LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Postscript Murders

by Elly Griffiths

Crime and Mystery Sharing Diverse Voices Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading Expert Review of The Postscript Murders

A wonderfully quirky and entertaining murder mystery set in the publishing and book world, it’s a delight!

Both charming (yes I know that is a strange word to describe a crime novel) and stimulating, look forward to the feel of a golden age mystery with a modern twist. The death of a 90 year old murder consultant to authors is investigated by DS Kaur and a diverse group of friends who turn amateur detectives. This is the second novel featuring DS Harbinger Kaur, however you could quite cheerfully step in here and read it as a standalone. Set in West Sussex (with a brief sojourn in Scotland), I can say with some glee that the book world takes centre stage. From literary festivals to publishing offices, if you love all things books then this is the crime mystery for you! Elly Griffiths takes the premise and runs with it, which made me clap my hands with delight. I adore the diversity and quirky nature of the characters, the somewhat gung-ho approach by the amateurs is highly entertaining. The Postscript Murders is a wonderfully readable crime novel to cosy up with and joins my Liz Picks of the Month.

Liz Robinson

The Postscript Murders Synopsis

The ultimate gripping murder mystery to curl up with, from the bestselling author of The Stranger Diaries and the Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries.

The death of a ninety-year-old woman with a heart condition should absolutely not be suspicious. DS Harbinder Kaur certainly sees nothing to concern her in carer Natalka's account of Peggy Smith's death.

But when Natalka reveals that Peggy lied about her heart condition and that she had been sure someone was following her...

And that Peggy Smith had been a 'murder consultant' who plotted deaths for authors, and knew more about murder than anyone has any right to...

And when clearing out Peggy's flat ends in Natalka being held at gunpoint by a masked figure...

Well then DS Harbinder Kaur thinks that maybe there is no such thing as an unsuspicious death after all.

From the sleepy seaside town of Shoreham to the granite streets of Aberdeen, The Postscript Murders is a literary mystery for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Agatha Christie and anyone who's ever wondered just how authors think up such realistic crimes...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781787477650
Publication date: 15th April 2021
Author: Elly Griffiths
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Collections: 100+ Female Led Crime Fiction,
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Signed Copy of for Any Other Truth by Denzil Meyrick

Win a Signed Copy of for Any Other Truth by Denzil Meyrick

Closing date: 01/08/2021

For Any Other Truth by Denzil Meyrick is "a twisty, intricate, and action-packed crime novel based in Scotland full of schemes, intrigue, and shenanigans." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of the ninth book in the 'DCI Daley series', we're working with Birlinn Ltd in order to give away a signed copy of For Any Other Truth. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st August 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After The Postscript Murders

Cage
Lightseekers
Blood Song
Keeper

Elly Griffiths Press Reviews

As with her other books, this is fiercely intelligent, warm, human and at times, funny. The Stranger Diaries picks up where the great Gothic thrillers of the past leave off. At once a homage to that great literary form, and a re-imagining, it is goose-bump spooky, smart, and haunting, in every sense. I loved this book! -- Louise Penny on The Stranger Diaries

Great on character and suspense -- Val McDermid

One of my flat-out favourite contemporary suspense writers ... I turn each final page both deeply satisfied and ravenous for more -- AJ Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

Elly Griffiths writes with a sharp, smart eye and great elegance . . . compelling, intelligent and increasingly mesmerising -- Peter James

Sparkling homage to vintage English crime novels ... nostalgic, charming but not without edge - Irish Examiner

Expert in building tension in her thrillers, Elly Griffith's latest tale is no exception - Woman

Dark and addictive - Woman's Weekly Fiction

Always an expert in building tension and creating atmosphere in her thrillers, Elly Griffiths' latest is no exception - Woman's Weekly

An entertaining mystery for book-lovers - Good Housekeeping

If you're looking for a laugh and to travel on a murder hunt, The Postscript Murders is the read for you. - Daily Record

Griffiths assembles a vivid cast of characters, offering an enjoyably modern take on an old genre - The Sunday Times

A love letter to murder mysteries, wrapped up in a character-rich caper - Sunday Mirror

This super-readable thriller will have you hooked - The Sun

Delicious, unadulterated entertainment - Sunday Express

A light-hearted, life-affirming celebration of crime fiction and the colourful characters that create it... such witty and charming entertainment - The Times

Delightful... told with Griffiths's characteristic charm and gentleness - Daily Mail

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781787477650
Publication date: 15/04/2021
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781787477636
Publication date: 01/10/2020
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781787477643
Publication date: 01/10/2020
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Elly Griffiths

Elly Griffiths was born in London. She read English at King's College, London, and worked in publishing for many years. Her bestselling series of Ruth Galloway novels, featuring a forensic archaeologist, are set in Norfolk, while her new series of Magic Men novels are based in 1950s Brighton. She lives near Brighton with her husband, an archaeologist, and their two children. In 2016 Elly Griffiths was awarded the CWA Dagger in the Library Award. Unlike most other literary prizes, the Dagger in the Library is awarded not for an individual book but for an author’s entire body of work. ...

More About Elly Griffiths

More Books By Elly Griffiths

The Postscript Murders
The Postscript Murders
The Postscript Murders
View All Books By Elly Griffiths

Share this book