linwood barclay author of the month betrayal martina cole book price comparison twitter scandi crime
Vouchers


The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman
  

The Sonnet Lover

Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

This has all the hallmarks of being a major success and it would come as no surprise were it to be made into a film. Written in a deftly assured manner it brings together passion and love, fantasy and legend - just who was the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets - as well as a chillingly suspicious death - had gifted student stumbled upon a literary coup worth killing for - with poetry from the great Bard himself. Incredibly atmospheric of time and place it criss crosses between both America and Italy until with bone-chilling intensity this seductive literary thriller reaches its climax. Fans of Kate Mosse's Labyrinth and Donna Tartt's Secret History will love it.

If you like Carol Goodman you might also like to read books by Ali Shaw, Deborah Harkness and Mary Higgins Clark.

Synopsis

The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman

As an undergraduate, Renaissance poetry lecturer Dr Rose Asher spent a year in Tuscany at the villa La Civetta and it was there that Rose began an ill-fated affair, with her married tutor. But when Rose's most gifted student, Robin Weiss, dies in mysterious circumstances - and amid accusations of plagiarism - Rose finds herself reluctantly agreeing to return. The villa was once the home of sixteenth-century poet Ginevra de Laura. Local legend insists that Ginevra is the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets. Robin's screenplay goes further - suggesting Shakespeare's love affair was conducted on Italian soil. But if Robin had discovered proof of Shakespeare's connections to La Civetta, was it a literary coup worth killing for?

About the Author

Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman graduated from Vassar College, where she majored in Latin. After teaching Latin for several years, she studied for an MFA in fiction. Her writing has been published in a number of literary magazines. She currently teaches writing and lives in Long Island, USA.

Author photo © Brian Velenchenko

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th July 2007

Author

Carol Goodman

More books by Carol Goodman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.carolgoodman.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd

Format

Paperback (c Format)

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780749938314

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools