Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Tailchaser's Song

by Tad Williams

eBooks of the Month Fantasy The Evergreens

LoveReading View on Tailchaser's Song

A wonderful fantasy adventure, Tailchaser’s Song is the debut of Tad Williams, first published in 1985. Fritti Tailchaser is a young cat who embarks on an epic quest in search of a friend who has disappeared, as his adventure continues, despair and destruction start to stalk the pages. If we could hear cats talk, we would hear them tell this heroic adventure, it would be one of their great sagas, spoken of and passed down the years. Tad Williams ensures that we see, feel and become part of this fantasy world by setting customs, folklore and society in the story. There are some thoughts by the author himself, written in 2000, set at the beginning of the novel, however if this is your first foray into his work, you may want to read these at the end. Williams has a little gentle fun along the way with a couple of references that Lord of the Rings fans will undoubtedly pick up. Yes this could be described as a mix between Watership Down and The Hobbit, however it’s also a classic fantasy tale in its own right and a perfectly captivating read for older teens and adults alike. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

Tailchaser's Song Synopsis

The extraordinary debut novel that launched Tad Williams' career, TAILCHASER'S SONG is an epic of high fantasy and grand adventure, where gods walk amongst their people and where even very small creatures can change the world. Weaving through the tall grasses of this world is Tailchaser, a young ginger tomcat with a good heart and a restless spirit. When his friend Hushpad vanishes, Tailchaser sets out to find her. His journey will take him further than he ever thought possible - from the court of the Firstwalkers, through the cities of M'an, and into the hellish depths of the earth itself, where an unimaginable horror awaits.

Tailchaser's Song Press Reviews

Praise for THE DIRTY STREETS OF HEAVEN: 'When I heard that Tad Williams was writing an urban fantasy novel, I got all tingly. Now I've read it, and it's even better than I'd dared to hope. It's snarky, fast-paced, and above all, original. You should be tingly, too.
Patrick Rothfuss

'Tad Williams' ... famous four-book trilogy was one of the things that inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy. [ I ] said, My god, they can do something with this form, and it's Tad doing it.'
George R

.R. Martin 'This is urban fantasy at its best.
EpicBookReviews

'A very promising start to an exciting new series from one of our greatest modern F/SF authors.'
Geek Syndicate

'Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended.'
SFF World

If you loved this, you might like these...

Priest of Bones
Legion: Lies of the Beholder
The Belles
Cold Iron

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781473617117
Publication date: 20/08/2015
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781473617117
Publication date: 20th August 2015
Author: Tad Williams
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Fantasy, The Evergreens,
Categories: Fantasy,

About Tad Williams

World-famous fantasy novelist Tad Williams is the author of the Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, Otherland and Shadowmarch series. His work is revered by fantasy masters George R. R. Martin and Christopher Paolini. He lives in California with his wife Deborah Beale, co-author of the Ordinary Farm Adventures series, and their family.   Author photo © Deborah Beale

More About Tad Williams

More Books By Tad Williams

Cover for The Witchwood Crown by Tad Williams
Cover for Sleeping Late on Judgement Day by Tad Williams
Cover for Sleeping Late on Judgement Day by Tad Williams
View All Books By Tad Williams

Share this book