An Orphan's War

by Molly Green

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Sagas and Romance

LoveReading View on An Orphan's War

War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love and loss on the Home Front.

A lovely, heartfelt, warming slice of saga fiction set during the Second World War. Maxine endures heartbreak at the beginning of the war, she then faces an impossible choice before finding herself a job at a Dr Barnardo’s orphanage in Liverpool. Maxine is a wonderfully thoughtful, loveable character, supported by the author, who with care and compassion covers some moving and poignant topics. I found myself visiting the effects of the war on the home front, and some previously unexplored and interesting  areas. There is a gentleness to the writing as it walks some difficult paths, ensuring ‘An Orphan’s War’ is an engaging, generous read. ~ Liz Robinson

 

An Orphan's War Synopsis

LIVERPOOL, 1940 When her childhood sweetheart Johnny is killed in action, Maxine Grey loses more than her husband - she loses her best friend. Desperate to make a difference in this awful war, Maxine takes a nursing job at London's St Thomas's hospital. A BROKEN HEART She takes comfort in the attentions of a handsome surgeon, but Edwin Blake isn't all he seems. And as the Blitz descends on the capital, Maxine faces more heartache. When she returns to Liverpool, she harbours a secret. A BRAVE SPIRIT When Maxine is offered a job at a Dr Barnardo's orphanage, she hopes this is the second chance she has been looking for. Do the orphans know that she needs them as much as they need her? A gripping story of love, friendship and hope in the darkest of places. Molly Green is an exciting new voice in saga fiction, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.

An Orphan's War Press Reviews

PRAISE FOR MOLLY GREEN

'A moving, gripping story set during WW2, of a woman's dedication to the orphans in her care and her heart wrenching love for a RAF pilot.' - KITTY NEALE

'Redolent of wartime Britain and brimming with heartfelt stories from several characters, Molly Green's sure-footed novel shows just how challenging it was to find love and a place to call home in the dark days of the war.' - TERRI FLEMING

If you loved this, you might like these...

Love Will Tear Us Apart
How to Write a Love Story
An Orphan's War
The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008238971
Publication date: 03/05/2018
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008238971
Publication date: 3rd May 2018
Author: Molly Green
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Sagas and Romance, Free Prize Draws,
Categories: Sagas, Historical romance,

About Molly Green

Molly Green is a seasoned author of fiction and non-fiction. She has sold lipstick in a Denver store, modelled in Atlanta, assisted the UN Narcotics Director in Geneva, chauffeured a Swiss Gnome in Zurich, assisted a famous film producer in the UK, and cooked in a sanatorium in Germany. She now lives and writes in Tunbridge Wells, Kent.

More About Molly Green

Share this book