reading groups i found you lisa jewel when the sky fell apart orange blossom days killer on the wall
Vouchers


Shtum by Jem Lester
  

Shtum

Family Drama   Debuts of the Month   Literary Fiction   Reading Groups   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

February 2017 Debut of the Month.

A rather special read indeed… there are times when you wonder how you've missed sight of, or hearing about a book, and for me this is one of them. This is a treat, a heartbreaking, funny, eye-opening, jam-packed full of love treat. Ben shares his story as he literally battles to place his autistic son Jonah, into what he considers is the right school. Ben and Jonah move in with Ben’s dad and we see what life is like for these three men as their worlds revolve around each other. Jem Lester writes with experience, yet he adds bittersweet, aching emotion, biting wit, and a lightness of touch that manages to skim joyfully across the pages. Letters from social services, the school, medical information, and receipts all find their way into the book, often bringing me up short and creating a link to the authenticity of the situation. ‘Shtum’ is brave, bold, and wonderful, it made me cry, rage, and laugh, and I loved every single beautiful second of it. ~ Liz Robinson

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 2 May 2017. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 14 May 2017.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 02/05/2017

Synopsis

Shtum by Jem Lester

'Will make you laugh, make you cry, and make you think' Graeme Simsion Funny, moving and uplifting, SHTUM is a novel about three generations of a family learning how to get along. Ten-year-old Jonah lives in a world of his own. He likes colours and feathers and the feel of fresh air on his skin. He dislikes sudden loud noises and any change to his daily routine. Jonah has never spoken, yet somehow he communicates better than all of the adults in his life. 'Fiercely funny ...an unforgettable first novel' The Times 'A book with true heart and soul' Joanna Cannon, author of The Trouble With Goats and Sheep Inspired by the author's experiences with his own son, SHTUM will make you laugh, cry and smile. A must-read for fans of David Nicholls, THE ROSIE PROJECT and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME. What readers are saying about this heartwarming book from Jem Lester: 'This book has gone onto my all-time favourite list' 'This is a book that will stay with me for a very long time.' 'I cried my heart out.' 'A gripping and emotional story.' 'Brilliant humour.' 'Extremely moving.'

Reviews

'A darker, sadder version of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, but just as moving' OBSERVER

'Jem Lester writes so beautifully, it feels as if you're eavesdropping on a conversation. Shtum is a book with true heart and soul, and I loved every word'
Joanna Cannon, author of THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP

'Angry and fiercely funny... The ending tears the heart out; this is an unforgettable first novel' THE TIMES

'This is the literary territory of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby, infused with the Jewish humour of Howard Jacobson and Shalom Auslander ... an impressive novel that gives a very accurate portrayal of the struggles some families of autistic children endure, while taking the reader on an exhilarating roller coaster ride between pathos, comedy and anger' GUARDIAN

'Moving and, at times, painfully sad, Lester's account is also darkly funny. It is an important reminder of the complex spectrum of human emotion, and a profound insight into an often misunderstood disorder' STYLIST

'Powerful, unapologetic and deeply moving, Jem Lester mines a hard-hitting story to discover dark humour and surprising warmth. It's a book that breaks your heart but ultimately uplifts. A simply stunning novel' -- Miranda Dickinson

About the Author

Jem Lester

Jem Lester was a journalist for nine years and saw the Berlin Wall fall in 1989 - and though there, he denies personal responsibility. He was also the last journalist to interview the legendary Fred Zinnemann, before the director died. He denies responsibility for that too. He taught English and Media studies at secondary schools for nine years. Jem has two children, one of whom is profoundly autistic, and for them he accepts total responsibility. He lives in London with his partner and her two children. Jem's first novel, Shtum, won the 2013 PFD/City University Prize for Fiction.

Author photo © Catherine Ercilla

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th January 2017

Author

Jem Lester

More books by Jem Lester
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
336 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Debuts of the Month
Literary Fiction
Reading Groups
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781409162988

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools