Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Maite Carranza Book and Novel

Maite Carranza - Author


Maite Carranza (Barcelona, 1958) is a writer and scriptwriter. She has a degree in Anthropology, writes fiction for children and young people as well as television scripts, while also teaching Scriptwriting at the university.

In the 1980s she was a secondary school teacher and made her debut as a writer in 1986 with Ostres tu, quin cacau! (Gosh, What a Mess!), a successful novel for young people for which she was awarded the Critics' Prize. She has gone on to publish some forty books, notable amongst which are Frena, Càndida, Frena! (Slow Down, Càndida, Slow Down), Maurici Serrellsuat (Maurici Sweathead) and Vols ser el nòvio de la meva germana? (Do You Want to Be My Sister’s Boyfriend?), along with other more recent, highly successful works such as the trilogy La guerra de les bruixes (The War of the Witches), El clan de la lloba (The She-Wolf Clan), El desert del gel (The Desert of Ice).

She has been awarded the 1987 Serra d'Or Critics' Prize, the 1987 Folch i Torres Prize, the 1989 Joaquim Ruyra Prize and the 2002 EDEBÉ Prize. Her works have been translated into English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Greek and Slovakian. The majority of her books have been translated into Spanish and some into Basque and Galician.

Besides her works for children and young people, she has written plays that have been staged and novels for adults.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Maite Carranza

War Of The Witches by Maite Carranza
War Of The Witches
Maite Carranza
This is the perfect read for fans of Buffy, Charmed and W.I.T.C.H. Evocative, timeless storytelling that delves deep into the bond between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up. For all those magic and astrology obsessed teenagers this...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/02/2009

Loading other books by Maite Carranza...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.maitecarranza.com/

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Maite Carranza and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools