desmond elliott 2017 win prizes
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Behind the Throne by K. B. Wagers
  

Behind the Throne

Part of the The Indranan War Series
Science Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Lovereading view...

This is Katy Wagers’ first novel and if there’s any justice it promises a successful and entertaining career to come. This is dark and exciting character-driven space-opera SF perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Elizabeth Bear. There’s enough action here to satisfy a fan of Guardians of the Galaxy and, interestingly, enough dynastic shenanigans to please a fan of Game of Thrones.

When we first meet pirate-cum-gunrunner Hail Bristol on her damaged ship, she is nearly dead, and laying in a pool of (other people’s) blood. She has been hunted down by a deadly set of twin trackers. They have news, not a death warrant. We learn that Hail is the daughter of the Imperial family and Hail learns that her sisters have just been killed. This means she is now heir to the Empire and next in line for the trouble her sisters met. What sets this apart from just another space adventure is Hail’s inner life. You might expect such a heroine to be rebellious and skilled (and indeed she is) but Wager adds to this a hugely engaging and complex relationship between Hail, her family, her previous life and the new demands meeting her. She was no fan of her family but she wants justice. She wanted out of royal life but she won’t shirk responsibility. We follow her dilemmas and her challenges and these are every bit as gripping as the book’s breakneck plot. Add some very witty dialogue and you have a very confident, very entertaining SF novel. ~ Simon Spanton

Synopsis

Behind the Throne by K. B. Wagers

Meet Hail: Captain. Gunrunner. Fugitive. Quick, sarcastic, and lethal, Hailimi Bristol doesn't suffer fools gladly. She has made a name for herself in the galaxy for everything except what she was born to do: rule the Indranan Empire. That is, until two Trackers drag her back to her home planet to take her rightful place as the only remaining heir. But trading her ship for a palace has more dangers than Hail could have anticipated. Caught in a web of plots and assassination attempts, Hail can't do the one thing she did twenty years ago: run away. She'll have to figure out who murdered her sisters if she wants to survive. A gun smuggler inherits the throne in this Star Wars-style science fiction adventure from debut author K. B. Wagers.

Reviews

Behind The Throne is a politically charged and action-packed story, with a commanding woman at it's centre. It's a wonderful start to a promising new sci-fi series -- SciFi Now This is the kind of book which promises non-stop action and delivers wholeheartedly, with the prose structured to fit a fast-flowing plot -- Starburst Taut suspense, strong characterization, and dark, rapid-fire humor are the highlights of this excellent SF adventure debut -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) A fast-paced space opera with some great characters and an even better world * The Verge * Wagers's debut is full of fast-paced action and brutal palace intrigue, starring the fiercest princess this side of Westeros * Barnes and Noble SFF Blog * I can hardly wait for the sequel. I could use more fun space opera -- Liz Bourke for LOCUS Reminiscent of Star Wars, author K.B. Wagers has created a futuristic world that mixes classic monarchical structures with fantastical tech in a most natural way * RT Book Reviews * This debut ranks among the best political sf novels in years * Library Joiurnal (starred review) * Taut suspense, strong characterization, and dark, rapid-fire humor are the highlights of this excellent SF adventure debut * Publishers Weekly (starred review) * Follows in the tradition of Ann Leckie's Ancillary series to produce a fast-paced story of political intrigue andgender issues held together by a tight plot and a cast of sympathetic characters. Behind the Throne is thought-provoking entertainment and great fun * GUARDIAN *


About the Author

K. B. Wagers has a bachelor's degree in Russian Studies and her nonfiction writing has earned her two Air Force Space Command media contest awards. A native of Colorado, she lives at the base of the Rocky Mountains with her husband and son. In between books, she can be found playing in the mud, running on trails, dancing to music, and scribbling on spare bits of paper.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th August 2016

Author

K. B. Wagers

More books by K. B. Wagers
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orbit an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Science Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Science fiction

ISBN

9780356508016

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools