Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Save the Date

by Morgan Matson

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on Save the Date

In a Nutshell: Sibling wedding rings the bells of change

Everyone loves a wedding, right? Especially when you’re Charlie and your beloved big sister is about to get hitched with all your siblings reunited for the big occasion. Focusing on this event is Charlie’s only source of stability right now, what with her parents selling the family home, her Mom’s long-running family-inspired comic strip ending after 25 years, and her having to make huge decisions about her future. It’s the end of an era every which way you look at it, so this weekend “had to be perfect. I would make sure of it,’ Charlie resolves. But, with so much outside her control, Charlie’s dream of a perfect wedding weekend is threatened by a succession of obstacles, errors and unexpected encounters, including an intense reunion with her long-time crush (cue a whole lot of complicated cuteness and deep and meaningful realisations).

Alongside the humour, the daunting giddiness of being of the verge of everything changing is brilliantly evoked. Charlie has pushed aside making college decisions for months and instead been utterly preoccupied with the wedding. The million-dollar question is, as her best friend posits, “What happens when this weekend is over?” It’s by no means easy, but since she’s a thoughtful, resourceful young woman, “the one who came to help, who tried to make things work”, the one her siblings called when “they were in trouble”, Charlie realises that while the tides of change are strong, she’s strong enough to ride them out. She and her family will always be there for one another, and you never know what wonders await further out at sea.

I adored the author’s The Unexpected Everything and this confirms her status as a mighty fine creator of exuberantly entertaining coming-of-age dramas with authentic emotional depth.

Joanne Owen

Save the Date Synopsis

A dreamy story of summer romance and finding yourself, perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen.

Charlie Grant tries to keep her life as normal as possible. Hanging out with her best friend, pining for Jesse Foster - who she's loved since she was twelve - and generally flying under the radar as much as she can. But sometimes normal is just another word for stuck, and this weekend that's all going to change. Not only will everyone be back home for her sister's wedding, but she's also juggling: - a rented dog that just won't stop howling - an unexpectedly hot wedding-coordinator's nephew - her favourite brother bringing home his HORRIBLE new girlfriend - fear that her parents' marriage is falling apart - and the return to town of the boy she's loved practically all her life...

Over the course of four days Charlie will learn there's so much more to each member of her family than she imagined, even herself, and that maybe letting go of the things she's been holding on tightest to can help her find what really keeps them together.

 

Save the Date Press Reviews

Praise for Morgan Matson:

Amy & Roger's Epic Detour Funny and heartwarming, we love Amy & Roger's Epic Detour - Bliss

Strong literary romance, this is an ideal summer read choice - The Bookseller

A near perfect summer read - Publisher's Weekly, starred review

And Second Chance Summer... Absolutely huge recommendation. Matson has become my favourite contemporary author. The Bookbag

Heart-wrenching and beautifully portrayed Prettybooks And Since You've Been Gone... A heartwarming story of loss, taking risks, new beginnings and self-discovery along the journey - The Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
Tom Gates 15: What Monster?
Guinness World Records 2019
City of Ghosts

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471163883
Publication date: 14/06/2018
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471163883
Publication date: 14th June 2018
Author: Morgan Matson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, eBook Favourites,
Categories: Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Morgan Matson

Morgan Matson received her MFA in Writing for Children from the New School in NYC, and is currently studying for an MFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She formerly worked as a teen book editor. Morgan is a lover of roadtrips, having crossed the USA three times ... so far. Many of the places featured in Amy & Roger's roadtrip are taken directly from her own travels. She's also a lover of music, which inspired the wealth of playlists you'll find in Amy & Roger's story. This is Morgan's first novel, but she's already working on her second. ...

More About Morgan Matson

More Books By Morgan Matson

Cover for The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
Cover for Since You've Been Gone by Morgan Matson
Cover for Amy & Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson
View All Books By Morgan Matson

Share this book