debuts of the month finding gobi eleanor oliphant desmond elliott 2017 granchester

The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater
  

The Forgotten Summer

Family Drama   Literary Fiction   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Seductively beautiful and evocative writing ensures ‘The Forgotten Summer’ is hard to put down. A vineyard in France holds the key to secrets and lies that have been hidden in history. 48 year old Jane finds herself torn, she is desperate for the truth, yet afraid of what she might discover as she explores the mystery surrounding her husband’s family. There were times when the vivid descriptions of the vineyard almost planted me in the fertile soil, allowing an emotional connection with the surroundings. The story seeps under your skin, there is a gentleness to the writing, interspersed with occasionally intense, slicing moments. As you read, you may have your suspicions, in fact Carol Drinkwater encourages your thoughts to explore further afield, helping you to empathise with Jane. Set aside some quality reading time as this is a lovely and entirely captivating, richly bittersweet tale. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Maz Tucker - 'Great book, really well written. This is a great sorry with lots of twists and turns.'
  • Trilby Humphryes - 'From the heady heights of the warm inviting opening chapters to the lows of the dark dreary days in wet Paris, The Forgotten Summer’ pulls you into its story with beautiful and emotive writing. '
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'The Forgotten Summer instantly transported me to France and a way of life I had seen many times but long forgotten...it does seem a very well researched story and reminded me of those written by Victoria Hislop.'
  • Jennifer Moville - 'A great novel to get your teeth into - all is not what it seems and reading each page makes you want to know more and find out who, why, where and when.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'I knew from very early on that I was going to enjoy this story as the writing is simply beautiful...Highly recommend!'
  • Cathy Small - 'This story starts in the realms of running a successful vineyard in the south of France into the unsettling story of a family that has secrets that cause resentful feelings.'
  • Hannah Ward - 'I think this is a book to enjoy at any time of the year. But I think it is best read in the evening with a nice big glass of wine.'
  • Carrie Johnson - 'Sun, wine & a mystery set in Provence, the perfect holiday read!'
  • Ann Peet - 'Intriguing, atmospheric novel of family secrets set in Provence.'
  • Nicola Edwards - 'A beautiful, atmospheric story of loss, family drama and mystery.'
  • Pauline Braisher - 'Carol's love of Provence shines through in the evocative descriptions of the Provencal countryside and way of life. The characters are well-drawn and the story is interesting, with a few unexpected twists.'
  • Angie Rhodes - ' I really enjoyed the tense story… and the secret? Well let's just say it was not what I was expecting!!' 
  • Kirsty McGowan - 'An exquisite atmospheric story of family drama, loss and mystery. The characterisation is excellent particularly the women, Jane’s emotions are raw and felt throughout.'
  • Susan Mooney - 'Splendid -Splendid -Splendid! A Fabulous Read.'
  • Melanie Kane - 'This novel was beautifully written and so descriptive which really ensured I felt part of the story line.'
  • Julie Bertschin - 'The Cambon family is shrouded in mystery, considered outsiders in their community, keeping themselves apart.  Their hidden history is slowly revealed; their secrets and lies. Tantalising reading.'
  • Julie Bickerdyke - 'A thoughtful story set in scenic France in a family vineyard.  A story spanning decades with twists and turns to keep you guessing.'

Synopsis

The Forgotten Summer by Carol Drinkwater

'Secrets, tragedy, hidden pasts and family secrets all set in glorious Provence - I loved this' Santa Montefiore Secrets ripen and fester over a long sweltering summer in France ...The annual grape harvest at the Cambon family's magnificent vineyard is always a cause for celebration. But not this year. When an accident destroys the crop, leaving the estate facing ruin, Clarisse Cambon knows exactly who to blame - her daughter-in-law Jane. It's just the latest incident in a decades-long feud whose origin both women have concealed from Luc, who struggles to keep his wife and mother on speaking terms. But is Luc the saint he appears to be? When tragedy strikes, Jane is thrown into doubt. What secrets has her husband been keeping? Forced to take charge of the ailing vineyard, Jane uncovers further proof that Luc may not be the man she fell in love with twenty years ago. And, worse still, she knows that her old enemy Clarisse is the only one who knows the truth ...For fans of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop, The Forgotten Summer is an atmospheric tale of secrets, forbidden passion and heartbreak.

Reviews

'Secrets, tragedy, hidden pasts and family secrets all set in glorious Provence - I loved this' Santa Montefiore

'A lovely book packed with the sunshine, scents and savours of the South of France. Plenty of page-turning drama but also mouthwatering descriptions of Paris and Provence. Enough to make you rush straight to the Eurostar' Daily Mail

'Gripping' Candis

About the Author

Carol Drinkwater

Carol Drinkwater was our Guest Editor in May 2011 - click here - to see the books that inspired her writing.

Carol Drinkwater is a multi-award-winning actress who is best known for her portrayal of Helen Herriot in the BBC television series All Creatures Great and Small. She is also the author of over twenty books, both fiction and non-fiction. Her quartet of memoirs set on her olive farm in the south of France have sold over a million copies worldwide and her solo journey round the Mediterranean in search of the Olive tree's mythical secrets inspired a five-part documentary film series, The Olive Route. Carol lives in the south of France where she is writing her next novel.

Author Photo © Michel Noll

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th September 2016

Author

Carol Drinkwater

More books by Carol Drinkwater
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.caroldrinkwater.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Literary Fiction
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781405924146

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools