the swimming pool summer reading the girls Dear Amy Maxim Jakubowskis Selection
Vouchers


The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson
  

The Great Escape

Relationship Stories   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

February 2012 Book of the Month.

This laugh-out-loud funny tale, packed full of real life cringe-worthy moments we all know so well, asks the question: Can any woman ever grab back a piece of her younger self? For one weekend only, Hannah, Sadie and Lou are determined to give it their best shot. Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.

If you like Fiona Gibson you might also like to read books by Fiona Neill, Jane Costello and Sophie King.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a cinema gift voucher!

We have a £20 cinema gift voucher to give away to 1 lucky winner. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 1 Aug 2016. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 15 Aug 2016.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 01/08/2016

Synopsis

The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson

Hannah's getting married! and has serious pre-wedding jitters. She adores Ryan but can't figure out how to fit into his grown-up, family-sized life. There's that fridge, for starters. That, too, is family-sized, with a gadget on the front that spits ice in her face. More alarming still are Ryan's children, Daisy, 10 and Josh, 13, who clearly don't relish the prospect of Hannah, a free-spirited greetings card illustrator, becoming their step-mum. So she fires off invitations to a hen weekend -- just the ticket to get her into the marrying mood. Trouble is! New mum Sadie is leaving her twin babies for the very first time with their terrified dad! Lou is unaware that her long-term man Spike is desperate to bundle her onto that Glasgow-bound train so he can hot-foot it round to see his secret fling Miranda! And, unbeknown to the girls, Johnny, their sexy upstairs neighbour from their art college days, is still frequenting those haunts, desperately in need of a little magic to happen.

Reviews

Praise for Mum on the Run:

'Frivolous fun.
Grazia

'Warm, funny and poignant.'
The Daily Mail

'Brilliant!manages to capture family life perfectly.'
Chick Lit Reviews

Praise for Mummy Said the F Word:

'Gibson is on top form! laugh-out-loud funny, warm and compelling'
News of the World

'Crisp and funny! Caitlin is appealingly intelligent and sardonic, whether coping with persistent kids or the comically disastrous attentions of younger men.'
Financial Times

'Sharply observed, funny and captures the warmth and clutter of family life.'
Daily Mail

Praise for Lucky Girl:

'Gibson writes like an angel. She is the voice of modern woman.'
Marie Claire

'Lovely, heartwarming, immensely readable.'
Jenny Colgan

Praise for Babyface:

'A fantastic debut. More than funny, it's true.' Louise Bagshawe

'A bitter-sweet take on bringing up baby in modern times and a great first book.'
Heat

Praise for Wonderboy:

'Fans of rueful social comedy will chortle over the escapades of Ro! witty expose of the perils and pitfalls of relocation.'
Elle

'Addictive.'
Company

About the Author

Fiona Gibson

Fiona Gibson is an author and journalist who has written for many UK publications including The Observer, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, New Woman, Top Sante and Elle. For several years she has written a popular weekly column chronicling her family life in The Sunday Herald newspaper.

Fiona lives in Scotland with her husband, their twin sons and daughter. She likes to draw, run 10k races, play her saxophone and lie in the bath with a big glass of wine, although not all at once.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th February 2012

Author

Fiona Gibson

More books by Fiona Gibson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.fionagibson.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781847562609

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools