make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Cautionary Tales - Comic Verse by James Landale
  

Cautionary Tales - Comic Verse

Literary Fiction   Poetry   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Hilarious and bawdy, slightly reminiscent of Roald Dahl but a bit ruder and more grown-up. Binge drinking, retail addiction and recreational drug use are just a few of the vices that James Landale touches upon. Deliciously wicked humour, I absolutely loved it. You certainly don't need to be a regular poetry reader to appreciate this collection.

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse by Alexander Mccall Smith

One very lucky winner will receive a signed copy by Alexander McCall Smith of his latest novel, The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 January 2018. The winner will be notified by 15th January 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/01/2018

Synopsis

Cautionary Tales - Comic Verse by James Landale

Meet Gloria, a young shopaholic who learns the value of money the hard way (Moral: "If you shop until you drop / One day the trust fund will stop"); or Jonathan, who picks more than his nose (Moral: "Orificial exploration / Is but good in moderation").

In the tradition of Hilaire Belloc, James Landale presents a gallery of awful children doing beastly - but very modern - things. The perils of video games, text messaging and retail therapy are all laid before the reader, with appropriately unsettling illustrations.

About the Author

James Landale
James Landale is an experienced journalist who is currently the Chief Political Correspondent for BBC News 24. Before joining the BBC in January 2003, he spent ten years working at The Times, most recently as Assistant Foreign Editor. He lives in London.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

12th October 2006

Author

James Landale

More books by James Landale
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Canongate Books Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Literary Fiction
Poetry


ISBN

9781841958477

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools