Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

book price comparison win prizes
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Invitation by Lucy Foley
  

The Invitation

Romantic Fiction   Historical Fiction   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A sophisticated, expressive, and emotional story set in the glamorous Italian film promotion world of the 1950’s. Hal and Stella meet at a party, an immediate connection flares into life, yet the spectre of war holds both in a devastating grip. The story in the present focuses on Hal, on the journey he takes with the other fascinating and intriguing characters. Occasionally Stella allows Hal a glimpse of her past. Told in the first person, as the described events are happening, creates a separation from the intimacy of the confession, and ensures the innermost being of Stella remains hidden. A 16th century journal finds it’s way into Hal’s hands, as the story takes it’s hold on him, the feelings it evokes begin to combine with the present, creating an undercurrent of unease and tension. Lucy Foley balances a fine silky edge between serenity and passion, her writing caresses obsession, fear, strength and hope. ‘The Invitation’ gently takes hold and becomes a beautifully poignant, yet seductive and heady delight of a read. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Lucy Foley you might also like to read books by Victoria Hislop, Kate Morton and Katherine Webb.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Victoria Whish - 'Please accept this invitation to a wonderfully beguiling summer read set on the Italian coast in the 1950’s. It’s a love story with a twist that you won’t see coming.'
  • Emily Wright - 'The Invitation is a heady combination of mystery and romance. Picturesque locations provide an idyllic backdrop for the unveiling of a wealth of secrets, lying dormant beneath the gilded surface of the 1950s glitterati.'
  • Jane Pepler - 'As a huge fan of The Book of Lost Found by Lucy Foley, I had high expectations of her second novel, ‘The Invitation’. I was not disappointed. The novel was full of fantastic descriptive writing about Italy in the 1950’s.'
  • Sarah Jones - 'A pleasant and escapist read about secrets, lies and most of all love.'
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'A fairly enjoyable read but did not grasp me like the authors first book.'
  • Jane Macleod - 'A subtle story that develops throughout the book interweaving a mix of characters, histories and emotions so you feel part of the unfolding drama.'
  • Jacqui Passfield - 'A beautifully woven story providing fascinating details of Italian life of the 1950s as well as 1930s Civil War Spain.'
  • Joy Isabella - 'Lucy Foley drew me into the Italian Riviera with ease and created a perfect summer novel. It blends romance with mystery in a style I would liken to Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca.'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'A fabulous book, perfect for the summer!'
  • Glynis Elliott - 'I loved the nostalgic feel of this novel.'
  • Ruth Paterson - 'Once again I find myself reading a spellbinding story of love and loss from Lucy Foley.   Mystery, romance, danger and lots of “sun” kept me reading on and wishing for more.'
  • Julie Bertschin - 'From the glamorous setting of a high society party in Rome to the beauty of the Mediterranean coast this story slowly unravels the hidden histories of Hal and Stella.  A glorious summer read.'
  • Emma Barton - 'This is a brilliant book, set in 1950's Italy during a luxurious yacht trip, heading to the Cannes Film festival, where everyone on board has a story to tell.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Ooh I so wanted to be a character in this most compelling and intriguing story based in 1930s Spain and 1950s Italy.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'Set in Rome and Cannes, this beautiful novel made me think of The Great Gatsby.'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'I shall look for this author again...good, atmospheric and very believable.'
  • Janet Monks - 'Writer Hal is invited to a party in Rome where he meets Stella an intriguing socialite. A glamorous story set in Italy, which through other tales takes the reader from New York to Spain and beyond.'

Synopsis

The Invitation by Lucy Foley

The second epic, escapist novel from a fresh new talent - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop. 'Fabulously engrossing' Woman & Home Rome, 1950s. One fateful night, Hal Jacobs meets Stella, a beautiful society darling from New York. To Hal, flailing in the post-war darkness, she's a point of light. They're from different worlds, but both trying and failing to carve out a new life. Stella vanishes all too quickly, until a curious invitation from an Italian Contessa reels her back into Hal's world. They join the Contessa's collection of luminaries on a yacht headed for Cannes film festival. The scene on board is a fiction - scars from the war can be hidden yet not healed. Everyone is hiding a dark history, but Stella's secrets run the deepest. Compelled by her fragile beauty, Hal is determined to bring back the girl she once was, the girl who's been confined to history. The Invitation is an epic love story that will transport you from the glamour of the Italian Riviera, to the darkness of war-torn Spain, and to a golden - if rather haunted - time.

Reviews

'I loved THE INVITATION ... I could dive into this book and be amongst the glittering characters in the Italian sun. A beautifully complex and vivid story, full of repressed longing and secrets. An absolutely enchanting tale'
Lucinda Riley

'So powerfully evoked ... with dark, sensuous undercurrents that lingered on in my mind, long after I'd reluctantly left Stella and Hal behind'
Kate Riordan

'Full of mystery and long-reaching shadows of the past ... richly drawn and compelling'
Rosanna Ley

'Glamorous and romantic and bittersweet all at once ... a fabulous story'
Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers

'It's a beautiful, compulsive and glamorous read - perfect for long summer days'
Lucy Clarke, author of the Richard

& Judy bestseller, The Sea Sisters 'The combination of the glittering, glamorous setting and the magnetic characters mesmerized me. This book is luminous
Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author of Here

's To Us 'A compelling love story that takes us far beyond the alluring Italian coast to a darker place, where secrets hide just below the water's surface ... A great read'
Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader

About the Author

Lucy Foley

Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry - during which time she also wrote The Book of Lost and Found. Lucy now writes full-time, and is busy travelling (for research, naturally) and working on her next novel.

Author photo © Philippa Gedge

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th July 2016

Author

Lucy Foley

More books by Lucy Foley
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Historical Fiction
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780007575367

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools