rebus 30th anniversary Harry Potter House Eds newgen books for YA readers finding gobi desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
A Time of Love and Tartan by Alexander McCall Smith Read the opening extract of the brand new Alexander McCall Smith book before its publication on 03/08/2017

The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman
  

The Sonnet Lover

Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This has all the hallmarks of being a major success and it would come as no surprise were it to be made into a film. Written in a deftly assured manner it brings together passion and love, fantasy and legend - just who was the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets - as well as a chillingly suspicious death - had gifted student stumbled upon a literary coup worth killing for - with poetry from the great Bard himself. Incredibly atmospheric of time and place it criss crosses between both America and Italy until with bone-chilling intensity this seductive literary thriller reaches its climax. Fans of Kate Mosse's Labyrinth and Donna Tartt's Secret History will love it.

If you like Carol Goodman you might also like to read books by Deborah Harkness, Gillian White and Mary Higgins Clark.

Synopsis

The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman

As an undergraduate, Renaissance poetry lecturer Dr Rose Asher spent a year in Tuscany at the villa La Civetta and it was there that Rose began an ill-fated affair, with her married tutor. But when Rose's most gifted student, Robin Weiss, dies in mysterious circumstances - and amid accusations of plagiarism - Rose finds herself reluctantly agreeing to return. The villa was once the home of sixteenth-century poet Ginevra de Laura. Local legend insists that Ginevra is the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets. Robin's screenplay goes further - suggesting Shakespeare's love affair was conducted on Italian soil. But if Robin had discovered proof of Shakespeare's connections to La Civetta, was it a literary coup worth killing for?

About the Author

Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman graduated from Vassar College, where she majored in Latin. After teaching Latin for several years, she studied for an MFA in fiction. Her writing has been published in a number of literary magazines. She currently teaches writing and lives in Long Island, USA.

Author photo © Brian Velenchenko

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th July 2007

Author

Carol Goodman

More books by Carol Goodman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.carolgoodman.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback (c Format)

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780749938314

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools