LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Winter King

by Bernard Cornwell

Part of the Warlord Chronicles Series

Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on The Winter King

Oh how I adore this trilogy, set around the legend of King Arthur. The wonderful Derfel, one of Arthur’s men, sits as the main protagonist but it is the conniving Merlin who has to be one of the most fascinating characters. This is a trilogy that swept me away to a time long ago, I felt the old gods and stood in battle alongside Derfel. Bernard Cornwell is a master storyteller, I have read every single one of his books but the Warlord Chronicles tops the list for me.

Books in The Warlord Chronicles Series:

1. The Winter King

2. Enemy of God

3. Excalibur

Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

The Winter King Synopsis

From bestselling author Bernard Cornwell, comes a brilliant retelling of the Arthurian legend, combining myth, history, and thrilling battlefield action.

In the Dark Ages, a legendary warrior arises to unite a divided land . . .

Uther, the High King of Britain, is dead.

His only heir is the infant Mordred. Yet each of the country's lesser kings seek to claim the crown for themselves.

While they squabble and spoil for war, a host of Saxon armies gather, preparing for invasion.

But no one has counted on the fearsome warlord Arthur.

Handed power by Merlin and pursuing a doomed romance with the beautiful Guinevere, Arthur knows he will struggle to unite the country - let alone hold back the Saxon enemy at the gates.

Yet destiny awaits him . . .

Fans of Game of Thrones, The Last Kingdom, Conn Iggulden and Merlin will be captivated by this gripping historical novel.

124 copies of The Great Gatsby to mark the 124th anniversary of Fitzgerald's birth!

124 copies of The Great Gatsby to mark the 124th anniversary of Fitzgerald's birth!

Closing date: 25/10/2020

To celebrate the 124th anniversary of F. Scott Fitzgerald's birth we're working with No Exit Press to give away a whopping 124 copies of Fitzgerald's most popular title The Great Gatsby! This new edition of the classic includes a foreword by critically acclaimed novelist Michael Farris Smith, as well as an exclusive extract of his forthcoming novel, NICK, which imagines narrator Nick Carraway’s life before The Great Gatsby. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 25th October 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Winter King Press Reviews

Spellbinding - The Times

Bernard Cornwell writes with gritty realism - Daily Telegraph

That every Cornwell novel is better than the last, devotees have long taken for granted - The Times Literary Supplement

Of all the books I have written these are my favourites -- Bernard Cornwell -

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Evening and the Morning
The World That We Knew
Ashes
Those Who Are Loved

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405928328
Publication date: 26/01/2017
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405928328
Publication date: 26th January 2017
Author: Bernard Cornwell
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 512 pages
Genres: Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical fiction, Myth & legend told as fiction,

About Bernard Cornwell

Born in Essex in 1944 Bernard Cornwell was adopted at the age of six weeks by two members of a strict fundamentalist sect called the Peculiar People. He grew up in a household that forbade alcohol, cigarettes, dances, television, conventional medicine and toy guns. Not surprisingly, he developed a fascination for military adventure. As a teenager he devoured CS Forester’s Hornblower novels and tried to enlist three times. Poor eyesight put paid to his dream, instead he went to university to read theology. On graduating, he became a teacher, then joined BBC’s Nationwide, working his way up ...

More About Bernard Cornwell

More Books By Bernard Cornwell

Cover for Sword of Kings by Bernard Cornwell
Cover for War of the Wolf by Bernard Cornwell
Cover for War of the Wolf by Bernard Cornwell
View All Books By Bernard Cornwell

Share this book