debuts of the month desmond elliott 2017 tudor queens series make the most of Lovereading join us on facebook

The Black Sun by James Twining
  

The Black Sun

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   eBook Favourites   

RRP £10.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

An action-packed hidden Nazi's treasure tale featuring the maverick art thief turned investigator, Tom Kirk. Great stuff. Fans of Jack Higgins, Frederick Fosyth will love it but this author is likely to find a wider readership as well if this book is anything to go by. It certainly sits alongside the top 3 thrillers of the year.

If you like James Twining you might also like to read books by Robert Ludlum, Dan Brown and Matthew Reilly.

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 3 July 2017. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 17 July 2017.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/07/2017

Synopsis

The Black Sun by James Twining

In London, an Auschwitz survivor is murdered in his hospital bed, his killers making off with a macabre trophy – his severed left arm.

In Fort Mead, Maryland, a vicious gang breaks into the NSA museum and steals a World War II Enigma machine, lynching the guard who happens to cross their path.

Meanwhile, in Prague, a frenzied and mindless anti-Semitic attack on a synagogue culminates in the theft of a seemingly worthless painting by a little known Czech artist called Karel Bellak.

A year has passed since Tom Kirk, the world's greatest art thief, decided to put his criminal past behind him and embark on a new career, on the right side of the law . Then three major thefts occur, and suddenly Tom is confronted with a deadly mystery and a sinister face from the past.

Reviews

'A story that harks back to the Nazis, Hitler, and a legendary treasure. What more could you want? If there's a better thriller this year I would like to see it' Jack Higgins, author of ‘Without Mercy’ and ‘The Eagle Has Landed’.

‘Dan Brown eat your heart out.’
Northern Echo

‘A thrilling read’ Cork Evening Echo

About the Author

James Twining
James Twining was born in London but spent much of his childhood in Paris. After graduating from Oxford University with a first class degree in French Literature, he worked in Investment Banking for four years before leaving to set up his own company which he then sold three years later, having been named as one of the eight "Best of Young British" Entrepreneurs in The New Statesman magazine. Married and living in London, James is currently completing the second Tom Kirk adventure.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th August 2006

Author

James Twining

More books by James Twining
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jamestwining.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harpercollins Publishers

Format

Paperback (a Format)
592 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Adventure

ISBN

9780007190171

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools