The House of Lamentations

by S. G. MacLean

Historical fiction Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading Expert Review of The House of Lamentations

A riveting, atmospheric, and intriguing historical crime novel set in Bruges as Cromwell continues his reign as Lord Protector of England.

Forming part of an incredibly well written, detailed yet vibrant and exciting historical crime series, this is a stonkingly good read. If you’ve not yet explored the Captain Damian Seeker novels (two of them have won the Crime Writers’ Association Historical Dagger Award), then I recommend that you start at the beginning with The Seeker. The House of Lamentations is the final book in the five book series, and while sad that it’s ended, I can shout from the rooftops that this is a series that is most definitely worth reading. Taking place in Bruges in 1658 the Royalists plan to fund a last-ditch attempt to place the exiled Charles on the throne. However, a traitor has been feeding information to Cromwell’s enforcer who now needs all of his wits about him to deal with the threat. While the main story plays out, a number of smaller mysteries weave their way around the plot. As I read my thoughts twisted and turned inside out as I tried to work out who to keep my eye on, and when the ending came it made me smile in satisfaction. The House of Lamentations is a fine final hurrah to the Damian Seeker Novels and I just want to stand up and applaud S. G. MacLean on her wonderful creation, so this sits as a Liz Pick of the Month. 

Liz Robinson

The House of Lamentations Synopsis

'One of the best historical crime series out there' Crime Review

'Could challenge CJ Sansom for dominion' Sunday Times

Summer, 1658, and the Republic may finally be safe: the combined Stuart and Spanish forces have been heavily defeated by the English and French armies on the coast of Flanders, and the King's cause appears finished.

Yet one final, desperate throw of the dice is planned. And who can stop them if not Captain Damian Seeker?

The final gripping book in this acclaimed and award-winning series of historical thrillers. Will Seeker's legacy endure?

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781787473669
Publication date: 10th June 2021
Author: S. G. MacLean
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:
Win one of 3 Copies of The House with the Golden Door by Elodie Harper

Win one of 3 Copies of The House with the Golden Door by Elodie Harper

Closing date: 05/06/2022

"Love, lust, loyalty, treachery, power, revenge and redress — this enthralling story of a freed Pompeii prostitute is an explosive triumph." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of The House With the Golden Door, the second "adrenaline-charged instalment of Elodie Harper's" The Wolf Den Trilogy, we're working with Head of Zeus to give away three copies of the book in hardback. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 5th June 2022. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After The House of Lamentations

The Midnight Hour
The Rebel's Mark
The Lantern Boats
Of Blood Descended

S. G. MacLean Press Reviews

You won't find many period crime novels that match The Seeker series for insight and evocation of time and place - NB magazine

Complex and gripping ... this high-quality, deliciously moody series continues to deliver. I long for more - For Winter Nights

Excellent at conveying the insecurities and unsettling memories that bedevil Cromwell's dying Protectorate - Daily Mail

MacLean's light touch portrait of a hard man with a softer core is what makes these books so memorable - The Times

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781787473669
Publication date: 10/06/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About S. G. MacLean

S. G. MacLean has a PhD in history from Aberdeen University, specializing in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Scottish history. She lives in Conon Bridge, Scotland with her husband and four children. The Devil's Recruit, her fourth novel, follows three highly acclaimed historical thrillers, The Redemption of Alexander Seaton, A Game of Sorrows and Crucible.

More About S. G. MacLean

More Books By S. G. MacLean

The House of Lamentations
The House of Lamentations
The House of Lamentations
View All Books By S. G. MacLean

Share this book