LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Plus One

by Sophia Money-Coutts

Relationship Stories Modern and Contemporary Fiction Books of the Month Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Family Drama Humorous fiction Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of The Plus One

Settle down with this rather naughty and very funny book for a quite delicious reading experience.

A sparkling, witty, occasionally rather sexy debut that made me nod in agreement and splutter with laughter. 30 year old Polly works for Posh! magazine, she excels in making the aristocracy look spectacular on paper, however her love life is wilting dramatically… and she needs a Plus One for her best friend’s wedding. Polly quickly settled into a fabulous friend status, we sat together gossiping, I giggled, winced, and regularly raised my eyebrows as I read. Sophia Money-Coutts has a wonderfully light touch, she also keeps laughing gas in her pen, and isn’t afraid to use it. I alternated in reading bits out loud to my husband (who was as shocked as I’d hoped he’d be), and just sinking into, and enjoying the story. There is a heart-felt reality kick along the way, however for me this was an outrageously feel-good read. ‘The Plus One’ became my best friend while I read it, very funny, sometimes shocking, always extremely entertaining.

Liz Robinson

The Plus One Synopsis

'So funny. And the sex is amazing - makes me feel like a nun!' Jilly Cooper 'Light, fizzy and as snort-inducing as a pint of Prosecco.' Evening Standard Magazine 'Hilarious and compelling.' Daily Mail 'Perfect summer reading for fans of Jilly Cooper and Bridget Jones.' HELLO! 'Bridget Jones trapped inside a Jilly Cooper novel. A beach cocktail in book form.' METRO 'Gloriously cheering.' Red Magazine 'Howlingly funny.' India Knight, Sunday Times Magazine 'This saucy read is great sun-lounger fodder.' Heat 'Sexy and very funny...perfect for fans of Jilly Cooper.' Closer 'Cheerful, saucy and fun!' The Sunday Mirror 'As fun and fizzy as a chilled glass of prosecco...this is the perfect read for your holiday.'The Daily Express 'This book has it all - love, romance, sadness and sex - a rare find that is funny at times and moving at others.' Marie Claire The Plus One [n] informal a person who accompanies an invited person to a wedding or a reminder of being single, alone and absolutely plus none Polly's not looking for 'the one', just the plus one... Polly Spencer is fine. She's single, turning thirty and only managed to have sex twice last year (both times with a Swedish banker called Fred), but seriously, she's fine. Even if she's still stuck at Posh! magazine writing about royal babies and the chances of finding a plus one to her best friend's summer wedding are looking worryingly slim. But it's a New Year, a new leaf and all that. Polly's determined that over the next 365 days she'll remember to shave her legs, drink less wine and generally get her s**t together. Her latest piece is on the infamous Jasper, Marquess of Milton, undoubtedly neither a plus one nor 'the one'. She's heard the stories, there's no way she'll succumb to his charms... A laugh-out-loud, toe-curlingly honest debut for fans of Helen Fielding, Bryony Gordon and Jilly Cooper. Don't miss the hottest book of 2018!

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008487096
Publication date: 27th July 2021
Author: Sophia Money-Coutts
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Primary Genre Relationship Stories
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Copy of Woman of a Certain Rage by Georgie Hall

Win a Copy of Woman of a Certain Rage by Georgie Hall

Closing date: 08/08/2021

"We declare this divinely funny, warm, and engaging novel about navigating family life during the menopause a must-read." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of Woman of a Certain Rage by Georgie Hall we're teaming up with Head of Zeus to offer you the chance to win a copy of the book! This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 8th August 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After The Plus One

Hana Khan Carries on
Woman of a Certain Rage
The Bookish Life of Nina Hill
Gravity Is the Thing

The Plus One Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

A great debut novel from Sophia Money-Coutts. It will have you laughing out loud and routing for the hapless heroine.

I was out of my comfort zone with this book, but was keen to try it after reading some good reviews. Polly is a journalist for ‘Posh’, a celebrity magazine for the rich and famous aristocracy. She seems to be forever single having never found ‘the one'. After interviewing Jasper, a bit of a posh playboy, for Posh magazine, they end up dating. Polly's best friend Lex announces her engagement, but will Jasper still be around for the wedding to be Polly’s Plus One?

This is the great debut novel of Sophia Money-Coutts. It is in the same vein as Bridget Jones, without the tedious diary entries. Polly is the hapless heroine who gives us many moments of humour, usually regarding her sex life. The whole tale is a light hearted and a really enjoyable read. I found myself routing for Polly throughout, hoping she had a happy-ever-after.

Gail Phillips

Comedy, sadness, sex, anger and joy. If you liked Bridget Jones you will love this. A fantastically written debut and Sophia Money-Coutts is a brilliant author. I would definitely recommend it.

The Plus One was really hard to put down I was hooked from early in. Polly was a likeable character; I warmed up to her very quickly. She felt real to me, a bit like Bridget Jones, in fact this is who she reminded me of quite a bit, especially with the humor and the journalist job and the bad luck with men. I am sure we have all been there at some point though.

Polly’s best friend Lex is getting married and Polly is on the lookout for a potential plus one, this is not an easy feat as she finds out.

She is asked to interview Jasper, Marquess of Milton and her colleague has dated him before, she is not interested at all, well that is what she told herself before interviewing him. He works his charms and before long they are dating. This leads to a will he be her plus one or not and we end up in a bit of a spiral wondering for a while.

But this is not all that happens in this book, there is just so much, comedy, sadness, sex, anger and joy. The ending was quite unexpected, but that is all I am saying.
A fantastically written debut and Sophia Money-Coutts is a brilliant author. I would definitely recommend it.

Rachel Simons

A cracker of an old school chick lit romp, bang up to date and brimming with laugh out loud humour. A fab debut from Sophia Money-Coutts, Cant wait for the next one!

Polly's best friend Lex is getting married and Polly needs to find that illusive plus one, the unlikely Jasper, Marquess of Milton steamrolls into her life and they end up dating... so the question is he her 'plus one' is asked and expertly answered.

I was really excited to read this, the blurb reminded me of all the chick lit books I read in my twenties, including Bridget (We'll get back to her in a mo). The writing is witty and acerbic and at times laugh out loud funny, others shockingly graphic. There are loads of references to the classic chick lit books of old but also the classic Pride and Prejudice where Jaspers reminds me of a Mr Darcy. The characters are great, likeable and Polly especially was great. This book is great as a summer read or a curled up by the fire with a bottle of bubbly and some chocolate. A great debut by Sophia Money-Coutts, can't wait to read more!

Nicky Hudson

While the protagonist (Polly Spencer) is an entertaining character, I found the plot of the book to be quite predictable and felt the supporting characters could have been developed more.

Polly Spencer is a modern-day Bridget Jones, bumbling her way into her 30s. She's working at Posh! magazine, stuck writing stories about royal babies and scandals, instead of the more serious journalism she'd hoped to work in. Her love life also leaves a lot to be desired. When her friend gets engaged, the pressure is on to find a plus one for the wedding. Then she is sent to interview notorious playboy Jasper, the Marquess of Milton, who is now Britain's most eligible bachelor...

While the protagonist is an entertaining character, I found the plot of the book to be quite predictable and felt the supporting characters could have been developed more. That said, the relationship between Polly and her mother was very moving and brought heart to the book. A light and fun read, but I felt the characters were not memorable and the plot was very much by-the-book.

Jenny Duffy

Sophia Money-Coutts Press Reviews

`The Plus One by Sophia Money-Coutts is so funny. And the sex is amazing - makes me feel like a nun! A funny first novel where class and sex are back!' JILLY COOPER

'I started reading this book on the 3.48 from Waterloo and by 4.15 I was crying with laughter and had the carriage to myself. Brilliant.' SARAH MORGAN

`Perfect summer reading for fans of Jilly Cooper and Bridget Jones. Hilarious, sexy, full of society secrets and guaranteed to leave you with a smile on your face!' Laura Benjamin, HELLO!

`The most charming, cheering love story that reminded me of vintage Jilly Cooper. I never wanted it to end.' Sarra Manning, RED

`Funny, fresh and so brilliantly relatable - I couldn't put it down. The perfect beach read!' Natasha Harding, THE SUN

`Light, fizzy and as snort-inducing as a pint of Prosecco, this debut affectionately exposes both the absurdities of the upper classes and modern single girl life in sparkling fashion.'

EVENING STANDARD MAGAZINE

What readers are saying about THE PLUS ONE:

`This book has it all! Love, romance, sadness and sex. I loved it.'

`Funny, fast-paced and has all that it takes to be a summer hit. Get your shades and find a beach!'

`A real feel-good read... uplifting, funny and bright.'

`Loved this book!'

`A wonderfully humorous story... with enough twists to satisfy even the most jaded reader.'

`Perfect for the beach or poolside.'

`An ideal holiday read.'

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008487096
Publication date: 27/07/2021
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780008288501
Publication date: 18/04/2019
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780008288471
Publication date: 09/08/2018
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Sophia Money-Coutts

Sophia Money-Coutts is a 32-year-old journalist who spent five years studying the British aristocracy while working as Features Director at Tatler. Prior to that she worked as a writer and an editor for The Evening Standard and The Daily Mail in London, and The National in Abu Dhabi.

More About Sophia Money-Coutts

More Books By Sophia Money-Coutts

The Plus One
The Plus One
The Plus One
View All Books By Sophia Money-Coutts

Share this book