LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Devil and the Dark Water

by Stuart Turton

Historical fiction Action Adventure Book Club Recommendations Crime and Mystery Star Books Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading Expert Review of The Devil and the Dark Water

A reading feast for the eyes, heart, and mind await in this outstanding historical mystery set on the open seas.

Be prepared for a reading maelstrom to suck you in whole when you open this LoveReading Star Book. Set in 1634 a boat leaves the East Indies with a detective duo on board. Although one is locked up and facing execution, their skills are very much needed when the voyage is beset by a terrible forewarning. Stuart Turton’s debut picked up the Costa First Novel Award Winner for 2018. The Devil and the Dark Water is just as fabulous and will be going straight onto my list of favourite books this year. It is the perfect novel to read as the nights are drawing in, the story built itself into a reality, I was there, bearing witness. Surprises wait in store, strange beings stalk the decks, and several locked room/ship mysteries just beg to be solved. My thoughts were broken open, and exploded one way then the other as I sought answers. All of the characters are fascinating in their own unique way and while I initially thought I was meeting a Holmes and Watson pair, I quickly realised they were very much their own men. The Devil and the Dark Water crosses genres in the most wonderfully entertaining way and sails straight onto my list of Liz Picks of the Month. I’ll be standing and applauding this one!

Liz Robinson

The Devil and the Dark Water Synopsis

An impossible murder

A remarkable detective duo

A demon who may or may not exist

The extraordinary new novel from Stuart Turton, author of the Sunday Times bestseller, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, winner of the Costa Best First Novel Award.

It's 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world's greatest detective, is being transported from the Dutch East Indies to Amsterdam, where he is facing trial and execution for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Travelling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent, while also on board are Sara Wessel, a noble woman with a secret, and her husband, the governor general of Batavia.

But no sooner is their ship out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage. A strange symbol appears on the sail. A dead leper stalks the decks. Livestock are slaughtered in the night.

And then the passengers hear a terrible voice whispering to them in the darkness, promising them three unholy miracles. First: an impossible pursuit. Second: an impossible theft. Third: an impossible murder.

Could a demon be responsible for their misfortunes?

With Pipps imprisoned, only Arent and Sara can solve a mystery that stretches back into their past and now threatens to sink the ship, killing everybody on board...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781408889640
Publication date: 1st October 2020
Author: Stuart Turton
Publisher: Raven Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback
Collections: 90+ books that dare you to take a walk on the dark side., Our Favourite Books of 2020, Around the World in 80+ Historical Novels., 50 Books for Every Dad this Father's Day,
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Signed Hardback Copy The Wolf Den by Elodie Harper!

Win a Signed Hardback Copy The Wolf Den by Elodie Harper!

Closing date: 30/06/2021

The Wolf Den by Elodie Harper is "An entertaining firecracker blazing with wolfish verve and a woman’s desire to escape the Pompeii brothel she’s enslaved to." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer To celebrate it's release we're working with Head of Zeus to offer 5 signed hardback copies of The Wolf Den. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

The Sanctuary
A Wolf in Hindelheim
Prince
The Saracen's Mark

Stuart Turton Press Reviews

A glorious mash-up of William Golding and Arthur Conan Doyle -- Val McDermid

Stunningly good. A page-turning mystery on an epic scale, intricately plotted and expertly landed -- Simon Lelic

Stuart Turton has done it again. The Devil and the Dark Water is mind bending, genre bending, intricate, vivid, intelligent and with one of the most gloriously grizzly cast of characters ever. An absolute razztwizzler of a novel! -- Ali Land

An absolute treat from the most original voice in crime fiction -- Ragnar Jonasson

A superb historical mystery: inventive, twisty, addictive and utterly beguiling. I fell for this book (and its characters) in a big way. Beautifully crafted escapism for fans of Sherlock and Master & Commander. A TRIUMPH -- Will Dean

The desperate life on board an Amsterdam-bound Dutch Indiamen has never been so vividly painted. Throw in a demon (who may or may not exist), a cast of beautifully realised, compelling characters along with a series of locked room mysteries and the result is one of the most extraordinary books being published this year -- M.W. Craven

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781408889534
Publication date: 01/05/2021
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781408889640
Publication date: 01/10/2020
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781408889657
Publication date: 01/10/2020
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Stuart Turton

Stuart Turton is a freelance travel journalist who has previously worked in Shanghai and Dubai. The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle won the Books Are My Bag Readers Award for Best Novel and was shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award. He lives in London with his wife and daughter. @Stu_Turton

More About Stuart Turton

More Books By Stuart Turton

The Devil and the Dark Water
The Devil and the Dark Water
The Devil and the Dark Water
View All Books By Stuart Turton

Share this book