paypal orange blossom days when the sky fell apart katie fforde i found you lisa jewel
Vouchers


Reader Reviewed
The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis
  

The Wolf Road

Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

Uniquely voiced, elementally powerful literary thriller that crackles with page-turning tension.

Aged seven, gutsy Elka ran away from her nana and wound up getting lost in a forest. She was found by Trapper, a lone hunter whose “voice had a breath of kindness to it”. But when Elka learns that the man she’s come to call Daddy is a “murdering, kid-killing bastard”, she flees him in search of her “true momma and daddy”, who left her in pursuit of gold rush riches. But the wild land Elka traverses is populated by wolves, bears and the kind of humans a person could do without encountering…

The framing theme of hunting and searching - especially Elka’s sense of being tracked, and her raw instinct for survival - makes for a serious edge-of-your-seat experience. ~ Joanne Owen

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Catherine Price - 'A compelling read, with a strong yet innocent female lead character, whose journey through a post-apocalyptic wilderness to find her parents is as exciting and strange as anything I have read...this is a unique voice: strong, dark and witty, and full of truth.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'Wolf Road - realistic characters and an unusual setting. Although post-apocalyptic it could be set way back. Murder, survival and hope of peace all covered, Elka's journey leaves you breathless.'
  • Sheila Johnson - 'Dystopian novel but bleak.'
  • Sue Burton - 'This was a book that was hard to put down....For a fast and adventurous read, with unusual characters, this will be a good summer read for you.'
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'Definitely different is what springs to mind and not a genre (whatever it might be) with which I am familiar, which at first made it interesting.'

Synopsis

The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

A debut literary thriller from an incredible new voice. What do you do when the man who gave you everything turns out to be a killer? Perfect for fans of STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel. Trapper was my family even though I didn't know a sure thing about him...Trapper was the kind a' family you choose for yourself, the kind that gets closer'n blood. He was what I chose and I chose wrong. Lost in the harsh forest as a child, Elka was taken in and raised by the man she calls Trapper, the solitary hunter who taught her all she knows. So when Elka sees the Wanted poster in town, her simple existence is shattered. Her Trapper - Kreagar Hallet - is wanted for murder. Even worse, Magistrate Lyon is hot on his trail, and she wants to talk to Elka. As winter sets in, Elka flees into the vast wilderness, determined to find her real parents. But Lyon is never far behind, and she's not the only one following Elka's every move. Soon Elka must confront the darkest memories of her past- and end Trapper's killing spree for good.

Reviews

'An intriguing tale of post apocalyptic survival ... One of those books one picks up instead of turning on the television ... Read this book for the characters and the tale of how they develop against a stark backdrop of survival in a crumbled world'
Robin Hobb

'What a voice Elka has, marvellously sustained'
Rob Ewing, author of The Last of Us

'Arresting ... Lewis takes the reader on an odyssey that highlights the striking wilderness landscape and Elka's grit'
Publishers Weekly

'The Wolf Road is an extraordinary novel - dark and funny and full of wild energy. Elka is a brilliant creation - fierce and vulnerable at the same time. Her story and her voice pull you in from the first page and never let you go. Gripping and unforgettable'
Antonia Hodgson, author of The Devil in the Marshalsea

About the Author

Beth Lewis

Beth Lewis was raised in the wilds of Cornwall and split her childhood between books and the beach. She has travelled extensively throughout the world and has had close encounters with black bears, killer whales, and Great White sharks. She has been, at turns, a bank cashier, fire performer, juggler, and is currently a Managing Editor at a leading London publisher.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

23rd March 2017

Author

Beth Lewis

More books by Beth Lewis
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

The Borough Press an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780008145484

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools