book price comparison join us on facebook
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Black Sun by James Twining

The Black Sun

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

An action-packed hidden Nazi's treasure tale featuring the maverick art thief turned investigator, Tom Kirk. Great stuff. Fans of Jack Higgins, Frederick Fosyth will love it but this author is likely to find a wider readership as well if this book is anything to go by. It certainly sits alongside the top 3 thrillers of the year.

If you like James Twining you might also like to read books by Dan Brown, Matthew Reilly and Robert Ludlum.

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


The Black Sun by James Twining

In London, an Auschwitz survivor is murdered in his hospital bed, his killers making off with a macabre trophy – his severed left arm.

In Fort Mead, Maryland, a vicious gang breaks into the NSA museum and steals a World War II Enigma machine, lynching the guard who happens to cross their path.

Meanwhile, in Prague, a frenzied and mindless anti-Semitic attack on a synagogue culminates in the theft of a seemingly worthless painting by a little known Czech artist called Karel Bellak.

A year has passed since Tom Kirk, the world's greatest art thief, decided to put his criminal past behind him and embark on a new career, on the right side of the law . Then three major thefts occur, and suddenly Tom is confronted with a deadly mystery and a sinister face from the past.


'A story that harks back to the Nazis, Hitler, and a legendary treasure. What more could you want? If there's a better thriller this year I would like to see it' Jack Higgins, author of ‘Without Mercy’ and ‘The Eagle Has Landed’.

‘Dan Brown eat your heart out.’
Northern Echo

‘A thrilling read’ Cork Evening Echo

About the Author

James Twining
James Twining was born in London but spent much of his childhood in Paris. After graduating from Oxford University with a first class degree in French Literature, he worked in Investment Banking for four years before leaving to set up his own company which he then sold three years later, having been named as one of the eight "Best of Young British" Entrepreneurs in The New Statesman magazine. Married and living in London, James is currently completing the second Tom Kirk adventure.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th August 2006


James Twining

More books by James Twining
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Harpercollins Publishers


Paperback (a Format)
592 pages


Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense



Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton