Friends Like These

by Meg Rosoff

Children's & YA Fiction Books of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Friends Like These

No one captures the importance of friendship and the turmoil of coming of age better than Meg Rosoff

Into a brief, hot summer slice of late adolescence, award-winning Meg Rosoff brilliantly unpacks a friendship which leads to a sequence of rollercoaster and heady experiences for eighteen year old Beth.

Newly arrived in New York to take up a journalism internship, Beth is immediately swept up by her fellow interns including Eddie, an attractive, talented and rich New Yorker who invites her to move into her parents beautiful and comfortable home. Eager to leave the cockroach infested apartment, her first home on arrival, Beth is entranced by Eddie, whose extraordinary life has already ensured her familiarity with all the experiences - sex, drugs, drink - that are new to Beth. Their heady days together appear to be a reflection of the best friendship in the world. But is it?

As the summer gets hotter, the drinks get stronger and her sense of what she should be doing gets more confused, Beth begins to realise that Eddie is not the friend she seems to be. No one captures the importance of friendship and the turmoil of coming of age better than Meg Rosoff.

Julia Eccleshare M.B.E.

Friends Like These Synopsis

New York City. June, 1982. When eighteen-year-old Beth arrives in Manhattan for a prestigious journalism internship, everything feels brand new – and not always in a good way.

A cockroach-infested sublet and a disaffected roommate are the least of her worries, and she soon finds herself caught up with her fellow interns – preppy Oliver, ruthless Dan and ridiculously cool, beautiful, wild Edie. Soon, Beth and Edie are best friends – the sort of heady, allconsuming bestfriendship that’s impossible to resist.

But with the mercury rising and deceit mounting up, betrayal lies just around the corner. Who needs enemies … when you have friends like these?

From bestselling, award-winning author Meg Rosoff comes a gritty, intoxicating novel about a summer of unforgettable firsts: of independence, lies, love and the inevitable loss of innocence. Sharp and irresistible, it's perfect for fans of Sally Rooney’s Conversations with Friends and Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan.

What To Read After Friends Like These

Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl
They Both Die at the End
Proud of Me
Golden Boys

Meg Rosoff Press Reviews

A wonderful, captivating writer - Daily Telegraph

A magical and utterly faultless voice - Mark Haddon

This smart and humorous novel is, from the first sentence, rapture to read - Sunday Times on THE GREAT GODDEN`

Brilliant and impactful - Pandora Sykes on THE GREAT GODDEN

A powerful and painful evocation of first love - Daily Mail on THE GREAT GODDEN

This dreamy novel ... charms and seduces effortlessly. Just like those long, hot, lazy summers of your childhood, by the end of it, you'll want to start all over again**** - Heat Magazine on THE GREAT GODDEN

An irresistible account of female friendship set on the cusp between of adulthood in 1980s New York. Nobody describes the strength, pain and comedy of being young as elegantly and eloquently as Meg Rosoff -- Amanda Craig This summer's must-read YA novel - The Times

Highly filmic ... gorgeously evoked - Spectator

Beautifully written and evocative ... An intoxicating mix of love, friendship and learning over one unforgettable summer - Reading Zone

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781526646118
Publication date: 09/06/2022
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781526646132
Publication date: 09/06/2022
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Meg Rosoff

Meg Rosoff grew up in Boston, Massachusetts and moved to London in 1989. The bestselling author of ten books, she has won or been shortlisted for twenty international awards including the Orange First Novel Prize, the Carnegie Medal, the National Book Award and the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. Her first novel, How I Live Now, has sold over one million copies and was made into a feature film. Meg Rosoff was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2014. She lives in London with her husband, daughter and two lurchers. Author photo © Eamonn McCabe

More About Meg Rosoff

More Books By Meg Rosoff

Friends Like These
Friends Like These
Friends Like These
View All Books By Meg Rosoff

Share this book