Our Song

by Dani Atkins

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Our Song

Quite simply stunning. From the moment I turned the first page, right through to the moment I finished and beyond, I have been transfixed by this beautiful yet heartrending novel. The first few pages set events in motion that will transform the lives of the characters forever. I say characters, but they quickly became known, cherished and loved, they are not perfect, but they live on the pages with warmth and vitality. Dani Atkins writes with heartfelt compassion, yet a lightness of touch, all the while, intense emotions sit waiting to make themselves felt. There are parts that shock, that are unexpected, others where an inkling may have been knocking at the door of your consciousness for some time. The story flows between the current day and the past with ease, letting understanding settle, bringing a feeling of inevitability, that this was meant to be. This novel should possibly come with a warning, that it’s best not to read it in public, as the emotions it can evoke are so vibrantly strong. I sobbed, I smiled, and I fell in love with ‘Our Song’. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Our Song Synopsis

The stunning new emotional drama from ebook phenomenon Dani Atkins, author of Fractured - perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Dorothy Koomson. This is the story of Ally and Charlotte, whose paths have intersected over the years though they've never really been close friends. Charlotte married Ally's ex and first true love, David. Fate is about to bring them together one last, dramatic time and change their lives forever. Full of Dani's signature warmth and emotion, this is a gripping and emotional family drama. With breath-taking plot twists, Dani explores themes of serendipity, friendship and love. She fully engages the reader in the dilemmas faced by her characters. What would you do if your husband was the love of somebody else's life? And when faced with an agonising decision, could you put the past behind you and do the right thing?

Our Song Reader Reviews

In addition to our expert opinion, a small number of our Lovereading reader review panel members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. You can read the full reviews here.

  • Linda Benner - 'A story of love gained and lost, and the power of friendship.'
  • Celeste McCreesh - 'What a beautiful, emotional, thought provoking story, I LOVED it...so grab this book, curl up on the couch with a few tissues and prepare to have a few lump in your throat moments too.'
  • Amanda Keeling - 'What an amazing read.'
  • Nickey Hawryszczuk - 'An emotional rollercoaster of a story. I felt like I really got inside the heads of the characters and felt every emotion. Such wonderful writing. This could be THE book of 2016. I highly recommend it.'
  • Julie Evans - 'What a brilliant book! Definitely a page turner which sends you through a torrent of emotions.'
  • Sarah Smith - 'A real roller-coaster of emotions leaving you knowing this is another great from Dani Atkins.'
  • Nicola Edwards - 'A beautifully written book...I absolutely loved, loved this book and really recommend it! Be warned though, it will make you cry!'
  • Lynne Morgan - 'I loved this book. Be prepared to be totally captivated and genuinely moved to tears.'
  • Maz Tucker - 'The story is compelling from the first page to the last. Lots of funny one liners that had me laughing out loud. The end had me in tears. Great story.'
  • Pauline Braisher - ‘An amazing book which will tug at your heartstrings. This will surely be a best seller.’ 
  • Hannah Ward - ‘I want to say wow what a book, it has every kind of emotion you can think of […] An author I would definitely recommend and read again.’
  • Beryl White - ‘I had to hold myself back from reading the last page because I was desperate to know what would happen to these characters.’
  • Charlotte Teresa Donovan - ‘Absolutely beautifully written, you cry and smile all at different points throughout this rollercoaster book. Dani Atkins is a genius and get your tissues at the ready!’
  • Edel Waugh - ‘A touching and tear-jerker story that is told beautifully. Read with tissues!’ 
  • Jane Brown - ‘Just a wonderful story - a beautiful tear-jerker. Full of twists, intertwining the present just one night and from the past.’
  • Lisa Hall - ‘Our Song is a beautifully written story of four people and how their lives have been interwoven. It's heart-breaking and emotional, and by the end I was RUINED, but in a good way!’
  • Alison Bisping - 'add to your summer holiday reading ...... in fact, just find an excuse. '
  • Laura Ayling - 'If there is one book you want to add to your 2016 wish list, then Our Song has to be it - just be warned that it will break your heart, make you smile but appreciate what you have and how it can all change on one decision.'
  • Gill Williams - 'The back story is cleverly written throughout the book and keeps interest and story going.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

From Notting Hill with Four Weddings ... Actually
If I Could Turn Back Time
If I Could Turn Back Time
Step Back in Time

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471142246
Publication date: 14/01/2016
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471142246
Publication date: 14th January 2016
Author: Dani Atkins
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 512 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Family Drama, Literary Fiction, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Adult & contemporary romance,

About Dani Atkins

Dani Atkins was born in London in 1958, and grew up in North London. She moved to rural Hertfordshire in 1985, where she has lived in a small village ever since with her family. Although Dani has been writing for fun all her life, Fractured was her first novel. She has since written The Story of Us and Our Song. Below is a Q & A with this author. Please tell us a little bit about what inspired Our Song …The first germ of an idea came as quite a disquieting thought.  I was thinking randomly about how many women (...

More About Dani Atkins

More Books By Dani Atkins

Cover for This Love by Dani Atkins
Cover for Fractured by Dani Atkins
View All Books By Dani Atkins

Share this book