desmond elliott 2017 make the most of Lovereading twitter before the fall when i was invisible
Vouchers


This edition has not yet been published

If available, why not choose another format from the 'Other Formats' box on the right.

Reader Reviewed
Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn by Alison Weir
  

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn

Historical Fiction   Exclusive Pre-Publication   

Price £15.19

RRP £18.99 saving £3.80 (20%)

Not yet published
Notify me
when available

As soon as this book is published
we will send you an email.

Pre-order this book We'd love you to buy your books from Lovereading - especially if we helped you to choose them! But as our mantra is guidance, and that includes guidance on price, please do use our 'Compare Book Price' service to discover if the best value deal is from Lovereading or another specialist bookstore.
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

We know we are in good hands when an eminent historian renowned for her non-fiction work turns her hand to fiction. Lovers of historical novels will probably have read a fair bit about Anne Boleyn and the story is well known but this author’s interpretation of the historical facts is fascinating. We start with Anne’s early teenage years in Burgundy and Paris where women’s views were respected although Anne found she was restricted and forced to do as she was told. Returning to England we learn of her sibling rivalry, manipulation and lust for power but it is six long years before she becomes queen. The author declares that Anne never loved Henry or had any interest in her daughter, which is interesting. In fact the whole sorry tale is given a fresh, lively interpretation, full of much historical colour. So however well you know the story, you are bound to enjoy this highly recommended retelling. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Alison Weir you might also like to read books by Joanna Hickson, Elizabeth Chadwick and Elizabeth Freemantle.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A great read for anyone interested in the period and who doesn’t want a superficially glamourized version.  I couldn’t put it down and it’s the first historical novel I’ve found so enjoyable for a long time.'
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'A must read for all historical fiction lovers...I loved every page and cannot wait to read the third book in the series!'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'This book showed a new angle which was completely fresh for me'
  • Kathy Howell - 'The quality of the writing reflects the amount of research that has gone into the book.'
  • Paul Garland - 'Alison Weir blends history and fiction in an extremely readable and enjoyable way. I was so impressed with this book that I had to buy the previous volume about Katherine of Aragon.'

Win tickets to the Borders Book Festival!

Borders Book Festival 2017 logo

We have 4 tickets (2 pairs) to give away to one lucky winner to attend two Walter Scott Prize events taking place at the Baillie Gifford Borders Book Festival on Saturday 17 June 2017. One pair of tickets is for a panel event with shortlisted authors, and the other is for the Prize event in which the winner is announced and presented. Click here to find out more about the Borders Book Festival.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once and the prize cannot be exchanged for cash and does not include transport or accommodation. Draw closes on 2 May 2017. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 14 May 2017.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 02/05/2017

Synopsis

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn by Alison Weir

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick. 'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life' Guardian The young woman who changed the course of history. Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love. But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game. Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price. ANNE BOLEYN. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story. History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived. SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.

Reviews

'Alison Weir's wonderfully detailed novel offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne's true nature... Enthralling' -- Sarah Gristwood on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

'Weir's Boleyn is a highly intelligent idealist, who becomes the tragic victim of her own ambition... The novel is a triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman' -- Elizabeth Fremantle on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

'This is Anne Boleyn as you have never seen her before. I could not put it down -- Tracy Borman on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Alison Weir has brought English history's most famous 'other woman compellingly to life. The story of Anne Boleyn's rise from accomplished court lady to Henry VIII's second queen is vividly told and the terror of her final days will haunt the reader. A must for all lovers of historical fiction' -- Linda Porter, author of Katherine the Queen and Royal Renegades

'Alison Weir is the doyen of Tudor fiction and non-fiction ... With Alison's light touch, [Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession] is fiction that reads as fact, and leaves us breathless, hoping ... then of course we recognise that we are not reading pure fiction after all, but a finely woven tapestry of fictional biography that stays with us long after we close the book at the final line. It is simply a masterpiece' -- Susan Ronald on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

'Weir's outstanding and sound historical research shines through, shedding new light on England's most controversial queen. Weir provides page after page of utterly compelling detail, keeping the reader hooked from start to finish. This book is not only a world apart from any other novel on Anne Boleyn, it is also an exquisite work of literary art' -- Nicola Tallis on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

About the Author

Alison Weir

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian (and the fifth bestselling historian overall) in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences and an Honorary Life Patron of Historic Royal Palaces, and is married with two adult children. Anne Boleyn is the second in the Six Tudor Queens series of novels about the wives of Henry VIII, which began with Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen - a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.

Author photo © Miklos Csepely-Knorr

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

18th May 2017

Author

Alison Weir

More books by Alison Weir
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.alisonweir.org.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Hardback
544 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Exclusive Pre-Publication

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781472227621

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools