Still Life with a Vengeance

by Jan Turk Petrie

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Crime and Mystery Family Drama Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Still Life with a Vengeance

The picture perfect life crumbles when serious allegations arise.

Eve is married to a rich and famous rock star, they live in a beautiful house with an idyllic lifestyle and possible bright and happy future with a family as the couple begin the process of adoption. But this picture-perfect life all begins to fall apart when serious accusations are levelled at Nick and his band. Eve is certain of her husband's innocence, in this matter at least. But as time passes she begins to have her doubts.

‘Still Life with a Vengeance’ by Jan Turk Petrie is a brilliant story. Part relationship story, part family drama, with the mystery of the allegations and Eve’s personal history enticing the reader to keep turning the page until they reach a resolution. Eve seemed nice, down to earth and relatable throughout the story and although the lavish lifestyle is highlighted in places there’s a human aspect to this story that is central throughout: one focusing on trust and how well you know your loved ones. I enjoyed this story and the subtle parallels between Eve’s certainty about terrible events in her own past and her doubt in her current circumstances - perhaps hinting at the truth? I found this book very easy to read and I think that it could appeal to a wide contemporary fiction audience. Overall a thoroughly entertaining read.

Charlotte Walker, A LoveReading Ambassador

LoveReading Ambassador

Still Life with a Vengeance Synopsis

Married to rich and famous rock guitarist, Nick Quenington, and living in a country mansion, from the outside Eve’s life appears to be perfect. Heartbroken when they can’t conceive a child, Eve’s adoption hopes are threatened when Nick and his band are accused of drugging and raping a fan. Despite vehemently denying the allegations, the band are subjected to trial by social media.

Eve’s belief in Nick’s innocence leads her to passionately defend him to the press, but sales and downloads take a nosedive, the upcoming tour is cancelled and their music dropped from radio stations. And, as more accusations emerge, Eve begins to have her doubts.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781912855926
Publication date: 8th October 2021
Author: Jan Turk Petrie
Publisher: Pintail Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 356 pages
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Other Genres:
Win a Festive Sarah Morgan Book Bundle!

Win a Festive Sarah Morgan Book Bundle!

Closing date: 12/12/2021

"Reunions of the familial, friendship and romantic kind resound through this Lapland-set story of finding seasonal bliss." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of The Christmas Escape by Sarah Morgan we're working with HQ in order to offer a festive Sarah Morgan book bundle to give away. The Book bundle includes: The Christmas Escape as well as One More for Christmas, A Wedding in December and The Christmas Sisters.  This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 12th December 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Still Life with a Vengeance

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead
The Good Daughter
Of Stone and Sky
Quicksand of memory

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781912855926
Publication date: 08/10/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Jan Turk Petrie

As a writer, Jan Turk Petrie is always keen to challenge herself and come up with something original.  Her first published novels – the three volumes that make up The Eldísvík Trilogy – are Nordic noir thrillers set some fifty years in the future.  Her fourth novel - ‘Too Many Heroes’ – is, by contrast, a period romantic thriller set in the early 1950s.  Jan’s fifth novel - ‘Towards the Vanishing Point’ is a work of historical literary fiction.  Before becoming a writer, Jan was an ...

More About Jan Turk Petrie

More Books By Jan Turk Petrie

Still Life with a Vengeance
Still Life with a Vengeance
Still Life with a Vengeance
View All Books By Jan Turk Petrie

Share this book