make the most of Lovereading lyrebird debuts of the month books of the month reading groups
Search our site
Blue Light Yokohama by Nicolas Obregon Read the opening extract of the brand new Nicolas Obregon book before its publication on 18/09/2017

Elmet by Fiona Mozley
  

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017.

An atmospheric and thrilling debut about family as well as a meditation on landscape in South Yorkshire. Perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent.

Mozley, who wrote the story while commuting on the train, said that making the Man Booker longlist felt “really surreal”. “I didn't expect anything like this”.

Synopsis

Elmet by Fiona Mozley

Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now. Sometimes Daddy disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew. Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it, as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.

Reviews

Ms Mozley writes with clarity and insight, and her descriptions of the natural world and human relationships are both specific and profound . . . Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable. It is hard not to feel that at 29, Ms Mozley has only just begun The Economist

A stunning debut . . . It may be the best thing about the Booker too despite its oddness, or perhaps because of it . . . Elmet is in so many ways a wonder to behold. It is also this year's David among the predictable Goliaths on the Booker list. How thrilling if David were to win against them Evening Standard

A fantastic, taught, very strange novel BBC Radio 4, Front Row

A brooding study of family and belonging Daily Telegraph


About the Author

Fiona Mozley was born in Hackney but grew up in York and studied at Cambridge before moving to Buenos Aires for a year - without speaking any Spanish. After briefly working at a literary agency in London, she moved back to York to complete a PhD in Medieval Studies. She also has a weekend job at The Little Apple Bookshop in York. Elmet is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th August 2017

Author

Fiona Mozley

More books by Fiona Mozley
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

JM Originals an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
Family Drama
Man Booker 2017

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781473660540

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools