LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Elmet

by Fiona Mozley

eBooks of the Month Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Elmet

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017. 

An atmospheric and thrilling debut about family as well as a meditation on landscape in South Yorkshire. Perfect for fans of The Loney and The Essex Serpent.

Mozley, who wrote the story while commuting on the train, said that making the Man Booker longlist felt “really surreal”. “I didn't expect anything like this”.

LoveReading

Elmet Synopsis

Daniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned sour and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. When they were younger, Daniel and Cathy had gone to school. But they were not like the other children then, and they were even less like them now. Sometimes Daddy disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew. Atmospheric and unsettling, Elmet is a lyrical commentary on contemporary society and one family's precarious place in it, as well as an exploration of how deep the bond between father and child can go.

Win a Signed Copy Of After The End With A Personalised Message From Clare Mackintosh!

Win a Signed Copy Of After The End With A Personalised Message From Clare Mackintosh!

Closing date: 25/07/2019

"Prepare yourself for an emotional read… full of deep abiding love and hope, there are also parts of this book that caused an intensely physical ache long after I’d finished reading." Liz Robinson, Expert Review We have a copy of After the End by Clare Mackintosh to give away. Not only will this book be signed, but it will also include a personalised message from the author.  Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 25th July 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Elmet Press Reviews

Ms Mozley writes with clarity and insight, and her descriptions of the natural world and human relationships are both specific and profound . . . Elmet is a quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable. It is hard not to feel that at 29, Ms Mozley has only just begun  The Economist

A stunning debut . . . It may be the best thing about the Booker too despite its oddness, or perhaps because of it . . . Elmet is in so many ways a wonder to behold. It is also this year's David among the predictable Goliaths on the Booker list. How thrilling if David were to win against them  Evening Standard

A fantastic, taught, very strange novel    BBC Radio 4, Front Row

A brooding study of family and belonging    Daily Telegraph


If you loved this, you might like these...

The Overstory
The Six Loves of Billy Binns
The Homeless Heart Throb
Flames

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781473660540
Publication date: 10/08/2017
Publisher: JM Originals an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781473660540
Publication date: 10th August 2017
Author: Fiona Mozley
Publisher: JM Originals an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Man Booker 2017, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Fiona Mozley

Fiona Mozley was born in Hackney but grew up in York and studied at Cambridge before moving to Buenos Aires for a year - without speaking any Spanish. After briefly working at a literary agency in London, she moved back to York to complete a PhD in Medieval Studies. She also has a weekend job at The Little Apple Bookshop in York. Elmet is her first novel.

More About Fiona Mozley

Share this book