Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Plus One

by Sophia Money-Coutts

Books of the Month - <b>October</b> Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Relationship Stories Sagas and Romance

LoveReading View on The Plus One

A sparkling, witty, occasionally rather sexy debut that made me nod in agreement and splutter with laughter. 30 year old Polly works for Posh! magazine, she excels in making the aristocracy look spectacular on paper, however her love life is wilting dramatically… and she needs a Plus One for her best friend’s wedding. Polly quickly settled into a fabulous friend status, we sat together gossiping, I giggled, winced, and regularly raised my eyebrows as I read. Sophia Money-Coutts has a wonderfully light touch, she also keeps laughing gas in her pen, and isn’t afraid to use it. I alternated in reading bits out loud to my husband (who was as shocked as I’d hoped he’d be), and just sinking into, and enjoying the story. There is a heart-felt reality kick along the way, however for me this was an outrageously feel-good read. ‘The Plus One’ became my best friend while I read it, very funny, sometimes shocking, always extremely entertaining.

Liz Robinson

The Plus One Synopsis

`So funny. And the sex is amazing - makes me feel like a nun! Jilly Cooper `Light, fizzy and as snort-inducing as a pint of Prosecco.' Evening Standard Magazine `Perfect summer reading for fans of Jilly Cooper and Bridget Jones.' Laura Benjamin, HELLO! The Plus One [n] informal a person who accompanies an invited person to a wedding or a reminder of being single, alone and absolutely plus none Polly's not looking for `the one', just the plus one... Polly Spencer is fine. She's single, turning thirty and only managed to have sex twice last year (both times with a Swedish banker called Fred), but seriously, she's fine. Even if she's still stuck at Posh! magazine writing about royal babies and the chances of finding a plus one to her best friend's summer wedding are looking worryingly slim. But it's a New Year, a new leaf and all that. Polly's determined that over the next 365 days she'll remember to shave her legs, drink less wine and generally get her s**t together. Her latest piece is on the infamous Jasper, Marquess of Milton, undoubtedly neither a plus one nor `the one'. She's heard the stories, there's no way she'll succumb to his charms... A laugh-out-loud, toe-curlingly honest debut for fans of Helen Fielding, Bryony Gordon and Jilly Cooper. Don't miss the hottest book of 2018!

Win a Goodie Bag from the Comfort Food Cafe!

Win a Goodie Bag from the Comfort Food Cafe!

Closing date: 25/10/2018

Debbie Johnson is back with the latest in her gorgeous 'Comfort Food Cafe' series! To celebrate the release of A Gift From the Comfort Food Cafe, we are giving away a special Comfort Food Pack to FIVE lucky winners - not only will you get a copy of the latest book, you'll receive an indulgent Cocoba hot chocolate spoon and marshmallows to enjoy while this "gorgeous and beautifully comforting read". The competition closes on the 25th of October. The winner will be informed by the 29th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. 

Enter Now

The Plus One Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

A great debut novel from Sophia Money-Coutts. It will have you laughing out loud and routing for the hapless heroine. Full review

Gail Phillips

Comedy, sadness, sex, anger and joy. If you liked Bridget Jones you will love this. A fantastically written debut and Sophia Money-Coutts is a brilliant author. I would definitely recommend it. Full review

Rachel Simons

A cracker of an old school chick lit romp, bang up to date and brimming with laugh out loud humour. A fab debut from Sophia Money-Coutts, Cant wait for the next one! Full review

Nicky Hudson

While the protagonist (Polly Spencer) is an entertaining character, I found the plot of the book to be quite predictable and felt the supporting characters could have been developed more. Full review

Jenny Duffy

The Plus One Press Reviews

`The Plus One by Sophia Money-Coutts is so funny. And the sex is amazing - makes me feel like a nun! A funny first novel where class and sex are back!' JILLY COOPER

'I started reading this book on the 3.48 from Waterloo and by 4.15 I was crying with laughter and had the carriage to myself. Brilliant.' SARAH MORGAN

`Perfect summer reading for fans of Jilly Cooper and Bridget Jones. Hilarious, sexy, full of society secrets and guaranteed to leave you with a smile on your face!' Laura Benjamin, HELLO!

`The most charming, cheering love story that reminded me of vintage Jilly Cooper. I never wanted it to end.' Sarra Manning, RED

`Funny, fresh and so brilliantly relatable - I couldn't put it down. The perfect beach read!' Natasha Harding, THE SUN

`Light, fizzy and as snort-inducing as a pint of Prosecco, this debut affectionately exposes both the absurdities of the upper classes and modern single girl life in sparkling fashion.'

EVENING STANDARD MAGAZINE

What readers are saying about THE PLUS ONE:

`This book has it all! Love, romance, sadness and sex. I loved it.'

`Funny, fast-paced and has all that it takes to be a summer hit. Get your shades and find a beach!'

`A real feel-good read... uplifting, funny and bright.'

`Loved this book!'

`A wonderfully humorous story... with enough twists to satisfy even the most jaded reader.'

`Perfect for the beach or poolside.'

`An ideal holiday read.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

Christmas at the Beach Hut
Miss Marley The Untold Story of Jacob Marley's Sister
An Unsuitable Match
The Lion Tamer Who Lost

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008288471
Publication date: 09/08/2018
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008288471
Publication date: 9th August 2018
Author: Sophia Money-Coutts
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Family Drama, Literary Fiction, Relationship Stories, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Adult & contemporary romance,

About Sophia Money-Coutts

Sophia Money-Coutts is a 32-year-old journalist who spent five years studying the British aristocracy while working as Features Director at Tatler. Prior to that she worked as a writer and an editor for The Evening Standard and The Daily Mail in London, and The National in Abu Dhabi.

More About Sophia Money-Coutts

Share this book