Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

newgen books for YA readers books of the month
Search our site
Once A Pilgrim by James Deegan Read the opening extract of the brand new James Deegan book before its publication on 25/01/2018

The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman
  

The Sonnet Lover

Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This has all the hallmarks of being a major success and it would come as no surprise were it to be made into a film. Written in a deftly assured manner it brings together passion and love, fantasy and legend - just who was the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets - as well as a chillingly suspicious death - had gifted student stumbled upon a literary coup worth killing for - with poetry from the great Bard himself. Incredibly atmospheric of time and place it criss crosses between both America and Italy until with bone-chilling intensity this seductive literary thriller reaches its climax. Fans of Kate Mosse's Labyrinth and Donna Tartt's Secret History will love it.

If you like Carol Goodman you might also like to read books by Deborah Harkness, Gillian White and Ali Shaw.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman

As an undergraduate, Renaissance poetry lecturer Dr Rose Asher spent a year in Tuscany at the villa La Civetta and it was there that Rose began an ill-fated affair, with her married tutor. But when Rose's most gifted student, Robin Weiss, dies in mysterious circumstances - and amid accusations of plagiarism - Rose finds herself reluctantly agreeing to return. The villa was once the home of sixteenth-century poet Ginevra de Laura. Local legend insists that Ginevra is the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets. Robin's screenplay goes further - suggesting Shakespeare's love affair was conducted on Italian soil. But if Robin had discovered proof of Shakespeare's connections to La Civetta, was it a literary coup worth killing for?

About the Author

Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman graduated from Vassar College, where she majored in Latin. After teaching Latin for several years, she studied for an MFA in fiction. Her writing has been published in a number of literary magazines. She currently teaches writing and lives in Long Island, USA.

Author photo © Brian Velenchenko

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th July 2007

Author

Carol Goodman

More books by Carol Goodman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.carolgoodman.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback (c Format)

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780749938314

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools