books of the month join us on facebook
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Maite Carranza Book and Novel

Maite Carranza - Author


Maite Carranza (Barcelona, 1958) is a writer and scriptwriter. She has a degree in Anthropology, writes fiction for children and young people as well as television scripts, while also teaching Scriptwriting at the university.

In the 1980s she was a secondary school teacher and made her debut as a writer in 1986 with Ostres tu, quin cacau! (Gosh, What a Mess!), a successful novel for young people for which she was awarded the Critics' Prize. She has gone on to publish some forty books, notable amongst which are Frena, Càndida, Frena! (Slow Down, Càndida, Slow Down), Maurici Serrellsuat (Maurici Sweathead) and Vols ser el nòvio de la meva germana? (Do You Want to Be My Sister’s Boyfriend?), along with other more recent, highly successful works such as the trilogy La guerra de les bruixes (The War of the Witches), El clan de la lloba (The She-Wolf Clan), El desert del gel (The Desert of Ice).

She has been awarded the 1987 Serra d'Or Critics' Prize, the 1987 Folch i Torres Prize, the 1989 Joaquim Ruyra Prize and the 2002 EDEBÉ Prize. Her works have been translated into English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Greek and Slovakian. The majority of her books have been translated into Spanish and some into Basque and Galician.

Besides her works for children and young people, she has written plays that have been staged and novels for adults.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Maite Carranza

War Of The Witches by Maite Carranza
War Of The Witches
Maite Carranza
This is the perfect read for fans of Buffy, Charmed and W.I.T.C.H. Evocative, timeless storytelling that delves deep into the bond between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up. For all those magic and astrology obsessed teenagers this...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/02/2009

Loading other books by Maite Carranza...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.maitecarranza.com/

Did you know

At Lovereading you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Maite Carranza and hundreds of other authors.

Author 'Like for Like' recommendations


My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools