book price comparison books of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis
  

The Wolf Road

Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

April 2017 Debut of the Month.

Uniquely voiced, elementally powerful literary thriller that crackles with page-turning tension.

Aged seven, gutsy Elka ran away from her nana and wound up getting lost in a forest. She was found by Trapper, a lone hunter whose “voice had a breath of kindness to it”. But when Elka learns that the man she’s come to call Daddy is a “murdering, kid-killing bastard”, she flees him in search of her “true momma and daddy”, who left her in pursuit of gold rush riches. But the wild land Elka traverses is populated by wolves, bears and the kind of humans a person could do without encountering…

The framing theme of hunting and searching - especially Elka’s sense of being tracked, and her raw instinct for survival - makes for a serious edge-of-your-seat experience. ~ Joanne Owen

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Catherine Price - 'A compelling read, with a strong yet innocent female lead character, whose journey through a post-apocalyptic wilderness to find her parents is as exciting and strange as anything I have read...this is a unique voice: strong, dark and witty, and full of truth.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'Wolf Road - realistic characters and an unusual setting. Although post-apocalyptic it could be set way back. Murder, survival and hope of peace all covered, Elka's journey leaves you breathless.'
  • Sheila Johnson - 'Dystopian novel but bleak.'
  • Sue Burton - 'This was a book that was hard to put down....For a fast and adventurous read, with unusual characters, this will be a good summer read for you.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'Definitely different is what springs to mind and not a genre (whatever it might be) with which I am familiar, which at first made it interesting.'
  • Catherine Bryce - 'A thrilling and superb read - a must for your Reading List!..The reader's emotions are on a roller coaster with the action that is packed within the story.'
  • Victoria Emerson - 'I was excited to read The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis but sadly I just didn't like it.'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'The Wolf Road is intelligent and unique and filled with raw emotion. It's very dark, with beautiful vivid writing. Simply stunning! The Wolf Road totally 'wowed' me, and not many books do that.'
  • Nikki Whitmore - 'Bleak but brilliant... but I thought this book was brilliant, thanks in large part to the fact that it got stronger as it went on'
  • Lisa Redmond - 'a powerful debut from a talented new writer. A blend of dystopia, western, mystery and a coming of age saga.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'I tried very hard to like this book but for some reason I just couldn’t get into it.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

A debut literary thriller from an incredible new voice. What do you do when the man who gave you everything turns out to be a killer? Perfect for fans of STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel. Trapper was my family even though I didn't know a sure thing about him...Trapper was the kind a' family you choose for yourself, the kind that gets closer'n blood. He was what I chose and I chose wrong. Lost in the harsh forest as a child, Elka was taken in and raised by the man she calls Trapper, the solitary hunter who taught her all she knows. So when Elka sees the Wanted poster in town, her simple existence is shattered. Her Trapper - Kreagar Hallet - is wanted for murder. Even worse, Magistrate Lyon is hot on his trail, and she wants to talk to Elka. As winter sets in, Elka flees into the vast wilderness, determined to find her real parents. But Lyon is never far behind, and she's not the only one following Elka's every move. Soon Elka must confront the darkest memories of her past- and end Trapper's killing spree for good.

Reviews

'An intriguing tale of post apocalyptic survival ... One of those books one picks up instead of turning on the television ... Read this book for the characters and the tale of how they develop against a stark backdrop of survival in a crumbled world'
Robin Hobb

'What a voice Elka has, marvellously sustained'
Rob Ewing, author of The Last of Us

'Arresting ... Lewis takes the reader on an odyssey that highlights the striking wilderness landscape and Elka's grit'
Publishers Weekly

'The Wolf Road is an extraordinary novel - dark and funny and full of wild energy. Elka is a brilliant creation - fierce and vulnerable at the same time. Her story and her voice pull you in from the first page and never let you go. Gripping and unforgettable'
Antonia Hodgson, author of The Devil in the Marshalsea

About the Author

Beth Lewis

Beth Lewis was raised in the wilds of Cornwall and split her childhood between books and the beach. She has travelled extensively throughout the world and has had close encounters with black bears, killer whales, and Great White sharks. She has been, at turns, a bank cashier, fire performer, juggler, and is currently a Managing Editor at a leading London publisher.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

23rd March 2017

Author

Beth Lewis

More books by Beth Lewis
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

The Borough Press an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780008145484

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools