of England's holiest shrine...

Reviews

Praise for S. J. Parris:

'Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins
Daily Telegraph

'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history
Kate Mosse

'Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please
The Times

'Full of surprises ... an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth's security
TLS

'Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping
Conn Iggulden

'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabth I
Andrew Taylor, bestselling author of The American Boy

About the Author

S. J. Parris

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student in Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.

Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th August 2012

Author

S. J. Parris

More books by S. J. Parris
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.sjparris.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries

ISBN

9780007317783

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools