LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Mark Griffin - Author

About the Author

Mark Griffin began his writing career when he was a teenager, with three successive years of gold medal awards in the Hampshire Writing Festival. In 1996 he moved to Los Angeles, where he turned his attention to acting, script writing and development. After returning to England, Mark continued in this profession, and in April 2017 was shortlisted in the top five out of 3500 entrants in a national crime thriller writing competition sponsored by Random House Publishing and the Daily Mail for his debut, When Darkness Calls. When Darkness Calls is the first book in his crime thriller series starring criminal psychologist Holly Wakefield and DI Bishop of the Met Police.

Featured books by Mark Griffin

Other books by Mark Griffin

When Angels Sleep

When Angels Sleep

Author: Mark Griffin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/11/2019

'A thrilling new talent' Peter James The second thriller in the gritty and gripping Holly Wakefield series, perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell, Val McDermid, Robert Galbraith and the TV's Line of Duty and Luther. On a cold winter's morning, the body of a young boy is discovered in Epping Forest. The body is pristine and peaceful, his head resting gently on a pillow, an angel pendant clenched in his small fist. It is a murder as carefully planned as it is brutal, and there's one person DI Bishop needs back on his team to help solve such a calculated crime. Holly Wakefield, clinical psychologist for the Met Police, is better than anyone Bishop knows at getting inside the brain of psychopaths. But with the body count rising, it's going to take all Holly's strength to dive into the murky mind of someone who preys on young boys. And all Bishop's resolve to stop the serial killer before any more young angels are put to their rest . . . Praise for the Holly Wakefield thrillers: 'Mightily impressive . . . Deviously plotted, with a bleak thread of intriguing twists' Daily Mail 'Wow. I read this in less than a day. As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster! A fascinating lead character with a deliciously dark secret. It's the kind of writing which grabs you and won't let you go' Amy Lloyd, bestselling author of The Innocent Wife 'Meticulously plotted and devious in its execution, Mark Griffin's debut novel is utterly compelling. I can't wait to read the rest of the Holly Wakefield series' Lesley Kara, bestselling author of The Rumour

All That Heaven Allows A Biography of Rock Hudson

All That Heaven Allows A Biography of Rock Hudson

Author: Mark Griffin Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/12/2018

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE The definitive biography of the deeply complex and widely misunderstood matinee idol of Hollywood's Golden Age. Devastatingly handsome, broad-shouldered and clean-cut, Rock Hudson was the ultimate movie star. The embodiment of romantic masculinity in American film throughout the `50s and `60s, Hudson reigned supreme as the king of Hollywood. As an Oscar-nominated leading man, Hudson won acclaim for his performances in glossy melodramas (Magnificent Obsession), western epics (Giant) and blockbuster bedroom farces (Pillow Talk). In the `70s and `80s, Hudson successfully transitioned to television; his long-running series McMillan & Wife and a recurring role on Dynasty introduced him to a whole new generation of fans. The icon worshipped by moviegoers and beloved by his colleagues appeared to have it all. Yet beneath the suave and commanding star persona, there was an insecure, deeply conflicted, and all too vulnerable human being. Growing up poor in Winnetka, Illinois, Hudson was abandoned by his biological father, abused by an alcoholic stepfather, and controlled by his domineering mother. Despite seemingly insurmountable obstacles, Hudson was determined to become an actor at all costs. After signing with the powerful but predatory agent Henry Willson, the young hopeful was transformed from a clumsy, tongue-tied truck driver into Universal Studio's resident Adonis. In a more conservative era, Hudson's wholesome, straight arrow screen image was at odds with his closeted homosexuality. As a result of his gay relationships and clandestine affairs, Hudson was continually threatened with public exposure, not only by scandal sheets like Confidential but by a number of his own partners. For years, Hudson dodged questions concerning his private life, but in 1985 the public learned that the actor was battling AIDS. The disclosure that such a revered public figure had contracted the illness focused worldwide attention on the epidemic. Drawing on more than 100 interviews with co-stars, family members and former companions, All That Heaven Allows finally delivers a complete and nuanced portrait of one of the most fascinating stars in cinema history. Author Mark Griffin provides new details concerning Hudson's troubled relationships with wife Phyllis Gates and boyfriend Marc Christian. And here, for the first time, is an in-depth exploration of Hudson's classic films, including Written on the Wind, A Farewell to Arms, and the cult favorite Seconds. With unprecedented access to private journals, personal correspondence, and production files, Griffin pays homage to the idol whose life and death had a lasting impact on American culture.

When Darkness Calls A dark and twisty serial killer thriller

When Darkness Calls A dark and twisty serial killer thriller

Author: Mark Griffin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/2018

'A thrilling new talent' Peter James 'Utterly compelling' Lesley Kara, bestselling author of The Rumour 'Wow . . . As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster!' Amy Lloyd, bestselling author of The Innocent Wife 'Mightily impressive . . . Deviously plotted . . . intriguing twists' Daily Mail ***LONGLISTED FOR THE 2019 CWA DEBUT DAGGER AWARD*** Holly Wakefield works for the NHS as a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers. She has particular reason to be good at her job - but she keeps that to herself. When DI Bishop from the Met Police approaches Holly to investigate a recent killing, Holly is horrified by the dismembered bodies and the way they have been theatrically positioned. More shocking still is when the pathologist reveals this is not the first time she has seen these mutilations. It means a serial killer is out there, and they're going to kill again - soon. Holly is used to chasing serial killers. But this killer has something in common with Holly that she's kept hidden for as long as she can remember. And for the first time since she was a child, Holly is forced to face the darkness of her past... The first book in a bestselling new serial killer series. For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Val McDermid, Robert Galbraith and the TV's Luther and Line of Duty. ***Pre-order Mark Griffin's second novel, When Angels Sleep, in the bestselling Holly Wakefield series now*** What readers are saying about When Darkness Calls: 'Gripping, shocking, nail biting!' Reader review, 5 stars 'A must read book!' Reader review, 5 stars 'Outstanding' Reader review, 5 stars 'A moving, intense rollercoaster!' Reader review, 5 stars 'You have to read this book!' Reader review, 5 stars 'Brilliant . . . you won't want to put it down' Reader review, 5 stars 'Compulsive' Reader review, 5 stars 'Couldn't put it down!' Reader review, 5 stars 'I was glued to this cover to cover' Reader review, 5 stars

Cathar Prophecy

Cathar Prophecy

Author: Mark Griffin Format: eBook Release Date: 13/03/2013

They had no holy book, they had no church, they worshipped in fields and forests, men and women were treated as equals, and though they were known as 'perfects', the Cathars were hunted to extinction in the name of God. In the winter of 1243 the last two hundred perfects were forced to retreat with their treasure to their final sanctuary and the seat of their Church of God, the impregnable castle in the foothills of the Pyrenees called Montsgur. The Cathar Prophecy tells the extraordinary story of their last stand. It tells of Arnaud de Blanchfort, the dispossessed Knight of St John who stood with them and the 'perfects' who changed his life forever.

Hundred or More Hidden Things

Hundred or More Hidden Things

Author: Mark Griffin Format: eBook Release Date: 09/03/2010

He was the acclaimed director of such cinematic classics as Meet Me in St. Louis, An American in Paris, and Gigi, and equally well known for his tumultuous marriage to the legendary Judy Garland. But to say that Vincente Minnelli's conflicted personal life informed his films would be an understatement. As Mark Griffin persuasively demonstrates in this definitive biography of the Academy Awardwinning director, Minnelli was not only building a remarkable Hollywood legacy, but also creating an intriguing autobiography in code. Drawing on more than 100 interviews with such icons as Kirk Douglas, Angela Lansbury, Lauren Bacall, Tony Curtis, and George Hamilton, Griffin turns the spotlight on the enigmatic ';elegant director,' revealing long-kept secrets at the heart of Minnelli's genius.

Logan County

Logan County

Author: Mark Griffin Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/11/2006

Logan County

Logan County

Author: Mark Griffin Format: eBook Release Date: 08/11/2006

As one of Kentucky's oldest counties, Logan County has a colorful history. Residents found religion at the Red River Meeting House during the Second Great Awakening. However, the land once known as Rogue's Harbor has been wrought with lawlessness. Visitors to the county today can tour the bank in the county seat of Russellville where the infamous Jesse James started his robbing spree in 1868. Tourists and residents alike are regaled with stories of a dueling Andrew Jackson and countless corrupt elections. Four men went on to become governors, while a fifth attempt fell short despite an infamous campaign. All of these things are documented in Images of America: Logan County along with the less controversial events in history: the everyday farmers who raised their cash crop of tobacco to contribute to a growing community and the establishment of the most southwestern of the Shaker communities at South Union.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more