LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

If You Were Here

by Alice Peterson

Relationship Stories

If You Were Here Synopsis

When her daughter Beth dies suddenly, Peggy Andrews is left to pick up the pieces and take care of her granddaughter Flo. But sorting through Beth's things reveals a secret never told: Beth was sick, with the same genetic condition that claimed her father's life, and now Peggy must decide whether to keep the secret or risk destroying her granddaughter's world. Five years later, Flo is engaged and moving to New York with her fiance. Peggy never told her what she discovered, but with Flo looking towards her future, Peggy realises it's time to come clean and reveal that her granddaughter's life might also be at risk. As Flo struggles to decide her own path, she is faced with the same life-altering questions her mother asked herself years before: if a test could decide your future, would you take it?

If You Were Here Press Reviews

`If You Were Here is a moving and emotional story about facing a life-altering dilemma head-on and summoning the courage to cope with it' JILL MANSELL 'A beautiful story about living life to the fullest and having the courage to overcome adversity' PAIGE TOON

An emotional, inspiring and uplifting novel, IF YOU WERE HERE will break your heart and put it back together again. The brand new novel from the acclaimed author of A Song for Tomorrow, perfect for fans of Hannah Beckerman, Dani Atkins and Jill Mansell EVERYONE is talking about If You Were Here: 'A moving, beautifully written emotional roller coaster of a book that is utterly absorbing' Heat 'If You Were Here is a powerful, moving and well researched multi-generational tale filled with characters you really care about and who will stay with you long after you read the final page. A must read!' MIKE GAYLE, bestselling author of The Man I Think I Know `A compelling story about family love at its most complicated. Alice has created characters with real warmth and heart, who take on a life of their own and will go on existing in readers' heads long after the last page has been turned' DAISY BUCHANAN `A courageous story, beautifully told, full of hope and heart. I was invested from the very first page' HEIDI SWAIN 'An emotional, thought-provoking romance told with compassion and hope' My Weekly 'A gorgeous book. Life-affirming, clever and packed full of emotion' ANSTEY HARRIS, bestselling author of The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton `A thought-provoking, beautiful book' Fabulous 'Alice demonstrates yet again a remarkable ability to open up her readers' hearts and draw us into her story as if it were our own. I loved it' KATE FURNIVALL `Full of heart-warming characters, it'll make you think about how much you want to know about your future' Prima 'A beautiful story about making difficult choices, but ultimately - about choosing to live' RACHEL CULLEN, author of Running for my Life 'An unforgettable rollercoaster of a book' AMANDA BROOKE 'Stunning and captivating' KATIE MARSH, bestselling author of This Beautiful Life 'A beautifully structured, big-hearted novel which ultimately explores how true love - be that romantic, familial and everything in between - conquers all. I looked forward to going to bed every night to read it. Utterly life-affirming and just gorgeous' KATY REGAN

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Glittering Hour
Three Little Truths
Postscript
The Museum of Broken Promises

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471153525
Publication date: 22/08/2019
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471153525
Publication date: 22nd August 2019
Author: Alice Peterson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 464 pages
Genres: Relationship Stories,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Alice Peterson

Alice Peterson has written two non-fiction books, a personal story called A Will to Win, which has been updated and republished as Another Alice, and a family memoir based on her grandmother’s life in Rhodesia. Two novels followed, published by Black Swan – Look the World in the Eye and You, Me and Him.

More About Alice Peterson

More Books By Alice Peterson

Cover for One Step Closer to You by Alice Peterson
Cover for Monday to Friday Man by Alice Peterson
Cover for You, Me and Him by Alice Peterson
View All Books By Alice Peterson

Share this book