10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Mirrorland

"This gripping psychological thriller tells the twisting tale of twin sisters tormented by their childhood imaginary world of pirates, witches and clowns."

View All Editions

£8.99 £8.09

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review Look Inside

LoveReading Says

LoveReading Says

Carole Johnstone's Mirrorland is a creepingly compelling psychological thriller of the highest order - a dark, suspenseful debut with haunting atmosphere and pitch-perfect pacing as thirty-something Cat returns to her childhood home after a twelve-year absence when her twin sister El is reported missing at sea.

As children, the sisters spent most of their time in Mirrorland, an imaginary world located beneath the pantry stairs. The girls also grew up with their mother telling them they were special identical twins. The egg separated late, “which meant we were more than just two halves of the same whole.” To Cal, this also meant El was “my exact opposite. My reflection. My Mirror Twin.” While the police and El’s husband Ross are certain El is dead, Cal is sure she’s still alive - who else would be leading her on a treasure hunt around Mirrorland? The trail of clues draws Cal back to their childhood with tremendous edge-of-seat tension, back to Clown Café, Princess Tower and Kakadu Jungle, where she and El used to encounter Mouse, the Witch, the Tooth Fairy and Bluebeard. Where they dreamed of meeting their imagined pirate king father in an imagined future. Following this trail forces Cal to peel back - and confront - layers of trauma from the past, to remember that “bad things happened in this house… but that was a lot easier to forget when I was an ocean away from its walls."

Chillingly atmospheric, this un-put-down-able page-turner is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Erin Kelly, with the magic realist elements created by the sisters’ fantasy world giving it extra edge.

Joanne Owen

Star Books
eBooks of the Month

Find This Book In

Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

About

Press Reviews

Author

Collections Featuring This Book

You Might Also Like...

Apples Never Fall

Liane Moriarty

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

The Girl in the Mirror

Rose Carlyle

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99

Dead Letters

Caite Dolan-Leach

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

Mind Games

Nora Roberts

Hardback

In Stock

£19.80 £22.00

Breaking Point

Edel Coffey

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

In the Absence of Miracles

Michael J. Malone

Paperback

Temporarily Out Of Stock

£8.09 £8.99