LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Rebecca Stott - Author

About the Author

Rebecca Stott is a writer and broadcaster. She writes both fiction and non-fiction, is affiliated to the Cambridge history of science department and is Professor of English Literature and Creative Writing at UEA. Her work, in radio writing, fiction and non-fiction, weaves together history, literature and the history of science. She is the author of the non-fiction book Darwin and the Barnacle.

Featured books by Rebecca Stott

In the Days of Rain

In the Days of Rain

Author: Rebecca Stott Format: Hardback Release Date: 22/05/2017

In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult. `At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn't explain how I'd become a teenage mother, or shoplifted books for years, or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people, without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us, and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn't really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father...' As Rebecca Stott's father lay dying he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet, each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on. The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: non-sect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished. Rebecca was born into the sect, yet, as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them too, and that the fault-line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him. In In the Days of Rain Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father's story, and her own, and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family's experiences within the sect, and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away.

ebook of the month

Other books by Rebecca Stott

Grammar & Writing

Grammar & Writing

Author: Rebecca Stott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/01/2001

Grammar and Writing is a practical book designed to be used by writers of all kinds who want to improve their knowledge of language in order to develop and improve their writing skills. The authors explaingrammatical terms in an accessible manner, through close attention to the way language is used in specific extracts from literary and non-literary writing.

Writing With Style

Writing With Style

Author: Rebecca Stott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/12/2000

The book shows that advanced writing skills are best learnt from studying the prose styles and techniques of already established writers, and that any judgement about the quality of writing must take into account the use to which it is put and the audience for whom it is intended.

Speaking Your Mind: Oral Presentation and Seminar Skills

Speaking Your Mind: Oral Presentation and Seminar Skills

Author: Rebecca Stott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/11/2000

This book is designed with the belie that the key to good speaking is an awareness of audience and context and knowledge of the techniques of argumentation or rhetoric.

Making Your Case: A Practical Guide to Essay Writing

Making Your Case: A Practical Guide to Essay Writing

Author: Rebecca Stott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/01/2000

Writers investigate and learn about the processes of essay writing - from collecting information, identifying an argument and designing a plan to editing, proof-reading and referencing.

Tennyson

Tennyson

Author: Rebecca Stott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/06/1996

Alternative approaches have emerged which have radically altered our understanding of Tennyson's poetry and his relationship to the Victorian age. This text covers the most significant areas of new work on Tennyson, effectively linking feminist and gender studies with deconstructive, psychoanalytic and linguistic attention. The Introduction discusses ways in which orthodox critical approaches have dominated readings of Tennyson's poetry and provides a critical overview of the radical reappraisal of his work. It also provides a guide to the varied ways in which these new debates have shaped and are shaping themselves, with a final discussion of the future directions which Tennyson criticism is likely to take. The essays chosen cover and reflect a range of modes of critical enquiry compelling in themselves.

The Fabrication of the Late-Victorian Femme Fatale The Kiss of Death

The Fabrication of the Late-Victorian Femme Fatale The Kiss of Death

Author: Rebecca Stott Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/11/1992

This book examines the rise of the femme fatale as a prominant fictional type in late nineteenth-century British culture. As a stereotype she has been 'fabricated', that is to say constructed as a 'figure in the carpet' of the fin-de-siecle. The book argues that Rider Haggard's She-Who-Must-Be-Obeyed , Bram Stoker's female vampires and Conrad's destructive Malayan or African women, even Hardy's Tess , are all caught up in a series of late nineteenth-century contexts: biological determinism, imperialism, race, theories about female sexuality, degeneration and evolutionary theory.

The Fabrication of the Late-Victorian Femme Fatale The Kiss of Death

The Fabrication of the Late-Victorian Femme Fatale The Kiss of Death

Author: Rebecca Stott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/11/1992

This book examines the rise of the femme fatale as a prominant fictional type in late nineteenth-century British culture. As a stereotype she has been 'fabricated', that is to say constructed as a 'figure in the carpet' of the fin-de-siecle. The book argues that Rider Haggard's She-Who-Must-Be-Obeyed , Bram Stoker's female vampires and Conrad's destructive Malayan or African women, even Hardy's Tess , are all caught up in a series of late nineteenth-century contexts: biological determinism, imperialism, race, theories about female sexuality, degeneration and evolutionary theory.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.rebeccastott.co.uk/homepage.htm

Author's Facebook

Find Rebecca Stott on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more