Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

War Of The Witches

by Maite Carranza

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults

LoveReading View on War Of The Witches

This is the perfect read for fans of Buffy, Charmed and W.I.T.C.H. Evocative, timeless storytelling that delves deep into the bond between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up. For all those magic and astrology obsessed teenagers this is the novel for you.

War of the Witches has been a major bestseller in Spain, Spanish being the author's native tongue and has now been translated for the UK market by Noel Baca Castex and the title, will I'm sure be on the shortlist for the Marsh Award in Translation later this year.

War Of The Witches Synopsis

When her mother disappears without a trace, Anaid is baffled. Taken in by friends, she learns a shocking truth: her mother is a witch, but not just any witch ...She is the chosen one who is prophesied to end a bloody war with the cruel Odish clans who are intent on attaining eternal life, at whatever cost. As Anaid struggles with this discovery, she starts developing powers of her own, and sets out on a dangerous journey to rescue her mother and, ultimately, herself.

This magical fantasy by internationally acclaimed author Maite Carranza delves deeply into the unspoken ties between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
City of Ghosts
KILLER T
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780747588535
Publication date: 02/02/2009
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780747588535
Publication date: 2nd February 2009
Author: Maite Carranza
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
Format: Paperback
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction,
Categories:

About Maite Carranza

Maite Carranza (Barcelona, 1958) is a writer and scriptwriter. She has a degree in Anthropology, writes fiction for children and young people as well as television scripts, while also teaching Scriptwriting at the university.In the 1980s she was a secondary school teacher and made her debut as a writer in 1986 with Ostres tu, quin cacau! (Gosh, What a Mess!), a successful novel for young people for which she was awarded the Critics' Prize. She has gone on to publish some forty books, notable amongst which are Frena, Càndida, Frena! (Slow Down, Càndida, Slow Down), Maurici Serrellsuat (...

More About Maite Carranza

Share this book