Mirrorland

by Carole Johnstone

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Relationship Stories Thriller and Suspense Crime and Mystery Debut Books of the Month Debuts Family Drama Star Books Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of Mirrorland

This gripping psychological thriller tells the twisting tale of twin sisters tormented by their childhood imaginary world of pirates, witches and clowns.

Carole Johnstone's Mirrorland is a creepingly compelling psychological thriller of the highest order - a dark, suspenseful debut with haunting atmosphere and pitch-perfect pacing as thirty-something Cat returns to her childhood home after a twelve-year absence when her twin sister El is reported missing at sea.

As children, the sisters spent most of their time in Mirrorland, an imaginary world located beneath the pantry stairs. The girls also grew up with their mother telling them they were special identical twins. The egg separated late, “which meant we were more than just two halves of the same whole.” To Cal, this also meant El was “my exact opposite. My reflection. My Mirror Twin.” While the police and El’s husband Ross are certain El is dead, Cal is sure she’s still alive - who else would be leading her on a treasure hunt around Mirrorland? The trail of clues draws Cal back to their childhood with tremendous edge-of-seat tension, back to Clown Café, Princess Tower and Kakadu Jungle, where she and El used to encounter Mouse, the Witch, the Tooth Fairy and Bluebeard. Where they dreamed of meeting their imagined pirate king father in an imagined future. Following this trail forces Cal to peel back - and confront - layers of trauma from the past, to remember that “bad things happened in this house… but that was a lot easier to forget when I was an ocean away from its walls."

Chillingly atmospheric, this un-put-down-able page-turner is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Erin Kelly, with the magic realist elements created by the sisters’ fantasy world giving it extra edge.

Joanne Owen

Mirrorland Synopsis

'DARK AND DEVIOUS' Stephen King 'UTTERLY ENGROSSING' Daily Mail 'TWISTY AND RICHLY ATMOSPHERIC' Ruth Ware 'TIGHTLY PLOTTED AND UTTERLY GRIPPING' Sarah Pinborough 'A HAUNTING THRILLER' Women's Weekly 'TOTALLY ABSORBING' T.M. Logan 'AN UNSETTLING, LABYRINTHINE TALE' New York Times ____________________________________________________________________ One twin ran. The other vanished. Neither escaped... DON'T TRUST ANYONE Cat's twin sister El has disappeared. But there's one thing Cat is sure of: her sister isn't dead. She would have felt it. She would have known. DON'T TRUST YOUR MEMORIES To find her sister, Cat must return to their dark, crumbling childhood home and confront the horrors that wait there. Because it's all coming back to Cat now: all the things she has buried, all the secrets she's been running from. DON'T TRUST THIS STORY... The closer Cat comes to the truth, the closer to danger she is. Some things are better left in the past... ________________________________________________________ 'AN ADDICTIVE SLICE OF GOTHIC' i paper 'TOLD WITH THUMPING HEART AND EXTRAORDINARY TENDERNESS' Kiran Millwood Hargrave 'THE LOVE CHILD OF GILLIAN FLYNN AND STEPHEN KING' Greer Hendricks READERS ARE FALLING IN LOVE WITH MIRRORLAND... 'Dark, dazzling, full of surprises and perfectly executed' Sheri K 'An adult fairy tale, a domestic noir and a heartbreaker, all in one' Rebecca W 'Creepy as hell and absolutely brilliant' Vikkie W 'Poignant and compelling... What an imagination to have crafted such a story' Carol C 'A beautifully written story that holds you enthralled from first page to last' Sarah M 'This is a book that will keep you awake all night' Maria P 'Hugely compelling...I found the entire book officially unputdownable!' Alexandra G

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008361426
Publication date: 6th January 2022
Author: Carole Johnstone
Publisher: The Borough Press an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 30/09/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from July to September. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Beresford by Will Carver - Published 22nd July Girls Who Lie by Eva Bjorg Aegisdottir - Published 22nd July No Honour by Awais Khan - Published 19th August The Great Silence by Doug Johnstone - Published 19th August Black Reed Bay by Rod Reynolds - Published 2nd September This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th September 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Mirrorland

In the Absence of Miracles
The River Woman
The Girl in the Mirror
The Nesting

Carole Johnstone Press Reviews

'An intricate, brilliant puzzle of a novel where past and present, fantasy and reality, are all clues that one twin must decipher to uncover the fate of her missing sister and the secrets of their shared past. It's Gone Girl meets Rebecca if Henry James had written it; atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping, a must read for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn' SARAH PINBOROUGH

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008361426
Publication date: 06/01/2022
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780008361389
Publication date: 01/04/2021
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9780008479404
Publication date: 01/04/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Carole Johnstone

Carole Johnstone's award-winning short fiction has been reprinted in many annual 'Best of' anthologies in the UK and US. She lives in Argyll & Bute, Scotland, with her husband. Mirrorland is her debut novel.

More About Carole Johnstone

More Books By Carole Johnstone

Mirrorland
View All Books By Carole Johnstone

Share this book