Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

win prizes make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Last Summer by Andree Michaud Read the opening extract of the brand new Andree Michaud book before its publication on 25/01/2018

The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson
  

The Great Escape

Relationship Stories   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

February 2012 Book of the Month.

This laugh-out-loud funny tale, packed full of real life cringe-worthy moments we all know so well, asks the question: Can any woman ever grab back a piece of her younger self? For one weekend only, Hannah, Sadie and Lou are determined to give it their best shot. Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.

If you like Fiona Gibson you might also like to read books by Kate Long, Sophie King and Kate Long.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson

Hannah's getting married! and has serious pre-wedding jitters. She adores Ryan but can't figure out how to fit into his grown-up, family-sized life. There's that fridge, for starters. That, too, is family-sized, with a gadget on the front that spits ice in her face. More alarming still are Ryan's children, Daisy, 10 and Josh, 13, who clearly don't relish the prospect of Hannah, a free-spirited greetings card illustrator, becoming their step-mum. So she fires off invitations to a hen weekend -- just the ticket to get her into the marrying mood. Trouble is! New mum Sadie is leaving her twin babies for the very first time with their terrified dad! Lou is unaware that her long-term man Spike is desperate to bundle her onto that Glasgow-bound train so he can hot-foot it round to see his secret fling Miranda! And, unbeknown to the girls, Johnny, their sexy upstairs neighbour from their art college days, is still frequenting those haunts, desperately in need of a little magic to happen.

Reviews

Praise for Mum on the Run:

'Frivolous fun.
Grazia

'Warm, funny and poignant.'
The Daily Mail

'Brilliant!manages to capture family life perfectly.'
Chick Lit Reviews

Praise for Mummy Said the F Word:

'Gibson is on top form! laugh-out-loud funny, warm and compelling'
News of the World

'Crisp and funny! Caitlin is appealingly intelligent and sardonic, whether coping with persistent kids or the comically disastrous attentions of younger men.'
Financial Times

'Sharply observed, funny and captures the warmth and clutter of family life.'
Daily Mail

Praise for Lucky Girl:

'Gibson writes like an angel. She is the voice of modern woman.'
Marie Claire

'Lovely, heartwarming, immensely readable.'
Jenny Colgan

Praise for Babyface:

'A fantastic debut. More than funny, it's true.' Louise Bagshawe

'A bitter-sweet take on bringing up baby in modern times and a great first book.'
Heat

Praise for Wonderboy:

'Fans of rueful social comedy will chortle over the escapades of Ro! witty expose of the perils and pitfalls of relocation.'
Elle

'Addictive.'
Company

About the Author

Fiona Gibson

Fiona Gibson is an author and journalist who has written for many UK publications including The Observer, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, New Woman, Top Sante and Elle. For several years she has written a popular weekly column chronicling her family life in The Sunday Herald newspaper.

Fiona lives in Scotland with her husband, their twin sons and daughter. She likes to draw, run 10k races, play her saxophone and lie in the bath with a big glass of wine, although not all at once.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th February 2012

Author

Fiona Gibson

More books by Fiona Gibson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.fionagibson.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781847562609

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools