win prizes likeyoulove twitter
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

War Of The Witches by Maite Carranza
  

War Of The Witches

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

This is the perfect read for fans of Buffy, Charmed and W.I.T.C.H. Evocative, timeless storytelling that delves deep into the bond between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up. For all those magic and astrology obsessed teenagers this is the novel for you.

War of the Witches has been a major bestseller in Spain, Spanish being the author's native tongue and has now been translated for the UK market by Noel Baca Castex and the title, will I'm sure be on the shortlist for the Marsh Award in Translation later this year.

Synopsis

War Of The Witches by Maite Carranza

When her mother disappears without a trace, Anaid is baffled. Taken in by friends, she learns a shocking truth: her mother is a witch, but not just any witch ...She is the chosen one who is prophesied to end a bloody war with the cruel Odish clans who are intent on attaining eternal life, at whatever cost. As Anaid struggles with this discovery, she starts developing powers of her own, and sets out on a dangerous journey to rescue her mother and, ultimately, herself.

This magical fantasy by internationally acclaimed author Maite Carranza delves deeply into the unspoken ties between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up.

Reviews

'The witchcraft aspects of the story are skillfully brought to life, as is the Pyrenean landscape. Fans of Buffy, Potter and Twilight, form an orderly queue'
Financial Times

'This magical fantasy has enough invention, adventure and teenage tension running through it to satisfy any young woman who's yearned for a little more magic in her life'
mookychick

.co.uk 'If you're a fan of the Twilight series, or are partial to a bit of Buffy or Charmed, or are hocus-pocus bonkers, this is one for you ... Mysterious and gripping, War of the Witches is magical in more ways than one!
mykindaplace

.com


About the Author

Maite Carranza

Maite Carranza (Barcelona, 1958) is a writer and scriptwriter. She has a degree in Anthropology, writes fiction for children and young people as well as television scripts, while also teaching Scriptwriting at the university.

In the 1980s she was a secondary school teacher and made her debut as a writer in 1986 with Ostres tu, quin cacau! (Gosh, What a Mess!), a successful novel for young people for which she was awarded the Critics' Prize. She has gone on to publish some forty books, notable amongst which are Frena, Càndida, Frena! (Slow Down, Càndida, Slow Down), Maurici Serrellsuat (Maurici Sweathead) and Vols ser el nòvio de la meva germana? (Do You Want to Be My Sister’s Boyfriend?), along with other more recent, highly successful works such as the trilogy La guerra de les bruixes (The War of the Witches), El clan de la lloba (The She-Wolf Clan), El desert del gel (The Desert of Ice).

She has been awarded the 1987 Serra d'Or Critics' Prize, the 1987 Folch i Torres Prize, the 1989 Joaquim Ruyra Prize and the 2002 EDEBÉ Prize. Her works have been translated into English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Greek and Slovakian. The majority of her books have been translated into Spanish and some into Basque and Galician.

Besides her works for children and young people, she has written plays that have been staged and novels for adults.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd February 2009

Author

Maite Carranza

More books by Maite Carranza
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.maitecarranza.com/

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9780747588535

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools