debuts of the month book price comparison
Search our site
Letters to Iris by Elizabeth Noble Read the opening extract of the brand new Elizabeth Noble book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Marathon by Christian Cameron
  

Marathon

Part of the The Long War Series
Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

March 2012 Book of the Month.

The author first came to prominence by penning a series of fictional books on the pharaohs of ancient Egypt that proved incredibly popular. Now he is writing about epic times in ancient Greece. Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Robert Harris will love this story based around the dramatic and fascinating battle of Marathon 490BC between King Darius’s mighty Persian Army and a much smaller force of Athenians, sworn to defend Athens.

The Long War Series:
1. Killer of Men
2. Marathon
3. Poseidon's Spear

If you like Christian Cameron you might also like to read books by Valerio Massimo Manfredi, Christian Jacq and Bernard Cornwell.

Synopsis

Marathon by Christian Cameron

Arimnestos of Plataea grew up wanting to be a bronze-smith, like his father. Then, in the chaos of war, he was taken to a city in the Persian empire and sold as a slave. To win his freedom he had to show that he could fight and kill. Now, to preserve that freedom, he must kill again. For the Persians are coming. A vast army sent by King Darius to put down the rebellious Greeks and burn the city of Athens to the ground. Standing against them on the plain of Marathon, a much smaller force of Athenians, alongside their Plataean allies. To defeat such overwhelming force seems impossible. And yet to yield would mean the destruction of everything the Greeks have dreamed of. In the dust and heat of Marathon, in the clash of shields and the rush of spears, amidst the thunder of hooves and the screams of the dying, those dreams will undergo their fiercest test - and Arimnestos and his Greek comrades will discover the true price of freedom.

About the Author

Christian Cameron

Christian Cameron is a writer, re-enactor and military historian. He is a veteran of the United States Navy, where he served as both an aviator and an intelligence officer. He now lives in Toronto with his wife and daughter, where he writes full time.

Author photo © Leonard Schlichting

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2012

Author

Christian Cameron

More books by Christian Cameron
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.hippeis.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781409118060

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools