by Brian Mcgilloway

Crime / Mystery Debut Books of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Borderlands

Shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger Award 2007.

Rejoice in the arrival of a great new Irish series featuring a very human, very likeable, moral Inspector Devlin.  The setting is bleak and atmospheric and the plot well structured and compelling, albeit a little full of twists at the unexpected end.  A great find.

Sarah Broadhurst

Borderlands Synopsis

The corpse of local teenager Angela Cashell is found on the Tyrone- Donegal border, between the North and South of Ireland, in an area known as the borderlands. Garda Inspector Benedict Devlin heads the investigation: the only clues are a gold ring placed on the girl’s finger and an old photograph, left where she died.

Then another teenager is murdered, and things become further complicated when Devlin unearths a link between the recent killings and the disappearance of a prostitute twenty-five years earlier – a case in which he believes one of his own colleagues is implicated.

As a thickening snow storm blurs the border between North and South, Devlin finds the distinction between right and wrong, vengeance and justice, and even police-officer and criminal becoming equally unclear.

A dazzling and lyrical debut crime novel, Borderlands marks the beginning of a compelling new series featuring Inspector Benedict Devlin.


Borderlands Press Reviews

‘Beautifully written and very gripping . . . Brian McGilloway is going to be a major force in Irish crime writing.’ – John Connolly

‘McGilloway’s command of plot and assurance of language make it difficult to believe that Borderlands is his debut.’ – The Times

‘A taut, well-paced story with strong characters and an ingenious plot that seizes the reader’s attention from page one and holds it to the last sentence.’ – Irish Independent

‘Oozes authenticity. . . great dialogue and a convincing portrait of small town claustrophobia.’ – Sunday Tribune

‘A mystery of labyrinthine complexity.’ – Sunday Telegraph

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sleeping in the Ground DCI Banks 24
Insidious Intent (Tony Hill and Carol Jordan, Book 10)
The Naming Of The Dead
When the Music's Over The 23rd DCI Banks Mystery

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780330452557
Publication date: 04/04/2008
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780330452557
Publication date: 4th April 2008
Author: Brian Mcgilloway
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Debuts of the Month, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Brian Mcgilloway

Brian McGilloway was born in Derry, Northern Ireland, in 1974, and teaches English at St Columb's College, Derry. He lives near the Irish borderlands with his wife and their four children. He is the author of six previous crime novels: Little Girl Lost, The Rising, Bleed A River Deep, Gallows Lane, Borderlands and The Nameless Dead. Little Girl Lost was the first novel to feature DS Lucy Black, who returns in Hurt.

More About Brian Mcgilloway

More Books By Brian Mcgilloway

Cover for Hurt by Brian Mcgilloway
Cover for Little Girl Lost by Brian Mcgilloway
Cover for The Nameless Dead by Brian Mcgilloway
View All Books By Brian Mcgilloway

Share this book