desmond elliott 2017 paypal finding gobi tudor queens series eleanor oliphant

Reader Reviewed
Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn by Alison Weir
  

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn

Historical Fiction   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   

RRP £18.99

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

June 2017 Book of the Month.

We know we are in good hands when an eminent historian renowned for her non-fiction work turns her hand to fiction. Lovers of historical novels will probably have read a fair bit about Anne Boleyn and the story is well known but this author’s interpretation of the historical facts is fascinating. We start with Anne’s early teenage years in Burgundy and Paris where women’s views were respected although Anne found she was restricted and forced to do as she was told. Returning to England we learn of her sibling rivalry, manipulation and lust for power but it is six long years before she becomes queen. The author declares that Anne never loved Henry or had any interest in her daughter, which is interesting. In fact the whole sorry tale is given a fresh, lively interpretation, full of much historical colour. So however well you know the story, you are bound to enjoy this highly recommended retelling. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Alison Weir you might also like to read books by Elizabeth Chadwick, Elizabeth Freemantle and Joanna Hickson.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A great read for anyone interested in the period and who doesn’t want a superficially glamourized version.  I couldn’t put it down and it’s the first historical novel I’ve found so enjoyable for a long time.'
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'A must read for all historical fiction lovers...I loved every page and cannot wait to read the third book in the series!'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'This book showed a new angle which was completely fresh for me'
  • Kathy Howell - 'The quality of the writing reflects the amount of research that has gone into the book.'
  • Paul Garland - 'Alison Weir blends history and fiction in an extremely readable and enjoyable way. I was so impressed with this book that I had to buy the previous volume about Katherine of Aragon.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'You will be swept away, and find that time stands still as you lose yourself in the Courts of King Henry VIII.'
  • Mollie Mayson-Simpson - 'This is a brilliant book, but huge, intelligent, and needing time to allow the layers to settle.'  
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'Wow! What a book and what a woman!! Alison Weir has completed a marathon of superb and informative writing.'
  • Lisa Redmond - 'Just when you think that there is nothing new to be said about the Tudors, along comes Alison Weir with her outstanding Six Tudor Queens series.'

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 3 July 2017. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 17 July 2017.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/07/2017

Synopsis

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn by Alison Weir

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by bestselling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential reading for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick. 'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life' Guardian The young woman who changed the course of history. Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love. But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game. Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price. ANNE BOLEYN. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story. History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived. SIX TUDOR QUEENS. SIX NOVELS. SIX YEARS.

Reviews

'Alison Weir's wonderfully detailed novel offers a spellbinding solution to the mystery of Anne's true nature... Enthralling' -- Sarah Gristwood on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

'Weir's Boleyn is a highly intelligent idealist, who becomes the tragic victim of her own ambition... The novel is a triumph of fine detail and research and offers a complex depiction of an endlessly fascinating woman' -- Elizabeth Fremantle on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

'This is Anne Boleyn as you have never seen her before. I could not put it down -- Tracy Borman on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Alison Weir has brought English history's most famous 'other woman compellingly to life. The story of Anne Boleyn's rise from accomplished court lady to Henry VIII's second queen is vividly told and the terror of her final days will haunt the reader. A must for all lovers of historical fiction' -- Linda Porter, author of Katherine the Queen and Royal Renegades

'Alison Weir is the doyen of Tudor fiction and non-fiction ... With Alison's light touch, [Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession] is fiction that reads as fact, and leaves us breathless, hoping ... then of course we recognise that we are not reading pure fiction after all, but a finely woven tapestry of fictional biography that stays with us long after we close the book at the final line. It is simply a masterpiece' -- Susan Ronald on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

'Weir's outstanding and sound historical research shines through, shedding new light on England's most controversial queen. Weir provides page after page of utterly compelling detail, keeping the reader hooked from start to finish. This book is not only a world apart from any other novel on Anne Boleyn, it is also an exquisite work of literary art' -- Nicola Tallis on Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession

About the Author

Alison Weir

Alison Weir is the top-selling female historian (and the fifth bestselling historian overall) in the United Kingdom, and has sold over 2.7 million books worldwide. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Sciences and an Honorary Life Patron of Historic Royal Palaces, and is married with two adult children. Anne Boleyn is the second in the Six Tudor Queens series of novels about the wives of Henry VIII, which began with Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen - a Sunday Times Top Ten bestseller.

Author photo © Miklos Csepely-Knorr

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

18th May 2017

Author

Alison Weir

More books by Alison Weir
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.alisonweir.org.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Hardback
544 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781472227621

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools