Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

An Orphan's War

by Molly Green

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Sagas and Romance

LoveReading View on An Orphan's War

War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love and loss on the Home Front.

A lovely, heartfelt, warming slice of saga fiction set during the Second World War. Maxine endures heartbreak at the beginning of the war, she then faces an impossible choice before finding herself a job at a Dr Barnardo’s orphanage in Liverpool. Maxine is a wonderfully thoughtful, loveable character, supported by the author, who with care and compassion covers some moving and poignant topics. I found myself visiting the effects of the war on the home front, and some previously unexplored and interesting  areas. There is a gentleness to the writing as it walks some difficult paths, ensuring ‘An Orphan’s War’ is an engaging, generous read.

Liz Robinson

An Orphan's War Synopsis

LIVERPOOL, 1940 When her childhood sweetheart Johnny is killed in action, Maxine Grey loses more than her husband - she loses her best friend. Desperate to make a difference in this awful war, Maxine takes a nursing job at London's St Thomas's hospital. A BROKEN HEART She takes comfort in the attentions of a handsome surgeon, but Edwin Blake isn't all he seems. And as the Blitz descends on the capital, Maxine faces more heartache. When she returns to Liverpool, she harbours a secret. A BRAVE SPIRIT When Maxine is offered a job at a Dr Barnardo's orphanage, she hopes this is the second chance she has been looking for. Do the orphans know that she needs them as much as they need her? A gripping story of love, friendship and hope in the darkest of places. Molly Green is an exciting new voice in saga fiction, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.

An Orphan's War Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

Green is a talented novelist though the fictional series, only two books in, is fast-becoming stale, predictable even. Full review

Lee Ruddin

This historical fiction is lovely, easy to get in to and heart-warming. Full review

Charlotte Walker

A novel of love and loss and a remarkable story of the children of Barnardo's in the 1940s Full review

Jane Brown

An Orphan's War Press Reviews

PRAISE FOR MOLLY GREEN

'A moving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love for a RAF pilot.' - KITTY NEALE

'Redolent of wartime Britain and brimming with heartfelt stories from several characters, Molly Green's sure-footed novel shows just how challenging it was to find love and a place to call home in the dark days of the war.' - TERRI FLEMING

If you loved this, you might like these...

Master of His Fate
The Christmas Rose The Most Heart-Warming Novel of 2018, from the Sunday Times Bestseller
A Gift from the Comfort Food Café
A Ration Book Christmas

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008238971
Publication date: 03/05/2018
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008238971
Publication date: 3rd May 2018
Author: Molly Green
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Sagas, Historical romance,

About Molly Green

Molly Green is a seasoned author of fiction and non-fiction. She has sold lipstick in a Denver store, modelled in Atlanta, assisted the UN Narcotics Director in Geneva, chauffeured a Swiss Gnome in Zurich, assisted a famous film producer in the UK, and cooked in a sanatorium in Germany. She now lives and writes in Tunbridge Wells, Kent.

More About Molly Green

Share this book

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×