Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

debuts of the month books of the month
Search our site
Once A Pilgrim by James Deegan Read the opening extract of the brand new James Deegan book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Grave Mercy

Part of the His Fair Assassin Series
NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

The sisters of the convent of St Mortain are trained assassins. They serve the god of Death. Introducing a powerful new heroine Ismae, this is a dangerous paranormal romance that simmers with courtly intrigue, poison, murder, secrets, betrayals and divided loyalties. It's the first in a gripping new trilogy that will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games in particular. Grave Mercy is a beautifully crafted historical fantasy brimming with magic, supense, assassin nuns and passion that will leave you craving more...We love it.

A message from the author's Editor, Ruth Knowles:

If I asked you to think of a picturesque nunnery on an isolated island off the coast of Brittany, you might think of Julie Andrews in The Sound of Music singing ‘The hills are alive!’ In the case of Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers you couldn’t be further from the truth. The convent of St Mortain, which seventeen-year old Ismae belongs to, serves Death. Each sister is trained as an assassin. All are deadly.

Grave Mercy is book one in the breathtaking His Fair Assassin trilogy, which we are very excited to have on the Andersen Press list. It is already proving to be a huge hit in the author’s native US, where bloggers and publications are giving the book glowing starred reviews, calling it ‘A page-turner – with grace’ (Kirkus, starred review), and ‘Powerful’ (Publishers Weekly) amongst many, many other plaudits. Ismae ( who is seriously kick-ass) and her gripping first assignment are sure to bewitch both fans of Philippa Gregory and of Lauren Kate. With action, courtly intrigue, a touch of the supernatural and a beautifully written romance, this sophisticated, thrilling novel has something for everyone. I hope you love it as much as we do.


Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Young, beautiful and deadly. Trained as an assassin by the god of Death, Ismae is sent to the court of Brittany, where she finds herself under prepared - not only for the games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death's vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart? This is a dangerous romance full of intrigue, poison and ultimately finding one's way.

Browse inside this book


A blooming romance...makes for a heady ferocious page-turner. * The School Librarian * I loved how rich and detailed the story was. * Have Book Will Read Blog * Like Hunger Games Ismae is a female assassin . . . A fantasy based on the rough contours of history . . . Game of Thrones-style. * New York Times * Sweeps the reader up in a page-turning tale of clashing factions, dangerous ambitions and simmering romance... An original and sophisticated beginning to a worthy new YA series. * Books for Keeps * Full of mystery and political intrigue that had me turning the pages as fast as I could * Feeling Fictional *

About the Author

Robin LaFevers

R. L. LaFevers (Robin Lorraine LaFevers) is an award-winning American children's book writer from California. She is the author of the Theodosia series and Nathaniel Fludd, Beastologist series. R. L. La Fevers grew up in Los Angeles, California and now resides on a small ranch in Southern California with her husband, two sons, dog and cat. R. L. LaFevers has had a life-long love of animals, which often make appearances in her novels, and a sensitivity to ecological responsibility best apparent in the Nathaniel Fludd books. She admits to a belief in the magical, which is also a driving element of stories such as Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos. Grave Mercy is her first young adult book.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th June 2012


Robin LaFevers

More books by Robin LaFevers
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Andersen Press Ltd


496 pages


NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)



It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.