second sister granchester win prizes
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
Watching Edie by Camilla Way
  

Watching Edie

Thriller / Suspense   Books of the Month   Books of the Year 2016   Crime / Mystery   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £10.00

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

August 2016 Book of the Month.

In alternating chapters headed “Before” and “After” and narrated by both Heather and Edie, this is one truly compulsive read. Menace hangs over the whole thing. “Before” was seventeen years ago when the girls became friends and some dreadful mystery occurred. “After” is the present, they had lost touch and are now reunited where some equally dark secret hovers. All parts of the many mysteries are drip fed to us in tantalising drops. Who, in this obsessive friendship, is good, who bad? One of them is certainly manipulative and suffocating but it is the other who appears to be the betrayer. So we swing back and forth as each mystery gets darker and the atmosphere grows deeper but still we do not know what happened all those years ago. Its major fault is that it is over all too soon! Highly recommended. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Camilla Way you might also like to read books by Paula Hawkins, Alice Sebold and Rosamund Lupton.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Suzanne Marsh - 'breathless, intense and shocking. Watching Edie is a dark tale of obsession, lies and betrayal. This chilling novel, you just can't miss.'
  • Helen Appleby - 'This is a brilliant psychological thriller that had me hooked until the end. If you liked The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl or The Ice Twins then you must read this.'
  • Sheila Dale - 'A gripping page turner, well written and good characters.'
  • Janet Lambert - 'This book left me reeling I felt as though I’d been punched in the gut and I recommend it unreservedly if you like people based, emotional stories with plenty of twists and turns. An awesome read.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Read this in a day - had to find out what event severed completely the friendship of two girls - best friends at school and, in adult hood, why one so desperately wanted to exit her friends life...Brilliant psychological thriller that truly only delivers the answer at the very end.'
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'Wow! this was the most gripping, disturbing psychological thriller that I have read.'
  • Natasha Motton - 'Compelling tale of obsession, lies and betrayal.'
  • Jacqui Passfield - 'Fantastically gripping -this book is a real page-turner, I genuinely couldn´t put it down.'
  • Beverley Davenport - 'Reading this book was like travelling on a train, with insights into strengths and weaknesses, cruelties and compassions exposed...rolling along the pages at an increasing pace as the final destination, the dark secret...hurtled rapidly closer and are ultimately laid bare.'
  • Alison Bisping - 'I loved this – one of those books you struggle to put down and you stay up late to finish reading!  I definitely did not guess the ending.'
  • Cleo Bannister - 'This is one book that has a menacing edge right from the first to the very last page; a psychological thriller you won't want to miss!'
  • Sarah Harper - 'A sinister psychological tale that ramps up the suspense from the outset. Very cleverly constructed with narratives from ‘before’ and ‘after’ the event, this is an addictive read.'
  • Nicola Lowes - 'An absorbing read with an unexpected twist in the end. A page turner.'
  • Clare Turner - 'This gripping novel, full of menace and pain, plays with your mind and poses questions that remain with you.'
  • Julie Bertschin - 'A gripping story exploring the pure intensity of emotions in teenage lives, and how tumultuous fractured friendships can be. This story kept me on the edge of my seat.'
  • Tracey Poulter - 'Watching Edie is a story about friendship, love, obsession, control and betrayal.'

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Watching Edie by Camilla Way

A chilling psychological thriller about friendship, deception, betrayal and violence. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON A TRAIN and GONE GIRL. Beautiful, creative, a little wild - Edie caused a stir when she walked into Heather's life. Back when they both had dreams for the future. Before it all went horribly, terrifyingly wrong...Years later Edie is pregnant and alone, desperately trying to rebuild her life. But someone's been watching her, waiting for the chance to prove what a perfect friend she can be. It's no coincidence that Heather shows up just when Edie needs her the most. A dark secret lies between them and Edie's about to learn that those who have hurt us deeply-or who we have hurt-never let us go...

Reviews

'Dark, debut novel about why you should never turn your back on a best friend'
Red Magazine

'Who's good? Who's evil? Those questions are at the heart of Watching Edie, a taut, tricky suspense novel that drops secrets in all the right places. As she explores the heart of a dark female friendship, Camilla Way twists her way to an original ending that rings with truth.'
Julia Heaberlin, bestselling author of Black

-Eyed Susans 'Watching Edie has a clever plot, a fateful friendship, a callous betrayal, and an ending that is as twisty as it is inevitable - it's all there!
Alexandra Burt, international bestselling author of Little Girl Gone

'Wonderful - one of those novels that sucks you in and doesn't let go for a moment. Way brings a powerful new voice to the psychological thriller genre that promises much for the future.'
Alex Marwood, bestselling author of The Wicked Girls and The Killer Next Door

Praise for Camilla Way:

'Prepare to be gripped by this brilliantly haunting novel'
Grazia

'A modern day classic in the making'
Dazed

& Confused 'A beautifully written descent into darkness
Glamour

'So addictive you'll devour it in one greedy gulp'
Cosmopolitan

'An amazing debut'
New Woman

'This compelling psychological thriller is a real hair-raising read thanks to the gritty realistic writing'
She magazine

About the Author

Camilla Way

Camilla Way was born in Greenwich, south-east London in 1973. Her father was the poet and author Peter Way. After attending Woolwich College she studied modern English and French literature at the University of Glamorgan. Formerly Associate Editor of the teenage girls' magazine Bliss, she is currently an editor and writer on the men's style magazine Arena. Having lived in Cardiff, Bristol, Bath and Clerkenwell, she now lives in south-east London.

Author photo © Philippa Gedge

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

28th July 2016

Author

Camilla Way

More books by Camilla Way
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
304 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Books of the Month
Books of the Year 2016
Crime / Mystery
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780008159016

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools