Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

book price comparison
Search our site
A Country Escape by Katie Fforde Read the opening extract of the brand new Katie Fforde book before its publication on 22/02/2018

The New Woman by Charity Norman
  

The New Woman

Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

So completely, effortlessly and joyfully readable, this is a beautifully compassionate story highlighting the essence of humanity in us all. The introduction snares and intrigues your attention, which is then held captive until the very last page. The lives of Luke and Eilish, successfully married for thirty years, are altered forever when disruptive turmoil howls into their lives. Covering the thoughts and feelings of the immediate family, the fact that only Luke and Eilish’s are in the first person ties their story together, confirming their deep connection and the fact that this is their tale. Charity Norman creates a believable and loveable family, each member has their faults, effectively drawing you closer and welcoming you further into the story. Feeling part of the family encourages both fear and tears for each of the characters. This heartfelt intimate journey plays with heartstrings and nudges thought processes ensuring, ‘The New Woman’ is a wonderfully moving read. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Charity Norman you might also like to read books by Jodi Picoult, Joanna Trollope and Maggie O' Farrell.

Synopsis

The New Woman by Charity Norman

Luke Livingstone is a lucky man. He's a respected solicitor, a father and grandfather, a pillar of the community. He has a loving wife and an idyllic home in the Oxfordshire countryside. Yet Luke is struggling with an unbearable secret, and it's threatening to destroy him. All his life, Luke has hidden the truth about himself and his identity. It's a truth so fundamental that it will shatter his family, rock his community and leave him outcast. But Luke has nowhere left to run, and to continue living, he must become the person - the woman - he knows himself to be, whatever the cost.

Reviews

'Move over Jodi Picoult. New Zealand-based author Charity Norman has the same clever knack of taking an issue and examining it from all angles, to see the effect it has on everyone involved.' --New Zealand Herald

'This is another wonderful and very thought-provoking story that I consumed in a single day.' --The Sun on The Son-in-Law

'Engrossing.' -- Woman and Home on The Son-in-Law

'A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening.' --Red Online on After the Fall

About the Author

Charity Norman

Charity Norman was born in Uganda and brought up in successive draughty vicarages in Yorkshire and Birmingham. After several years’ travel she became a barrister, specialising in crime and family law in the northeast of England. In 2002, realising that her three children had barely met her, she took a break from the law and moved with her family to New Zealand, where she now lives in Napier. Freeing Grace (2011) was Charity’s debut novel and After the Fall (2013) is her second.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

23rd July 2015

Author

Charity Norman

More books by Charity Norman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Allen & Unwin

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781743318751

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools