Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Moscow Sleepers

by Stella Rimington

Part of the A Liz Carlyle Novel Series

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Books of the Month Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Moscow Sleepers

What? You haven’t read a Stella Rimington novel! Don’t worry, nor had I… and even better The Moscow Sleepers can easily be read as a standalone novel. If you are now feeling rather smug as you are already well on board this particular series then I trust you won’t be disappointed. I now plan to start at the beginning and read the first ten in the ‘Liz Carlyle’ novels as I trust they will be just as addictive. Liz Carlyle becomes embroiled in a case that appears to be fractured and confusing, gradually however the pieces begin to slide, one by one into deadly place. As you’d expect, Stella Rimington writes with a commanding pen, I felt in safe and secure hands as I sank below the surface into the dangerous world of international intelligence. An intricate web with a number of characters weaved together in the most utterly believable way. The Moscow Sleepers isn’t sexy, fickle, excitable fantasy, instead I felt as though I was in a completely plausible world, one that particularly at the moment, feels all too heart in mouth real - highly recommended.

Liz Robinson

The Moscow Sleepers Synopsis

For fans of Spooks, Homeland, McMafia and The Night Manager, the latest thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling espionage series sees Liz Carlyle investigating a sinister Russian plot - tense, gripping and global in scope A man lies dying in a hospital in upstate Vermont. The nurses know only that he is an academic at a nearby university but they have been instructed to call the FBI should anyone visit their patient. News of this suspected Russian illegal soon reaches MI5 in London where Liz Carlyle has been contacted by a top secret source known as Mischa who is requesting a clandestine rendezvous in Berlin. Meanwhile in Brussels a Russian sleeper agent who has lived undercover for years is beginning to question his role, while suspicions have been roused about a boarding school in Suffolk that has recently changed hands in mysterious circumstances. The latest expertly-plotted thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling series, The Moscow Sleepers is a white-knuckle ride through the dark underbelly of international intelligence, simmering political animosities and global espionage.

The Moscow Sleepers Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

Espionage, Russian secret agents, MI5............the timing of this book is perfect, it couldn't be more topical and it all feels chillingly credible. Compulsive! Full review

Jan Payne

A great telling of spy infiltration entwined with police procedural elements around schools and refugees. Full review

Neil Williams

A timely thriller in the Liz Carlyle series, with a large cast of characters, giving an insight into the world of espionage. Full review

Katherine Stewart

Watch out for the spies! Full review

Heather Byrne

The Moscow Sleepers Press Reviews

Damn good ... I'd certainly take any sequel she writes - Daily Telegraph

Liz Carlyle remains one of the most interesting characters in the male-dominated world of the spy thriller - Daily Express

Rimington provides lots of detail of intelligence work used to counter today's terrorists that seem real - and intriguing - Financial Times

She bids to join the ranks of such secret-agent authors as Somerset Maugham, Graham Greene and John le Carre - Wall Street Journal

This is something rare: the spy novel that prizes authenticity over fabrication, that is true to the character and spirit of intelligence work - Mail on Sunday

Faster than le Carre, she creates the same sense of real characters struggling with real problems - John Sandford

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Angry Sea
Deep Dirty Truth
Father Christmas's Fake Beard
The Angel's Mark

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408859742
Publication date: 20/09/2018
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408859742
Publication date: 20th September 2018
Author: Stella Rimington
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Books of the Month, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Literary Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Espionage & spy thriller, Thriller / suspense, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Stella Rimington

Dame Stella Rimington joined the Security Service (MI5) in 1968. During her career she worked in all the main fields of the Service: counter-subversion, counter-espionage and counter-terrorism. She was appointed Director General in 1992, the first woman to hold the post. She has written her autobiography and five Liz Carlyle novels. She lives in London and Norfolk.

More About Stella Rimington

More Books By Stella Rimington

Cover for Close Call A Liz Carlyle Novel by Stella Rimington
Cover for Rip Tide A Liz Carlyle Novel by Stella Rimington
Cover for Dead Line by Stella Rimington
View All Books By Stella Rimington

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×