rebus 30th anniversary lovereading canvas bags join us on facebook make the most of Lovereading twitter
Vouchers


The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater
  

The Forgotten Summer

Family Drama   Literary Fiction   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

Seductively beautiful and evocative writing ensures ‘The Forgotten Summer’ is hard to put down. A vineyard in France holds the key to secrets and lies that have been hidden in history. 48 year old Jane finds herself torn, she is desperate for the truth, yet afraid of what she might discover as she explores the mystery surrounding her husband’s family. There were times when the vivid descriptions of the vineyard almost planted me in the fertile soil, allowing an emotional connection with the surroundings. The story seeps under your skin, there is a gentleness to the writing, interspersed with occasionally intense, slicing moments. As you read, you may have your suspicions, in fact Carol Drinkwater encourages your thoughts to explore further afield, helping you to empathise with Jane. Set aside some quality reading time as this is a lovely and entirely captivating, richly bittersweet tale. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Maz Tucker - 'Great book, really well written. This is a great sorry with lots of twists and turns.'
  • Trilby Humphryes - 'From the heady heights of the warm inviting opening chapters to the lows of the dark dreary days in wet Paris, The Forgotten Summer’ pulls you into its story with beautiful and emotive writing. '
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'The Forgotten Summer instantly transported me to France and a way of life I had seen many times but long forgotten...it does seem a very well researched story and reminded me of those written by Victoria Hislop.'
  • Jennifer Moville - 'A great novel to get your teeth into - all is not what it seems and reading each page makes you want to know more and find out who, why, where and when.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'I knew from very early on that I was going to enjoy this story as the writing is simply beautiful...Highly recommend!'
  • Cathy Small - 'This story starts in the realms of running a successful vineyard in the south of France into the unsettling story of a family that has secrets that cause resentful feelings.'
  • Hannah Ward - 'I think this is a book to enjoy at any time of the year. But I think it is best read in the evening with a nice big glass of wine.'
  • Carrie Johnson - 'Sun, wine & a mystery set in Provence, the perfect holiday read!'
  • Ann Peet - 'Intriguing, atmospheric novel of family secrets set in Provence.'
  • Nicola Edwards - 'A beautiful, atmospheric story of loss, family drama and mystery.'
  • Pauline Braisher - 'Carol's love of Provence shines through in the evocative descriptions of the Provencal countryside and way of life. The characters are well-drawn and the story is interesting, with a few unexpected twists.'
  • Angie Rhodes - ' I really enjoyed the tense story… and the secret? Well let's just say it was not what I was expecting!!' 
  • Kirsty McGowan - 'An exquisite atmospheric story of family drama, loss and mystery. The characterisation is excellent particularly the women, Jane’s emotions are raw and felt throughout.'
  • Susan Mooney - 'Splendid -Splendid -Splendid! A Fabulous Read.'
  • Melanie Kane - 'This novel was beautifully written and so descriptive which really ensured I felt part of the story line.'
  • Julie Bertschin - 'The Cambon family is shrouded in mystery, considered outsiders in their community, keeping themselves apart.  Their hidden history is slowly revealed; their secrets and lies. Tantalising reading.'
  • Julie Bickerdyke - 'A thoughtful story set in scenic France in a family vineyard.  A story spanning decades with twists and turns to keep you guessing.'

Win tickets to the Borders Book Festival!

Borders Book Festival 2017 logo

We have 4 tickets (2 pairs) to give away to one lucky winner to attend two Walter Scott Prize events taking place at the Baillie Gifford Borders Book Festival on Saturday 17 June 2017. One pair of tickets is for a panel event with shortlisted authors, and the other is for the Prize event in which the winner is announced and presented. Click here to find out more about the Borders Book Festival.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once and the prize cannot be exchanged for cash and does not include transport or accommodation. Draw closes on 2 May 2017. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 14 May 2017.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 02/05/2017

Synopsis

The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater

'Secrets, tragedy, hidden pasts and family secrets all set in glorious Provence - I loved this' Santa Montefiore Secrets ripen and fester over a long sweltering summer in France ...The annual grape harvest at the Cambon family's magnificent vineyard is always a cause for celebration. But not this year. When an accident destroys the crop, leaving the estate facing ruin, Clarisse Cambon knows exactly who to blame - her daughter-in-law Jane. It's just the latest incident in a decades-long feud whose origin both women have concealed from Luc, who struggles to keep his wife and mother on speaking terms. But is Luc the saint he appears to be? When tragedy strikes, Jane is thrown into doubt. What secrets has her husband been keeping? Forced to take charge of the ailing vineyard, Jane uncovers further proof that Luc may not be the man she fell in love with twenty years ago. And, worse still, she knows that her old enemy Clarisse is the only one who knows the truth ...For fans of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop, The Forgotten Summer is an atmospheric tale of secrets, forbidden passion and heartbreak.

Reviews

'Secrets, tragedy, hidden pasts and family secrets all set in glorious Provence - I loved this' Santa Montefiore

'A lovely book packed with the sunshine, scents and savours of the South of France. Plenty of page-turning drama but also mouthwatering descriptions of Paris and Provence. Enough to make you rush straight to the Eurostar' Daily Mail

'Gripping' Candis

About the Author

Carol Drinkwater

Carol Drinkwater was our Guest Editor in May 2011 - click here - to see the books that inspired her writing.

Best known for her role as Helen Herriot in BBC Television's All Creatures Great and Small (for which she was awarded The Variety Club Television Personality of the Year Award), Carol Drinkwater has enjoyed a long and distinguished career as both an actress and writer.

During her acting career she has worked in film, television and theatre. Her credits include working with Laurence Olivier at the National Theatre and Stanley Kubrick on A Clockwork Orange.

Carol is the author of six bestselling memoirs: The Olive Farm, The Olive Season, The Olive Harvest, The Olive Route and The Olive Tree and Return to the Olive Farm.

Carol is currently working with UNESCO on a lavish documentary film series inspired by her two most recent books, THE OLIVE ROUTE and THE OLIVE TREE.

The series is both travel and history based and will follow an Olive Heritage Trail around the Mediterranean Basin. The aim is to celebrate the cultural heritage of this sacred tree.

Author Photo © Michel Noll

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th September 2016

Author

Carol Drinkwater

More books by Carol Drinkwater
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.caroldrinkwater.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Literary Fiction
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781405924146

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools