Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Art Fiasco

by Fiona Veitch Smith

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on The Art Fiasco

A wonderfully atmospheric and engaging murder mystery set in the 1920’s, featuring a charismatic amateur sleuth. ‘The Art Fiasco’ is the latest in the Poppy Denby Investigates Series, which we included in our Book Series collection. Do start with The Jazz Files, it was shortlisted for the Crime Writers’ Association Historical Dagger Award, and this is a series that deserves to be savoured in order. Sitting three years after The Cairo Brief in 1924, Poppy visits Northumberland to celebrate her father’s birthday and finds herself embroiled in an investigation. Fiona Veitch Smith does a wonderful job of balancing cosy and charming with murder and mayhem. Behind the glitter and glitz the author examines class and child exploitation with care and consideration. The differing age groups work wonderfully together, and I just adore Aunt Dot. Poppy shines with vivacity, a romance hovers, while darkness threatens to overwhelm. The Art Fiasco really is a gloriously readable slice of historical crime fiction.

Liz Robinson

The Art Fiasco Synopsis

It's 1924 and Poppy Denby is heading up to Northumberland to celebrate her father's sixtieth birthday. She stops off in Newcastle en route to visit her Aunt Dot, who has temporarily relocated from London to renovate a house she's inherited.

One of Aunt Dot's guests is the world-renowned artist, Agnes Robson, who is staging an exhibition at the Laing Art Gallery. Reluctantly, Poppy is roped in to help when the artist's press liaison man falls ill.

She soon discovers that the local press has dug up some dirt on Agnes relating to the tragic death of a young art teacher in Ashington Colliery, twenty-seven years earlier. As she tries to suppress the story, Poppy begins to suspect that the teacher might have been murdered and that the killer may still be on the loose...

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/03/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from December to March. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: Winterkill by Ragnar Jonasson - Published December 2020 There's Only One Danny Garvey by  David F. Ross - Published January 2021 Deity by Matt Wesolowski - Published February 2021 Smoke Screen by Thomas Enger, Jorn Lier Horst - Published February 2021 Hotel Cartagena by Simone Buchholz  - Published March 2021? Bound by Vanda Symon - Published March 2021 This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st March 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Art Fiasco Press Reviews

Poppy Denby's back doing what she does best, and this time in Newcastle! Cleverly plotted as always, with an exceptional eye for detail and a fabulous amateur sleuth, Veitch Smith carries us back once more to the Golden Age for this delicious murder mystery. Jacky Collins (Dr Noir)

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Darkest Evening
Dead Head
Smoke Screen

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781782643197
Publication date: 23/10/2020
Publisher: Lion Fiction
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781782643203
Publication date: 23/10/2020
Publisher: Lion Fiction
Format: Ebook

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782643203
Publication date: 23rd October 2020
Author: Fiona Veitch Smith
Publisher: Lion Fiction
Format: Ebook
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,

About Fiona Veitch Smith

Formerly a journalist, Fiona Veitch Smith is now an author of books for adults and children. She has also written theatre plays and screenplays. Her adult mystery series set in the 1920s, Poppy Denby Investigates, is published by Lion Fiction. The first book in the series, The Jazz Files, is a nominee for the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) Endeavour Historical Dagger award, 2016. The second, The Kill Fee, was published in September 2016. For more on the Poppy Denby Investigates series including background material on the 1920s, film reels, period fashion and fabulous jazz recordings visit

More About Fiona Veitch Smith

More Books By Fiona Veitch Smith

Cover for The Art Fiasco by Fiona Veitch Smith
Cover for The Cairo Brief by Fiona Veitch Smith
Cover for The Death Beat by Fiona Veitch Smith
View All Books By Fiona Veitch Smith

Share this book