granchester before the fall Harry Potter House Eds reading groups tudor queens series

The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson
  

The Great Escape

Relationship Stories   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

February 2012 Book of the Month.

This laugh-out-loud funny tale, packed full of real life cringe-worthy moments we all know so well, asks the question: Can any woman ever grab back a piece of her younger self? For one weekend only, Hannah, Sadie and Lou are determined to give it their best shot. Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.

If you like Fiona Gibson you might also like to read books by Sophie King, Fiona Neill and Kate Long.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 3 July 2017. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 17 July 2017.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/07/2017

Synopsis

The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson

Hannah's getting married! and has serious pre-wedding jitters. She adores Ryan but can't figure out how to fit into his grown-up, family-sized life. There's that fridge, for starters. That, too, is family-sized, with a gadget on the front that spits ice in her face. More alarming still are Ryan's children, Daisy, 10 and Josh, 13, who clearly don't relish the prospect of Hannah, a free-spirited greetings card illustrator, becoming their step-mum. So she fires off invitations to a hen weekend -- just the ticket to get her into the marrying mood. Trouble is! New mum Sadie is leaving her twin babies for the very first time with their terrified dad! Lou is unaware that her long-term man Spike is desperate to bundle her onto that Glasgow-bound train so he can hot-foot it round to see his secret fling Miranda! And, unbeknown to the girls, Johnny, their sexy upstairs neighbour from their art college days, is still frequenting those haunts, desperately in need of a little magic to happen.

Reviews

Praise for Mum on the Run:

'Frivolous fun.
Grazia

'Warm, funny and poignant.'
The Daily Mail

'Brilliant!manages to capture family life perfectly.'
Chick Lit Reviews

Praise for Mummy Said the F Word:

'Gibson is on top form! laugh-out-loud funny, warm and compelling'
News of the World

'Crisp and funny! Caitlin is appealingly intelligent and sardonic, whether coping with persistent kids or the comically disastrous attentions of younger men.'
Financial Times

'Sharply observed, funny and captures the warmth and clutter of family life.'
Daily Mail

Praise for Lucky Girl:

'Gibson writes like an angel. She is the voice of modern woman.'
Marie Claire

'Lovely, heartwarming, immensely readable.'
Jenny Colgan

Praise for Babyface:

'A fantastic debut. More than funny, it's true.' Louise Bagshawe

'A bitter-sweet take on bringing up baby in modern times and a great first book.'
Heat

Praise for Wonderboy:

'Fans of rueful social comedy will chortle over the escapades of Ro! witty expose of the perils and pitfalls of relocation.'
Elle

'Addictive.'
Company

About the Author

Fiona Gibson

Fiona Gibson is an author and journalist who has written for many UK publications including The Observer, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, New Woman, Top Sante and Elle. For several years she has written a popular weekly column chronicling her family life in The Sunday Herald newspaper.

Fiona lives in Scotland with her husband, their twin sons and daughter. She likes to draw, run 10k races, play her saxophone and lie in the bath with a big glass of wine, although not all at once.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th February 2012

Author

Fiona Gibson

More books by Fiona Gibson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.fionagibson.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781847562609

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools