Search our site
The Heart of Mars by Paul Magrs Read the opening extract of the brand new Paul Magrs book before its publication on 15/03/2018

Cautionary Tales - Comic Verse by James Landale

Cautionary Tales - Comic Verse

Literary Fiction   Poetry   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Hilarious and bawdy, slightly reminiscent of Roald Dahl but a bit ruder and more grown-up. Binge drinking, retail addiction and recreational drug use are just a few of the vices that James Landale touches upon. Deliciously wicked humour, I absolutely loved it. You certainly don't need to be a regular poetry reader to appreciate this collection.


Cautionary Tales - Comic Verse by James Landale

Meet Gloria, a young shopaholic who learns the value of money the hard way (Moral: "If you shop until you drop / One day the trust fund will stop"); or Jonathan, who picks more than his nose (Moral: "Orificial exploration / Is but good in moderation").

In the tradition of Hilaire Belloc, James Landale presents a gallery of awful children doing beastly - but very modern - things. The perils of video games, text messaging and retail therapy are all laid before the reader, with appropriately unsettling illustrations.

About the Author

James Landale
James Landale is an experienced journalist who is currently the Chief Political Correspondent for BBC News 24. Before joining the BBC in January 2003, he spent ten years working at The Times, most recently as Assistant Foreign Editor. He lives in London.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

12th October 2006


James Landale

More books by James Landale
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Canongate Books Ltd




Literary Fiction



I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!


My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch