Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

win prizes rebus 30th anniversary likeyoulove
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Elmet by Fiona Mozley
  

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017.

An atmospheric and thrilling debut about family as well as a meditation on landscape in South Yorkshire. Perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent.

Mozley, who wrote the story while commuting on the train, said that making the Man Booker longlist felt “really surreal”. “I didn't expect anything like this”.

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Question of Trust!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of Penny Vincenzi's latest page-turner, A Question of Trust, each signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

Elmet by Fiona Mozley

Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now. Sometimes Daddy disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew. Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it, as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.

Reviews

Ms Mozley writes with clarity and insight, and her descriptions of the natural world and human relationships are both specific and profound . . . Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable. It is hard not to feel that at 29, Ms Mozley has only just begun The Economist

A stunning debut . . . It may be the best thing about the Booker too despite its oddness, or perhaps because of it . . . Elmet is in so many ways a wonder to behold. It is also this year's David among the predictable Goliaths on the Booker list. How thrilling if David were to win against them Evening Standard

A fantastic, taught, very strange novel BBC Radio 4, Front Row

A brooding study of family and belonging Daily Telegraph


About the Author

Fiona Mozley was born in Hackney but grew up in York and studied at Cambridge before moving to Buenos Aires for a year - without speaking any Spanish. After briefly working at a literary agency in London, she moved back to York to complete a PhD in Medieval Studies. She also has a weekend job at The Little Apple Bookshop in York. Elmet is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th August 2017

Author

Fiona Mozley

More books by Fiona Mozley
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

JM Originals an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Family Drama
Man Booker 2017

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781473660540

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools