Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Shakespeare's Sword

by Alan Judd

Books of the Month Crime / Mystery Historical Fiction

Shakespeare's Sword Synopsis

From the author of Legacy, now a major BBC Film, comes a brilliant new historical crime novella for fans of Antonia Hodgson and CJ Sansom. `To Mr Thomas Combe my sword.' These six words in Shakespeare's will tell us that Shakespeare had a sword. Did he wear it? Did he use it? What sort was it? When and why did he get it? What happened to it? Might it - does it - still exist? These questions plague Simon Gold, an antiques dealer. He believes he has identified the sword as belonging to a customer, an unworthy owner indifferent to cultural icons and uninterested in history. Simon is desperate to acquire the sword, but how? How far is he prepared to go to get it? In alliance with Charlotte, his customer's attractive and disaffected wife, Simon finds himself going farther than he had intended - and finds, too, that Charlotte is rather more than she appears. Praise for Alan Judd: 

Win one of FOUR Copies of The Blue Bench

Win one of FOUR Copies of The Blue Bench

Closing date: 27/12/2018

"An interesting, unusual, emotional novel which examines the after-effects of the First World War."  Enter our competition to be in with a chance of winning a copy of this brilliant Historical novel. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 27th December 2018. The winners will be notified by 5th January 2018.

Enter Now

Shakespeare's Sword Press Reviews

'Judd has an infallible grasp of intelligence' Spectator

'Wonderful. One of the best spy novels ever' Peter Hennessey on Legacy

'Plotting in the best le Carre tradition' Mail on Sunday

'Belongs to the classic tradition of spy writing' Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Missing Sister
Blood & Sugar
Once Upon a River
The Winter of the Witch

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471178191
Publication date: 13/12/2018
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471178191
Publication date: 13th December 2018
Author: Alan Judd
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 192 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Crime / Mystery, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical mysteries,

About Alan Judd

Alan Judd has written numerous award-winning and highly acclaimed novels, including A Breed of Heroes, The Devil's Work and Legacy. A soldier and a diplomat, he reviews fiction for the Daily Telegraph and is the motoring correspondent for the Spectator.

More About Alan Judd

More Books By Alan Judd

Cover for Deep Blue by Alan Judd
Cover for Inside Enemy by Alan Judd
Cover for Inside Enemy by Alan Judd
View All Books By Alan Judd

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×