LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Jaclyn Moriarty - Author

About the Author

Jaclyn Moriarty grew up in Sydney, Australia and studied in the United States and England. She spent four years working as a media and entertainment lawyer and is now writing full time. Jaclyn is the author of bittersweet teen bestsellers FEELING SORRY FOR CELIA, FINDING CASSIE CRAZY and BECOMING BINDY MACKENZIE.

Featured books by Jaclyn Moriarty

Other books by Jaclyn Moriarty

The Slightly Alarming Tale of the Whispering Wars

The Slightly Alarming Tale of the Whispering Wars

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2020

The fantastic followup to The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone. The town of Spindrift is frequented by pirates, Shadow Mages and charlatans. It's also home to the Orphanage School, where Finlay lives with Glim, Taya and Eli. Just outside town is the painfully posh Brathelthwaite Boarding School, home to Honey Bee, Hamish and Victor, Duke of Ainsley. When the two schools compete at the Spindrift Tournament, stakes are high, tensions are higher, and some people are out to win at any cost. Before long, the orphans and the boarding school are in an all-out war. And then Whispering Wars break out, and Spindrift is thrust onto the front lines. Children are being stolen, Witches, Sirens and a deadly magical flu invade the town, and all attempts to fight back are met with defeat. Finlay, Honey Bee and their friends must join forces to outwit the encroaching forces of darkness, rescue the stolen children, and turn the tide of the war. But how can one bickering troupe outwit the insidious power of the Whisperers? And who are the two mysterious figures watching them from the shadows? From the award-winning Jaclyn Moriarty comes a spellbinding tale of unlikely friendship, unexpected magic and competitive athletics.

Gravity Is the Thing

Gravity Is the Thing

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

'Clever and magical' - Women's Weekly 'Author Jaclyn is the sister of Liane Moriarty (Big Little Lies) and has the same talent for great plots. This unusual novel tugs at the heartstrings.' - Good Housekeeping Twenty years ago, Abigail Sorenson's brother Robert went missing one day before her sixteenth birthday, never to be seen again. That same year, she began receiving scattered chapters in the mail from a mysterious guidebook, whose anonymous authors promised to make her life soar to heights beyond her wildest dreams. These missives have remained a constant in Abi's life - a befuddling yet oddly comforting voice through her family's grief over her brother's disappearance, a move across continents, the devastating dissolution of her marriage, and the new beginning as a single mother and cafe owner in Sydney. Now, two decades after receiving those first pages, Abi is invited to learn 'the truth' about the book. It's an opportunity too intriguing to refuse - she believes its absurdity and her brother's disappearance must be connected. What follows is an entirely unexpected journey of discovery that will change Abi's life - and enchant readers. Gravity Is the Thing is a smart, unusual, wickedly funny novel - heart-warming and life-affirming.

The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone

The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

'Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket' - a Book of the Year in the i News 'A whirligig of adventure' - The Telegraph _______________ Bronte Mettlestone is ten years old when her parents are killed by pirates. This does not bother her much: her parents ran away to have adventures when she was a baby. She has been raised by her Aunt Isabelle, with assistance from the Butler, and has spent a pleasant childhood of afternoon teas and riding lessons. Now, however, her parents have left detailed instructions for Bronte in their will. (Instructions that, annoyingly, have been reinforced with faery cross-stitch, which means that if she doesn't complete them, terrible things could happen) She must travel the kingdoms alone, delivering gifts to ten other aunts: a farmer aunt who owns an orange orchard, a veterinarian aunt who specializes in dragon care, a pair of aunts who captain a cruise ship, and a former rock star aunt who is now the reigning monarch of a small kingdom. But as she travels from aunt to aunt, Bronte suspects there might be more to this journey than the simple delivery of treasure; though little does she suspect that she will have to play such a big part in the extraordinary events that follow.

The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone

The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

'Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket' - a Book of the Year in the i News 'A whirligig of adventure' - The Telegraph _______________ Bronte Mettlestone is ten years old when her parents are killed by pirates. This does not bother her much: her parents ran away to have adventures when she was a baby. She has been raised by her Aunt Isabelle, with assistance from the Butler, and has spent a pleasant childhood of afternoon teas and riding lessons. Now, however, her parents have left detailed instructions for Bronte in their will. (Instructions that, annoyingly, have been reinforced with faery cross-stitch, which means that if she doesn't complete them, terrible things could happen) She must travel the kingdoms alone, delivering gifts to ten other aunts: a farmer aunt who owns an orange orchard, a veterinarian aunt who specializes in dragon care, a pair of aunts who captain a cruise ship, and a former rock star aunt who is now the reigning monarch of a small kingdom. But as she travels from aunt to aunt, Bronte suspects there might be more to this journey than the simple delivery of treasure; though little does she suspect that she will have to play such a big part in the extraordinary events that follow.

Feeling Sorry for Celia

Feeling Sorry for Celia

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/05/2016

Dear Ms Clarry, It has come to our attention that you are incredibly bad at being a teenager. Yours sincerely, The Association of Teenagers When Elizabeth Clarry's best friend Celia runs away to join the circus, Elizabeth has to hurry to the rescue, which isn't easy when she's generally incompetent at being a teenager. Then gorgeous Saxon Walker decides to lend a hand and things get even more complicated. It's a good thing Elizabeth has a new pen pal to talk to - because feeling sorry for Celia is turning out to be a full-time job.

Cracks in the Kingdom

Cracks in the Kingdom

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Format: eBook Release Date: 01/04/2014

Together, through notes, letters, and late nights, Elliot and Madeleine must find a way to travel across worlds and bring missing loved ones home. (Runtime 13 hours, 52 min)

Corner of White

Corner of White

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Format: eBook Release Date: 01/04/2013

The first in a rousing, funny, genre-busting trilogy from bestseller Jaclyn Moriarty! (Runtime 11 hours, 25 min)

Finding Cassie Crazy

Finding Cassie Crazy

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2004

Cassie, Em and Lydia are best friends in Year 10 at Ashbury High. Ashbury students claim that all the kids at downtown Brookfield High are drug-dealers and psychopaths. Their English teacher, encouraging the Adventure of the Scary and the New and the Joy of the Envelope, starts a Pen-Pal Project. The hilarious letters between the girls and three unknown Brookfield boys lead to an escalation of the war between the schools, to secret romance, and to Cassie learning to face the dark fears that she hides from her friends. FINDING CASSIE CRAZY is the brilliant sequel to Jaclyn Moriarty's bestselling debut novel, FEELING SORRY FOR CELIA. Told entirely in the form of letters, e-mails, diary entries, reports and notices on the school bulletin board, this fabulously feel-good story is both funny and scary, happy and sad, and full of the confusions of teenage existence. 'FEELING SORRY FOR CELIA proved that this author was not only in touch with the preoccupations of the teenage mind but that she could write with enough humour and sensitivity to produce a believable and poignant story. Her sequel proves equally persuasive.' The Bookseller

Feeling Sorry for Celia

Feeling Sorry for Celia

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/02/2001

Dear Ms Clarry, It has come to our attention that you are incredibly bad at being a teenager. Yours sincerely, The Association of Teenagers When Elizabeth Clarry's best friend Celia runs away to join the circus, Elizabeth has to hurry to the rescue, which isn't easy when she's generally incompetent at being a teenager. Then gorgeous Saxon Walker decides to lend a hand and things get even more complicated. It's a good thing Elizabeth has a new pen pal to talk to - because feeling sorry for Celia is turning out to be a full-time job.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.jaclynmoriarty.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Jaclyn Moriarty on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more