LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The New Woman

by Charity Norman

eBooks of the Month Family Drama Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The New Woman

So completely, effortlessly and joyfully readable, this is a beautifully compassionate story highlighting the essence of humanity in us all. The introduction snares and intrigues your attention, which is then held captive until the very last page. The lives of Luke and Eilish, successfully married for thirty years, are altered forever when disruptive turmoil howls into their lives. Covering the thoughts and feelings of the immediate family, the fact that only Luke and Eilish’s are in the first person ties their story together, confirming their deep connection and the fact that this is their tale. Charity Norman creates a believable and loveable family, each member has their faults, effectively drawing you closer and welcoming you further into the story. Feeling part of the family encourages both fear and tears for each of the characters. This heartfelt intimate journey plays with heartstrings and nudges thought processes ensuring, ‘The New Woman’ is a wonderfully moving read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

The New Woman Synopsis

Luke Livingstone is a lucky man. He's a respected solicitor, a father and grandfather, a pillar of the community. He has a loving wife and an idyllic home in the Oxfordshire countryside. Yet Luke is struggling with an unbearable secret, and it's threatening to destroy him. All his life, Luke has hidden the truth about himself and his identity. It's a truth so fundamental that it will shatter his family, rock his community and leave him outcast. But Luke has nowhere left to run, and to continue living, he must become the person - the woman - he knows himself to be, whatever the cost.

Win a copy of Scrublands and Silver as well as an accompanying tipple

Win a copy of Scrublands and Silver as well as an accompanying tipple

Closing date: 04/10/2020

To celebrate the paperback release of Silver by Chris Hammer we have a copy of Silver to win, along with the first book in the series, Scrublands and an extra treat of Australian rum. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. As this competition prize contains alcohol entrants must be 18 or over, we will ask you to confirm your date of birth when entering. The draw closes on 4th October 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The New Woman Press Reviews

'Move over Jodi Picoult. New Zealand-based author Charity Norman has the same clever knack of taking an issue and examining it from all angles, to see the effect it has on everyone involved.' --New Zealand Herald

'This is another wonderful and very thought-provoking story that I consumed in a single day.' --The Sun on The Son-in-Law

'Engrossing.' -- Woman and Home on The Son-in-Law

'A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening.' --Red Online on After the Fall

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Seven Doors
Inheritance
The Lying Life of Adults
Ash Mountain

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781743318751
Publication date: 23/07/2015
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781743318751
Publication date: 23rd July 2015
Author: Charity Norman
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Charity Norman

Charity Norman was born in Uganda and brought up in successive draughty vicarages in Yorkshire and Birmingham. After several years' travel she became a barrister, specialising in crime and family law in the northeast of England. Also a mediator and telephone crisis line listener, she's passionate about the power of communication to slice through the knots. In 2002, realising that her three children had barely met her, she took a break from the law and moved with her family to New Zealand. Her first novel, Freeing Grace, was published in 2010. After the Fall was a Richard and Judy Book Club choice ...

More About Charity Norman

More Books By Charity Norman

Cover for The Secrets of Strangers by Charity Norman
Cover for See You in September by Charity Norman
Cover for The Son-in-Law by Charity Norman
View All Books By Charity Norman

Share this book