likeyoulove
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Black Sun by James Twining
  

The Black Sun

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

An action-packed hidden Nazi's treasure tale featuring the maverick art thief turned investigator, Tom Kirk. Great stuff. Fans of Jack Higgins, Frederick Fosyth will love it but this author is likely to find a wider readership as well if this book is anything to go by. It certainly sits alongside the top 3 thrillers of the year.

If you like James Twining you might also like to read books by Dan Brown, Robert Ludlum and Matthew Reilly.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Black Sun by James Twining

In London, an Auschwitz survivor is murdered in his hospital bed, his killers making off with a macabre trophy – his severed left arm.

In Fort Mead, Maryland, a vicious gang breaks into the NSA museum and steals a World War II Enigma machine, lynching the guard who happens to cross their path.

Meanwhile, in Prague, a frenzied and mindless anti-Semitic attack on a synagogue culminates in the theft of a seemingly worthless painting by a little known Czech artist called Karel Bellak.

A year has passed since Tom Kirk, the world's greatest art thief, decided to put his criminal past behind him and embark on a new career, on the right side of the law . Then three major thefts occur, and suddenly Tom is confronted with a deadly mystery and a sinister face from the past.

Reviews

'A story that harks back to the Nazis, Hitler, and a legendary treasure. What more could you want? If there's a better thriller this year I would like to see it' Jack Higgins, author of ‘Without Mercy’ and ‘The Eagle Has Landed’.

‘Dan Brown eat your heart out.’
Northern Echo

‘A thrilling read’ Cork Evening Echo

About the Author

James Twining
James Twining was born in London but spent much of his childhood in Paris. After graduating from Oxford University with a first class degree in French Literature, he worked in Investment Banking for four years before leaving to set up his own company which he then sold three years later, having been named as one of the eight "Best of Young British" Entrepreneurs in The New Statesman magazine. Married and living in London, James is currently completing the second Tom Kirk adventure.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th August 2006

Author

James Twining

More books by James Twining
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jamestwining.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harpercollins Publishers

Format

Paperback (a Format)
592 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Adventure

ISBN

9780007190171

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools