The Killing Files

by Nikki Owen

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Killing Files

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

A piercing, fast-paced and absolutely riveting read, the second book in ‘The Project Trilogy’ lives up to expectations. Having been gripped by the first in the series, I really do recommend starting with ‘Subject 375’ which was previously titled ‘The Spider in the Corner of the Room’. Dr Maria Martinez has been found not guilty of murder, she now races to discover the truth, but what version will she find? Nikki Owen plunges you straight into the story and straight inside Maria’s head as she tells the tale in the first person. With two different time frames, plus flashbacks, you need to concentrate to keep up, but this is oh so readably addictive. Maria has Asperger syndrome, finding myself inside her mind quickly became second nature. As I bore witness to her thoughts and actions, my own thoughts were set on a serated edge. Even though this is a wonderful all action thriller, there is a vulnerability to the writing, inducing feelings that prodded and provoked my consciousness. Placing you firmly in a different world, balancing a razor-edged tightrope of shocks and suspense, ‘The Killing Files’ is a fabulous thriller with a difference.

Liz Robinson

The Killing Files Synopsis

No matter how fast you run, the past always catches up with you. Dr Maria Martinez is out of prison and on the run. Her mission? To get back to the safety of her family. Little does she know that this might be the most dangerous place of all...Don't miss the second in Nikki Owen's electrifying Project trilogy, perfect for fans of Nicci French and Praise for Nikki Owen 'Powerful and gripping' - Kimberly Chambers 'A gripping and tense thriller' - Heat 'A must have' - Sunday Express 'Nikki Owen can write in a high-octane fashion that made me feel like I should be hyperventilating at times' - Guy Pringle, New Books Magazine 'A powerful, penetrating and intensely different read that seizes your attention from the very first page - Love Reading

The Killing Files Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the series Subject 375 (previously known as The Spider in the Corner of the Room). You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Shaun O'Keefe - 'Psychological thriller meets conspiracy in Nikki Owen's gripping debut. A thought-provoking, gripping and at times, terrifying read, Subject 375 is compulsive reading at its very best.'
  • Lisa Hall - 'A brilliant novel of intrigue and deceit, with the twists and turns of the best conspiracy theories, I absolutely loved Sunbect 375.'
  • Sophia Ufton - 'Wow, that was a story and half. This thriller is amazing, some unsuspecting twists and turns that you never thought possible! Cannot wait for the next instalment of this trilogy!'
  • Celia Cohen - 'A well written psychological thriller.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'Plastic surgeon Dr Maria Martinez has Aspergers. She is alone and in a London prison convicted of murder....'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'If you like haunting thrillers, this one is for you.  Totally compelling and credible.'
  • Cath Sell - 'This thriller features the intriguing Dr. Maria Martinez - in prison and fighting (literally at times) to clear her name and keep alive...neither is for certain.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'If you love conspiracy theories then you will really enjoy this first book in this trilogy.'
  • Melanie Kane - 'The plot of this novel was extremely well written with great narrative and detail. A powerful account of lies, deceit, murder, espionage and cruelty all which made for a very provocative read.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'The style is a little awkward but the story is interesting.'
  • Rachel Bridgeman - 'Too convoluted and clever for its' own good, this debut thriller tried to do so much in the space of the book that many elements were left dangling.'
  • Caroline Mathews - 'Disappointing, I'm afraid.  I think there's a decent story in there somewhere, but it took too long to get going.'
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'A gripping novel part murder mystery, part conspiracy theory.'
  • Celeste Mc Creesh - 'I feel like there is more to this story for the reader and Maria to uncover and I'm really looking forward to the next instalment of this trilogy.'
  • Bev Farningham - 'Well written but to be honest this story did nothing for me.'

The Killing Files Press Reviews

'Nikki Owen can write in a high-octane fashion that made me feel like I should be hyperventilating at times' - Guy Pringle, New Books Magazine

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Hothouse by the East River
Nighthawk NUMA Files #14
The Boy Who Saw
End Game

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781848454415
Publication date: 02/06/2016
Publisher: Mira an imprint of Harlequin (UK)
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781848454415
Publication date: 2nd June 2016
Author: Nikki Owen
Publisher: Mira an imprint of Harlequin (UK)
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Political / legal thriller,

About Nikki Owen

Born in Dublin, Ireland, Nikki Owen is an award-winning writer and columnist. Previously, Nikki worked in advertising as a copywriter, and was a teaching fellow at the University of Bristol, UK, before turning to writing full time. As part of her degree, she studied at the acclaimed University of Salamanca - the same city where her protagonist of Subject 375 Dr Maria Martinez, hails from.Part one in the Project trilogy, Subject 375 was Nikki's debut international novel and was published in many languages around the world, was selected for TV Eire AM prestigious Book Club choice and was part of Amazon's ...

More About Nikki Owen

More Books By Nikki Owen

Cover for The Girl Who Ran by Nikki Owen
Cover for The Girl Who Ran by Nikki Owen
Cover for Subject 375 by Nikki Owen
View All Books By Nikki Owen

Share this book