Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more


by Garth Nix

Part of the The Old Kingdom Series

LoveReading View on Lirael

This riveting, exciting novel begins 14 years after the end of ‘Sabriel’ and introduces several new main characters, while keeping the storyline from ‘Sabriel’ intact. Lirael and Sam feel as though they are misfits in the worlds they inhabit, unsure of their roles they both start on journeys, leaving an adventurous path for the most perilous hazardous undertaking imaginable. This is captivating writing, fear may take up residence just around the corner in your mind and no one feels safe from the lurking evil. While ‘Sabriel’ is a tale contained within itself, ‘Lirael’ and the last in the trilogy are entwined as one, so just as a word of warning, you will not want to wait before starting ‘Abhorsen’ so have it ready close by!

Liz Robinson

Lirael Synopsis

The second incredible installment of Garth Nix's internationally bestselling OLD KINGDOM fantasy series, perfect for readers of Philip Pullman

Lirael has never felt like a true daughter of the Clayr, a powerful group of clairvoyant oracles responsible for assisting the Abhorsen and the Royal Family in keeping the Old Kingdom safe from the threat of the Dead. Not only does she look completely different to everyone else, she is long past the age that she should have received the Sight. She feels alone, abandoned, and utterly unsure of who she really is.

Meanwhile, across the Wall in Ancelstierre, Prince Sameth is equally lonely. He knows he has a great role to fulfil - he must one day take over as Abhorsen from his mother, Sabriel - but the prospect horrifies him. He fears the Dead, and after a terrifying incident with a rogue Necromancer, he is mortally afraid of his own destiny.

But unbeknownst to Lirael and Sameth, they are part of an even greater future plan. The forces of evil are growing once more in the Old Kingdom, and Lirael and Sameth will find themselves at the heart of a desperate mission to stop them.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Ninth House
In the Time We Lost

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471409653
Publication date: 06/08/2020
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471409653
Publication date: 6th August 2020
Author: Garth Nix
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 576 pages
Categories: Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage),

About Garth Nix

Garth Nix was born in 1963 in Melbourne, Australia. A full-time writer since 2001, he has worked as a literary agent, marketing consultant, book editor, book publicist, book sales representative, bookseller, and a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve. Garth's books include the award-winning fantasy novels SABRIEL, LIRAEL and ABHORSEN and the science fiction novels SHADE'S CHILDREN and A CONFUSION OF PRINCES. His fantasy novels for children include THE RAGWITCH; the six books of THE SEVENTH TOWER sequence; THE KEYS TO THE KINGDOM series; and with Sean Williams, the TROUBLETWISTERS books and SPIRIT ANIMALS: BLOOD TIES. More than five million copies ...

More About Garth Nix

More Books By Garth Nix

Cover for Abhorsen by Garth Nix
Cover for Sabriel by Garth Nix
Cover for Clariel by Garth Nix
View All Books By Garth Nix

Share this book