LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Tochi Onyebuchi - Author

Featured books by Tochi Onyebuchi

Riot Baby

Riot Baby

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi Format: Hardback Release Date: 21/01/2020

I met Tochi on a panel right before the pandemic hit and he was so delightful and engaging that I took a copy of his book home with me. Post #MeToo, a depressingly predictable number of male writers have suddenly turned away from tough guy narrators to writing women protagonist who are feisty and kick ass and love to give blow jobs. Tochi isn’t like that. He has a kindness and curiosity that imbues his characters with respect and believable complications.  His young women are trying to find a place in the world that seeks to stifle them. That they are able to find ways through the many obstacles thrown in their paths speaks to Tochi’s sensitivities and I dare say his own family’s immigrant experience. Selected by our Early Summer 2021 Guest Editor Karin Slaughter

Other books by Tochi Onyebuchi

Rebel Sisters

Rebel Sisters

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/11/2020

Rebel Sisters by Tochi Onyebuchi

War Girls

War Girls

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/10/2019

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria. The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky. In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life. Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together. And they're willing to fight an entire war to get there. Acclaimed author, Tochi Onyebuchi, has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi.

Crown of Thunder

Crown of Thunder

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/09/2019

Crown of Thunder by Tochi Onyebuchi

Beasts Made of Night

Beasts Made of Night

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi Format: Ebook Release Date: 31/10/2017

"e;...The beginning of a great saga..."e; NPR.org"e;This compelling Nigerian-influenced fantasy has a wonderfully unique premise and lush, brilliant worldbuilding that will consume you until the last page."e;Buzzfeed"e;...Unforgettable in its darkness, inequality, and magic."e; VOYA, Starred Review"e;...A paean to an emerging black legend."e;Kirkus Reviews, Starred ReviewBlack Panther meets Nnedi Okorafor's Akata Witch inBeasts Made of Night, the first book in an epic fantasy duology. In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beastslethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.Taj is the most talented of theaki,young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj's livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family. When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he's suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he lovesand his own life. Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable series opener that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt.Packed with dark magic and thrilling action,Beasts Made of Nightis a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.iBooks Most Anticipated YA Books of the Fallio9's All the Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Keep On Your Radar This FallBuzzFeed's 22 YA Novels You'll Want To Read From Cover To Cover This FallA 2017 BookExpo Buzz BookA Junior Library Guild Selection

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more