Murder Under Her Skin

by Stephen Spotswood

Part of the Pentecost and Parker Series

Crime and Mystery Star Books Historical Fiction Humorous Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Murder Under Her Skin

Step right up! A circus sits centre stage in this vividly realised and captivating historical crime novel set in small town America.

The most wonderfully wild, smart, and hugely entertaining novel awaits your reading pleasure. It’s 1946 and Lillian Pentecost and Willowjean Parker find themselves at the circus when one of Will’s friends from her performing days is murdered. I kept a beady eye out for this, the second in the Pentecost and Parker series, as Stephen Spotswood’s debut Fortune Favours the Dead was an absolute delight. I have to say that the cast list alone had me at hello. The circus comes to roaring vividly vivacious life, with the ups and downs of life on the road making the investigation particularly tricky. Little digs and pokes of humour nestle themselves in alongside the social issues of the day. The concerns faced by the residents of the sideshow in particular ensure that while this heads towards cosy crime, it comes with a sharply provocative edge. The writing is so visual, the descriptions come to colourfully dramatic life and as I read, I could see. The cunning ending ensured a resounding round of applause from me, Stephen Spotswood has done it again! A Liz Pick of the Month, and another LoveReading Star Book, Murder Under Her Skin is a charming, darkly amusing, and fabulously stimulating read.

Liz Robinson

Murder Under Her Skin Synopsis

The perfect murder mystery for fans of Richard Osman and Robert Thorogood.

New York, 1946: The last time Will Parker let a case get personal, she walked away with a broken face, a bruised ego, and the solemn promise never again to let her heart get in the way of her job. But she called Hart and Halloway's Travelling Circus and Sideshow home for five years, and Ruby Donner, the circus's tattooed ingenue, was her friend. To make matters worse the prime suspect is Valentin Kalishenko, the man who taught Will everything she knows about putting a knife where it needs to go.

To uncover the real killer and keep Kalishenko from a date with the electric chair, Will and Ms. Pentecost join the circus in sleepy Stoppard, Virginia, where the locals like their cocktails mild, the past buried, and big-city detectives not at all. The two swiftly find themselves lost in a funhouse of lies as Will begins to realize that her former circus compatriots aren't playing it straight, and that her murdered friend might have been hiding a lot of secrets beneath all that ink.

Dodging fistfights, firebombs, and flying lead, Will puts a lot more than her heart on the line in the search of the truth. Can she find it before someone stops her ticker for good?

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781472291691
Publication date: 21st July 2022
Author: Stephen Spotswood
Publisher: Wildfire an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Be in with a Chance of Winning Our Latest Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/07/2022

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to July. A perfect opportunity to stock up on some brilliant reads to enjoy this summer. The titles up for grabs are: Quicksand of Memory by Michael J. Malone - Published 14th April The Shot by Sarah Sultoon - Published 28th April Keep Her Sweet by Helen Fitzgerald - Published 26th May Little Drummer by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 26th May Nothing Else by Louise Beech - Published 23rd June Tasting Sunlight by Ewald Arenz - Published 23rd June The Daves Next Door by Will Carver - Published 21st July This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st July 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Murder Under Her Skin

The Man Who Died Twice
The Shadows of Men
The Dead of Winter
The Last Supper

Stephen Spotswood Press Reviews

Praise for Stephen Spotswood:

'Razor-sharp, tons of flair. A really good noir novel.' Tana French

'Spotswood's stellar debut puts a modern spin on classic hard-boiled fiction. . . The deep and sensitive characterization of the two protagonists, coupled with rich description and tonally spot-on humour, make this a novel to remember. Spotswood is definitely a writer to watch.' Publishers Weekly

'This novel not only offers fun, offbeat characters and an exceptional flavour of the time, it's utterly charming too.' Woman's Weekly

'This hugely enjoyable debut is a deft melange of Agatha Christie-style locked-room murder mystery and 1940s Chandler-esque pulp crime fiction with a feisty narrator' Irish Independent Review

'Persuasive in its attention to period detail and dialogue, with well-constructed set piece scenes deftly staged, this is a highly accomplished, auspicious first entry in what we must hope will be a long-running series' The Irish Times

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781472291691
Publication date: 21/07/2022
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781472291677
Publication date: 07/12/2021
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Stephen Spotswood

Stephen Spotswood is an award-wining playwright, journalist, and theatre educator. He makes his home in Washington, DC with his wife, young adult author Jessica Spotswood, their cat, and an ever-growing collection of books.

More About Stephen Spotswood

More Books By Stephen Spotswood

Murder Under Her Skin
Murder Under Her Skin
Murder Under Her Skin
View All Books By Stephen Spotswood

Share this book