second sister make the most of Lovereading before the fall lyrebird desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett Read the opening extract of the brand new Jenn Bennett book before its publication on 27/07/2017

The Black Sun by James Twining
  

The Black Sun

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   eBook Favourites   

RRP £10.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

An action-packed hidden Nazi's treasure tale featuring the maverick art thief turned investigator, Tom Kirk. Great stuff. Fans of Jack Higgins, Frederick Fosyth will love it but this author is likely to find a wider readership as well if this book is anything to go by. It certainly sits alongside the top 3 thrillers of the year.

If you like James Twining you might also like to read books by Matthew Reilly, Robert Ludlum and Dan Brown.

Synopsis

The Black Sun by James Twining

In London, an Auschwitz survivor is murdered in his hospital bed, his killers making off with a macabre trophy – his severed left arm.

In Fort Mead, Maryland, a vicious gang breaks into the NSA museum and steals a World War II Enigma machine, lynching the guard who happens to cross their path.

Meanwhile, in Prague, a frenzied and mindless anti-Semitic attack on a synagogue culminates in the theft of a seemingly worthless painting by a little known Czech artist called Karel Bellak.

A year has passed since Tom Kirk, the world's greatest art thief, decided to put his criminal past behind him and embark on a new career, on the right side of the law . Then three major thefts occur, and suddenly Tom is confronted with a deadly mystery and a sinister face from the past.

Reviews

'A story that harks back to the Nazis, Hitler, and a legendary treasure. What more could you want? If there's a better thriller this year I would like to see it' Jack Higgins, author of ‘Without Mercy’ and ‘The Eagle Has Landed’.

‘Dan Brown eat your heart out.’
Northern Echo

‘A thrilling read’ Cork Evening Echo

About the Author

James Twining
James Twining was born in London but spent much of his childhood in Paris. After graduating from Oxford University with a first class degree in French Literature, he worked in Investment Banking for four years before leaving to set up his own company which he then sold three years later, having been named as one of the eight "Best of Young British" Entrepreneurs in The New Statesman magazine. Married and living in London, James is currently completing the second Tom Kirk adventure.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th August 2006

Author

James Twining

More books by James Twining
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jamestwining.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harpercollins Publishers

Format

Paperback (a Format)
592 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Adventure

ISBN

9780007190171

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools