desmond elliott 2017 Harry Potter House Eds likeyoulove
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Maite Carranza Book and Novel

Maite Carranza - Author


Maite Carranza (Barcelona, 1958) is a writer and scriptwriter. She has a degree in Anthropology, writes fiction for children and young people as well as television scripts, while also teaching Scriptwriting at the university.

In the 1980s she was a secondary school teacher and made her debut as a writer in 1986 with Ostres tu, quin cacau! (Gosh, What a Mess!), a successful novel for young people for which she was awarded the Critics' Prize. She has gone on to publish some forty books, notable amongst which are Frena, Càndida, Frena! (Slow Down, Càndida, Slow Down), Maurici Serrellsuat (Maurici Sweathead) and Vols ser el nòvio de la meva germana? (Do You Want to Be My Sister’s Boyfriend?), along with other more recent, highly successful works such as the trilogy La guerra de les bruixes (The War of the Witches), El clan de la lloba (The She-Wolf Clan), El desert del gel (The Desert of Ice).

She has been awarded the 1987 Serra d'Or Critics' Prize, the 1987 Folch i Torres Prize, the 1989 Joaquim Ruyra Prize and the 2002 EDEBÉ Prize. Her works have been translated into English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Greek and Slovakian. The majority of her books have been translated into Spanish and some into Basque and Galician.

Besides her works for children and young people, she has written plays that have been staged and novels for adults.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Maite Carranza

War Of The Witches by Maite Carranza
War Of The Witches
Maite Carranza
This is the perfect read for fans of Buffy, Charmed and W.I.T.C.H. Evocative, timeless storytelling that delves deep into the bond between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up. For all those magic and astrology obsessed teenagers this...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/02/2009

Loading other books by Maite Carranza...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.maitecarranza.com/

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Maite Carranza and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools