Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

join us on facebook win prizes
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Killing Files by Nikki Owen
  

The Killing Files

Action Adventure / Spy   Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Books of the Year 2016.

A piercing, fast-paced and absolutely riveting read, the second book in ‘The Project Trilogy’ lives up to expectations. Having been gripped by the first in the series, I really do recommend starting with ‘Subject 375’ which was previously titled ‘The Spider in the Corner of the Room’. Dr Maria Martinez has been found not guilty of murder, she now races to discover the truth, but what version will she find? Nikki Owen plunges you straight into the story and straight inside Maria’s head as she tells the tale in the first person. With two different time frames, plus flashbacks, you need to concentrate to keep up, but this is oh so readably addictive. Maria has Asperger syndrome, finding myself inside her mind quickly became second nature. As I bore witness to her thoughts and actions, my own thoughts were set on a serated edge. Even though this is a wonderful all action thriller, there is a vulnerability to the writing, inducing feelings that prodded and provoked my consciousness. Placing you firmly in a different world, balancing a razor-edged tightrope of shocks and suspense, ‘The Killing Files’ is a fabulous thriller with a difference. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the series Subject 375 (previously known as The Spider in the Corner of the Room). You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Shaun O'Keefe - 'Psychological thriller meets conspiracy in Nikki Owen's gripping debut. A thought-provoking, gripping and at times, terrifying read, Subject 375 is compulsive reading at its very best.'
  • Lisa Hall - 'A brilliant novel of intrigue and deceit, with the twists and turns of the best conspiracy theories, I absolutely loved Sunbect 375.'
  • Sophia Ufton - 'Wow, that was a story and half. This thriller is amazing, some unsuspecting twists and turns that you never thought possible! Cannot wait for the next instalment of this trilogy!'
  • Celia Cohen - 'A well written psychological thriller.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'Plastic surgeon Dr Maria Martinez has Aspergers. She is alone and in a London prison convicted of murder....'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'If you like haunting thrillers, this one is for you.  Totally compelling and credible.'
  • Cath Sell - 'This thriller features the intriguing Dr. Maria Martinez - in prison and fighting (literally at times) to clear her name and keep alive...neither is for certain.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'If you love conspiracy theories then you will really enjoy this first book in this trilogy.'
  • Melanie Kane - 'The plot of this novel was extremely well written with great narrative and detail. A powerful account of lies, deceit, murder, espionage and cruelty all which made for a very provocative read.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'The style is a little awkward but the story is interesting.'
  • Rachel Bridgeman - 'Too convoluted and clever for its' own good, this debut thriller tried to do so much in the space of the book that many elements were left dangling.'
  • Caroline Mathews - 'Disappointing, I'm afraid.  I think there's a decent story in there somewhere, but it took too long to get going.'
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'A gripping novel part murder mystery, part conspiracy theory.'
  • Celeste Mc Creesh - 'I feel like there is more to this story for the reader and Maria to uncover and I'm really looking forward to the next instalment of this trilogy.'
  • Bev Farningham - 'Well written but to be honest this story did nothing for me.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Killing Files by Nikki Owen

No matter how fast you run, the past always catches up with you. Dr Maria Martinez is out of prison and on the run. Her mission? To get back to the safety of her family. Little does she know that this might be the most dangerous place of all...Don't miss the second in Nikki Owen's electrifying Project trilogy, perfect for fans of Nicci French and Praise for Nikki Owen 'Powerful and gripping' - Kimberly Chambers 'A gripping and tense thriller' - Heat 'A must have' - Sunday Express 'Nikki Owen can write in a high-octane fashion that made me feel like I should be hyperventilating at times' - Guy Pringle, New Books Magazine 'A powerful, penetrating and intensely different read that seizes your attention from the very first page - Love Reading

Reviews

'Nikki Owen can write in a high-octane fashion that made me feel like I should be hyperventilating at times' - Guy Pringle, New Books Magazine

About the Author

Nikki Owen

Born in Dublin, Ireland, Nikki Owen is an award-winning writer and columnist. Previously, Nikki worked in advertising as a copywriter, and was a teaching fellow at the University of Bristol, UK, before turning to writing full time. As part of her degree, she studied at the acclaimed University of Salamanca - the same city where her protagonist of Subject 375 Dr Maria Martinez, hails from.

Part one in the Project trilogy, Subject 375 was Nikki's debut international novel and was published in many languages around the world, was selected for TV Eire AM prestigious Book Club choice and was part of Amazon's 'Rising Star debut selection'. In 2014, the trilogy was optioned by NBC Universal Television for a one-hour returnable TV series.

Nikki is now a full time writer and lives in the Cotswolds, UK with her husband and two children.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd June 2016

Author

Nikki Owen

More books by Nikki Owen
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

nikkiowenauthor.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Mira an imprint of Harlequin (UK)

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Action Adventure / Spy
Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Political / legal thriller

ISBN

9781848454415

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools