join us on facebook twitter make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Black Sun by James Twining
  

The Black Sun

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   eBook Favourites   

RRP £10.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

An action-packed hidden Nazi's treasure tale featuring the maverick art thief turned investigator, Tom Kirk. Great stuff. Fans of Jack Higgins, Frederick Fosyth will love it but this author is likely to find a wider readership as well if this book is anything to go by. It certainly sits alongside the top 3 thrillers of the year.

If you like James Twining you might also like to read books by Matthew Reilly, Robert Ludlum and Dan Brown.

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Black Sun by James Twining

In London, an Auschwitz survivor is murdered in his hospital bed, his killers making off with a macabre trophy – his severed left arm.

In Fort Mead, Maryland, a vicious gang breaks into the NSA museum and steals a World War II Enigma machine, lynching the guard who happens to cross their path.

Meanwhile, in Prague, a frenzied and mindless anti-Semitic attack on a synagogue culminates in the theft of a seemingly worthless painting by a little known Czech artist called Karel Bellak.

A year has passed since Tom Kirk, the world's greatest art thief, decided to put his criminal past behind him and embark on a new career, on the right side of the law . Then three major thefts occur, and suddenly Tom is confronted with a deadly mystery and a sinister face from the past.

Reviews

'A story that harks back to the Nazis, Hitler, and a legendary treasure. What more could you want? If there's a better thriller this year I would like to see it' Jack Higgins, author of ‘Without Mercy’ and ‘The Eagle Has Landed’.

‘Dan Brown eat your heart out.’
Northern Echo

‘A thrilling read’ Cork Evening Echo

About the Author

James Twining
James Twining was born in London but spent much of his childhood in Paris. After graduating from Oxford University with a first class degree in French Literature, he worked in Investment Banking for four years before leaving to set up his own company which he then sold three years later, having been named as one of the eight "Best of Young British" Entrepreneurs in The New Statesman magazine. Married and living in London, James is currently completing the second Tom Kirk adventure.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th August 2006

Author

James Twining

More books by James Twining
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jamestwining.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harpercollins Publishers

Format

Paperback (a Format)
592 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Adventure

ISBN

9780007190171

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools