LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Shakespeare's Sword

by Alan Judd

Books of the Month Crime / Mystery Historical Fiction

Shakespeare's Sword Synopsis

From the author of Legacy, now a major BBC Film, comes a brilliant new historical crime novella for fans of Antonia Hodgson and CJ Sansom. `To Mr Thomas Combe my sword.' These six words in Shakespeare's will tell us that Shakespeare had a sword. Did he wear it? Did he use it? What sort was it? When and why did he get it? What happened to it? Might it - does it - still exist? These questions plague Simon Gold, an antiques dealer. He believes he has identified the sword as belonging to a customer, an unworthy owner indifferent to cultural icons and uninterested in history. Simon is desperate to acquire the sword, but how? How far is he prepared to go to get it? In alliance with Charlotte, his customer's attractive and disaffected wife, Simon finds himself going farther than he had intended - and finds, too, that Charlotte is rather more than she appears. Praise for Alan Judd: 

Win a signed copy of The Confessions of Frannie Langton and a packet of Georgian-themed treats!

Win a signed copy of The Confessions of Frannie Langton and a packet of Georgian-themed treats!

Closing date: 02/05/2019

"Gripping Georgian crime scandal, passionate love, powerful Jamaican slave narrative - this consummate debut is a dazzling set of nesting dolls, a multi-layered triumph of storytelling." Joanne Owen, Editorial Expert. We have a signed copy of The Confessions of Frannie Langton to give away. This lucky winner will also receive a packet of Georigian-themed treats for you to enjoy while you devour this brilliant debut! Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 2nd May 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Shakespeare's Sword Press Reviews

'Judd has an infallible grasp of intelligence' Spectator

'Wonderful. One of the best spy novels ever' Peter Hennessey on Legacy

'Plotting in the best le Carre tradition' Mail on Sunday

'Belongs to the classic tradition of spy writing' Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Serpent's Mark
Becoming Mrs. Lewis
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
The Moon Sister

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471178191
Publication date: 13/12/2018
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471178191
Publication date: 13th December 2018
Author: Alan Judd
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 192 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Crime / Mystery, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical mysteries,

About Alan Judd

Alan Judd has written numerous award-winning and highly acclaimed novels, including A Breed of Heroes, The Devil's Work and Legacy. A soldier and a diplomat, he reviews fiction for the Daily Telegraph and is the motoring correspondent for the Spectator.

More About Alan Judd

More Books By Alan Judd

Cover for Deep Blue by Alan Judd
Cover for Inside Enemy by Alan Judd
Cover for Inside Enemy by Alan Judd
View All Books By Alan Judd

Share this book