when i was invisible katie fforde i found you lisa jewel nobodys son cathy glass jonathan unleashed
Vouchers


Marathon by Christian Cameron
  

Marathon

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

March 2012 Book of the Month.

The author first came to prominence by penning a series of fictional books on the pharaohs of ancient Egypt that proved incredibly popular. Now he is writing about epic times in ancient Greece. Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Robert Harris will love this story based around the dramatic and fascinating battle of Marathon 490BC between King Darius’s mighty Persian Army and a much smaller force of Athenians, sworn to defend Athens.

The Long War Series:
1. Killer of Men
2. Marathon
3. Poseidon's Spear

If you like Christian Cameron you might also like to read books by Seven Pressfield, Robyn Young and Simon Scarrow.

Win tickets to Chiddingstone Castle Lit Fest

We have four pairs of tickets to give away to hear Alison Weir at the Chiddingstone Castle Literary Festival Sunday 30 April 4 - 5 pm. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once and the prize cannot be exchanged for cash and does not include transport or accommodation. Draw closes on Friday 17 April. The winners will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 20 April 2017.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 17/04/2017

Synopsis

Marathon by Christian Cameron

Arimnestos of Plataea grew up wanting to be a bronze-smith, like his father. Then, in the chaos of war, he was taken to a city in the Persian empire and sold as a slave. To win his freedom he had to show that he could fight and kill. Now, to preserve that freedom, he must kill again. For the Persians are coming. A vast army sent by King Darius to put down the rebellious Greeks and burn the city of Athens to the ground. Standing against them on the plain of Marathon, a much smaller force of Athenians, alongside their Plataean allies. To defeat such overwhelming force seems impossible. And yet to yield would mean the destruction of everything the Greeks have dreamed of. In the dust and heat of Marathon, in the clash of shields and the rush of spears, amidst the thunder of hooves and the screams of the dying, those dreams will undergo their fiercest test - and Arimnestos and his Greek comrades will discover the true price of freedom.

About the Author

Christian Cameron

Christian Cameron is a writer, re-enactor and military historian. He is a veteran of the United States Navy, where he served as both an aviator and an intelligence officer. He now lives in Toronto with his wife and daughter, where he writes full time.

Author photo © Leonard Schlichting

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2012

Author

Christian Cameron

More books by Christian Cameron
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.hippeis.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781409118060

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools