Mirrorland

by Carole Johnstone

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Relationship Stories Thriller and Suspense Crime and Mystery Debuts Family Drama Star Books Literary Fiction eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Mirrorland

This gripping psychological thriller tells the twisting tale of twin sisters tormented by their childhood imaginary world of pirates, witches and clowns.

Carole Johnstone's Mirrorland is a creepingly compelling psychological thriller of the highest order - a dark, suspenseful debut with haunting atmosphere and pitch-perfect pacing as thirty-something Cat returns to her childhood home after a twelve-year absence when her twin sister El is reported missing at sea.

As children, the sisters spent most of their time in Mirrorland, an imaginary world located beneath the pantry stairs. The girls also grew up with their mother telling them they were special identical twins. The egg separated late, “which meant we were more than just two halves of the same whole.” To Cal, this also meant El was “my exact opposite. My reflection. My Mirror Twin.” While the police and El’s husband Ross are certain El is dead, Cal is sure she’s still alive - who else would be leading her on a treasure hunt around Mirrorland? The trail of clues draws Cal back to their childhood with tremendous edge-of-seat tension, back to Clown Café, Princess Tower and Kakadu Jungle, where she and El used to encounter Mouse, the Witch, the Tooth Fairy and Bluebeard. Where they dreamed of meeting their imagined pirate king father in an imagined future. Following this trail forces Cal to peel back - and confront - layers of trauma from the past, to remember that “bad things happened in this house… but that was a lot easier to forget when I was an ocean away from its walls."

Chillingly atmospheric, this un-put-down-able page-turner is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Erin Kelly, with the magic realist elements created by the sisters’ fantasy world giving it extra edge.

Joanne Owen

Mirrorland Synopsis

No. 36 Westeryk Road, an imposing flat-stone house on the outskirts of Edinburgh. A house of curving shadows and crumbling grandeur. But it's what lies under the house that is extraordinary - Mirrorland. A vivid make-believe world that twin sisters Cat and El created as children. A place of escape, but from what?

Now in her thirties, Cat receives the shocking news that her sister has disappeared. Forced to return to Edinburgh, Cat finds herself irresistibly drawn back into Mirrorland. Because El has a plan. She's left behind a treasure hunt that will unearth long-buried secrets...

A sharply crafted mystery about the power of imagination and the price of freedom, perfect for fans of Erin Kelly and Tana French. 

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008361402
Publication date: 1st April 2021
Author: Carole Johnstone
Publisher: The Borough Press an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

What To Read After Mirrorland

The River Woman
Breaking Point
A Suitable Lie
Fragile

Carole Johnstone Press Reviews

'An intricate, brilliant puzzle of a novel where past and present, fantasy and reality, are all clues that one twin must decipher to uncover the fate of her missing sister and the secrets of their shared past. It's Gone Girl meets Rebecca if Henry James had written it; atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping, a must read for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn' SARAH PINBOROUGH

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008361426
Publication date: 06/01/2022
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780008361389
Publication date: 01/04/2021
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9780008361402
Publication date: 01/04/2021
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

About Carole Johnstone

Carole Johnstone's award-winning short fiction has been reprinted in many annual 'Best of' anthologies in the UK and US. She lives in Argyll & Bute, Scotland, with her husband. Mirrorland is her debut novel.

More About Carole Johnstone

More Books By Carole Johnstone

Mirrorland
View All Books By Carole Johnstone

Share this book