Watching Edie

by Camilla Way

Books of the Month - <b>May</b> Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Relationship Stories Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Watching Edie

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

August 2016 Book of the Month.

In alternating chapters headed “Before” and “After” and narrated by both Heather and Edie, this is one truly compulsive read. Menace hangs over the whole thing. “Before” was seventeen years ago when the girls became friends and some dreadful mystery occurred. “After” is the present, they had lost touch and are now reunited where some equally dark secret hovers. All parts of the many mysteries are drip fed to us in tantalising drops. Who, in this obsessive friendship, is good, who bad? One of them is certainly manipulative and suffocating but it is the other who appears to be the betrayer. So we swing back and forth as each mystery gets darker and the atmosphere grows deeper but still we do not know what happened all those years ago. Its major fault is that it is over all too soon! Highly recommended.

Sarah Broadhurst

Watching Edie Synopsis

A chilling psychological thriller about friendship, deception, betrayal and violence. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON A TRAIN and GONE GIRL. Beautiful, creative, a little wild - Edie caused a stir when she walked into Heather's life. Back when they both had dreams for the future. Before it all went horribly, terrifyingly wrong...Years later Edie is pregnant and alone, desperately trying to rebuild her life. But someone's been watching her, waiting for the chance to prove what a perfect friend she can be. It's no coincidence that Heather shows up just when Edie needs her the most. A dark secret lies between them and Edie's about to learn that those who have hurt us deeply-or who we have hurt-never let us go...

Watching Edie Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Suzanne Marsh - 'breathless, intense and shocking. Watching Edie is a dark tale of obsession, lies and betrayal. This chilling novel, you just can't miss.'
  • Helen Appleby - 'This is a brilliant psychological thriller that had me hooked until the end. If you liked The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl or The Ice Twins then you must read this.'
  • Sheila Dale - 'A gripping page turner, well written and good characters.'
  • Janet Lambert - 'This book left me reeling I felt as though I’d been punched in the gut and I recommend it unreservedly if you like people based, emotional stories with plenty of twists and turns. An awesome read.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Read this in a day - had to find out what event severed completely the friendship of two girls - best friends at school and, in adult hood, why one so desperately wanted to exit her friends life...Brilliant psychological thriller that truly only delivers the answer at the very end.'
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'Wow! this was the most gripping, disturbing psychological thriller that I have read.'
  • Natasha Motton - 'Compelling tale of obsession, lies and betrayal.'
  • Jacqui Passfield - 'Fantastically gripping -this book is a real page-turner, I genuinely couldn´t put it down.'
  • Beverley Davenport - 'Reading this book was like travelling on a train, with insights into strengths and weaknesses, cruelties and compassions exposed...rolling along the pages at an increasing pace as the final destination, the dark secret...hurtled rapidly closer and are ultimately laid bare.'
  • Alison Bisping - 'I loved this – one of those books you struggle to put down and you stay up late to finish reading!  I definitely did not guess the ending.'
  • Cleo Bannister - 'This is one book that has a menacing edge right from the first to the very last page; a psychological thriller you won't want to miss!'
  • Sarah Harper - 'A sinister psychological tale that ramps up the suspense from the outset. Very cleverly constructed with narratives from ‘before’ and ‘after’ the event, this is an addictive read.'
  • Nicola Lowes - 'An absorbing read with an unexpected twist in the end. A page turner.'
  • Clare Turner - 'This gripping novel, full of menace and pain, plays with your mind and poses questions that remain with you.'
  • Julie Bertschin - 'A gripping story exploring the pure intensity of emotions in teenage lives, and how tumultuous fractured friendships can be. This story kept me on the edge of my seat.'
  • Tracey Poulter - 'Watching Edie is a story about friendship, love, obsession, control and betrayal.'

Watching Edie Press Reviews

'Dark, debut novel about why you should never turn your back on a best friend'
Red Magazine

'Who's good? Who's evil? Those questions are at the heart of Watching Edie, a taut, tricky suspense novel that drops secrets in all the right places. As she explores the heart of a dark female friendship, Camilla Way twists her way to an original ending that rings with truth.'
Julia Heaberlin, bestselling author of Black

-Eyed Susans 'Watching Edie has a clever plot, a fateful friendship, a callous betrayal, and an ending that is as twisty as it is inevitable - it's all there!
Alexandra Burt, international bestselling author of Little Girl Gone

'Wonderful - one of those novels that sucks you in and doesn't let go for a moment. Way brings a powerful new voice to the psychological thriller genre that promises much for the future.'
Alex Marwood, bestselling author of The Wicked Girls and The Killer Next Door

Praise for Camilla Way:

'Prepare to be gripped by this brilliantly haunting novel'
Grazia

'A modern day classic in the making'
Dazed

& Confused 'A beautifully written descent into darkness
Glamour

'So addictive you'll devour it in one greedy gulp'
Cosmopolitan

'An amazing debut'
New Woman

'This compelling psychological thriller is a real hair-raising read thanks to the gritty realistic writing'
She magazine

If you loved this, you might like these...

Into the Water
Small Great Things
Into the Water
Everything You Told Me

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008159016
Publication date: 28/07/2016
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008159016
Publication date: 28th July 2016
Author: Camilla Way
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 304 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Relationship Stories, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Crime & mystery,

About Camilla Way

Camilla Way was born in Greenwich, south-east London in 1973. Her father was the poet and author Peter Way. After attending Woolwich College she studied modern English and French literature at the University of Glamorgan. Formerly Associate Editor of the teenage girls' magazine Bliss, she is currently an editor and writer on the men's style magazine Arena. Having lived in Cardiff, Bristol, Bath and Clerkenwell, she now lives in south-east London. Author photo © Philippa Gedge

More About Camilla Way

More Books By Camilla Way

Cover for Watching Edie by Camilla Way
Cover for The Dead of Summer by Camilla Way
View All Books By Camilla Way

Share this book