killer on the wall eleanor oliphant eligible curtis sittenfeld finding gobi Harry Potter House Eds
Search our site
They All Fall Down by Tammy Cohen Read the opening extract of the brand new Tammy Cohen book before its publication on 13/07/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Cutaway by Christina Kovac
  

The Cutaway

Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

April 2017 Debut of the Month.

A compelling and stylish psychological thriller from a fine new voice in crime fiction. Indomitable Virginia Knightly is a TV producer with a self-confessed attraction to the “unknowable”, which is how she comes to investigate the disappearance of thirty-year-old Evelyn Carney, a first year associate at a law firm with “ambition and a powerful appeal to men”. Evelyn vanished after walking out on her husband in a Washington restaurant and, while he seems to believe that she’s simply left him for someone else, this doesn’t add up. Why, for example, is Evelyn's case being handled by the C.I.D.? While dealing with complications in her personal life, Virginia’s hunger for the “unknowable” leads into career (and life) threatening danger when she uncovers a tangle of corruption among the elite of Washington’s politicians, press and police.

The author’s insider knowledge as a former crime and politics broadcast producer runs through the whole novel, infusing it with a deep sense of authenticity, and Kovac clearly has a flair for crafting characters you want to know more about. ~ Joanne Owen

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'So many twists and turns kept you alert to who you could believe and who you couldn’t. Nothing was predictable from start to finish.  I enjoyed it, maybe more than most, because so much rang true.'
  • Jennifer Moville - 'I loved this book although sometimes it had me gripped to the arm of the chair as I put myself into the role of the characters in the book - one I will definitely read again.'
  • Samantha Lewis - 'This was a fantastic read - I thoroughly enjoyed the story and pace of the book...Would definitely recommend and will be looking out for the authors next books!'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'The Cutaway starts off with a missing woman and becomes something else.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Good thriller, not the most compelling, but different approach as the investigator is a journalist not police detective.'
  • Nicki Southwell - 'This action packed thriller will keep you riveted until the end.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'I really enjoyed this well written page turning debut and look forward to Christina Kovac next novel.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up...perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.'
  • Janet Monks - 'A woman goes missing in the heart of Washington and TV producer Virginia endeavours to find out the truth.'

Synopsis

The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

It begins with someone else's story. The story of a woman who leaves a busy restaurant and disappears completely into the chilly spring night. Evelyn Carney is missing - but where did she go? Who was she meeting? And why did she take a weapon with her when she went? When brilliant TV producer Virginia Knightley finds Evelyn's missing person report on her desk, she becomes obsessed with finding out what happened that night. But her pursuit of the truth draws her deep into the power struggles and lies of Washington DC's elite - to face old demons and new enemies. A slick, gripping thriller that moves at the pace of breaking news, The Cutaway will keep your heart hammering until the final page.

Reviews

The Newsroom meets Gone Girl Cosmopolitan Breathless, twisty, and propulsive... a striking debut. -- Megan Abbott, author of You Will Know Me Relentless pace, a compelling story, a truly memorable protagonist. Terrific. -- Joseph Finder, New York Times Best-Selling Author of The Switch


About the Author

Christina Kovac

Christina Kovac worked for seventeen years managing Washington, DC newsrooms and producing crime and political stories in the District. Her career as television journalist began with Fox Five's Ten O'Clock News, and after that, the ABC affiliate in Washington. For the last nine years, she worked at NBC News, where she worked for Tim Russert and provided news coverage for Meet the Press, the Today show, Nightly News, and others. Christina Kovac lives with her family outside of Washington, DC. The Cutaway is her first novel.

Author photo © Tina Krohn

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

6th April 2017

Author

Christina Kovac

More books by Christina Kovac
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.christinakovac.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Serpent's Tail an imprint of Profile Books Ltd

Format

Hardback
320 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781781258828

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools