twitter win prizes eleanor oliphant
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The New Woman by Charity Norman
  

The New Woman

Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

So completely, effortlessly and joyfully readable, this is a beautifully compassionate story highlighting the essence of humanity in us all. The introduction snares and intrigues your attention, which is then held captive until the very last page. The lives of Luke and Eilish, successfully married for thirty years, are altered forever when disruptive turmoil howls into their lives. Covering the thoughts and feelings of the immediate family, the fact that only Luke and Eilish’s are in the first person ties their story together, confirming their deep connection and the fact that this is their tale. Charity Norman creates a believable and loveable family, each member has their faults, effectively drawing you closer and welcoming you further into the story. Feeling part of the family encourages both fear and tears for each of the characters. This heartfelt intimate journey plays with heartstrings and nudges thought processes ensuring, ‘The New Woman’ is a wonderfully moving read. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Charity Norman you might also like to read books by Maggie O' Farrell, Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope.

Win a SIGNED HARDBACK of A Question of Trust!

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED HARDBACK competition! We are giving away THREE hardback editions of Penny Vincenzi's latest page-turner, A Question of Trust, each signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

The New Woman by Charity Norman

Luke Livingstone is a lucky man. He's a respected solicitor, a father and grandfather, a pillar of the community. He has a loving wife and an idyllic home in the Oxfordshire countryside. Yet Luke is struggling with an unbearable secret, and it's threatening to destroy him. All his life, Luke has hidden the truth about himself and his identity. It's a truth so fundamental that it will shatter his family, rock his community and leave him outcast. But Luke has nowhere left to run, and to continue living, he must become the person - the woman - he knows himself to be, whatever the cost.

Reviews

'Move over Jodi Picoult. New Zealand-based author Charity Norman has the same clever knack of taking an issue and examining it from all angles, to see the effect it has on everyone involved.' --New Zealand Herald

'This is another wonderful and very thought-provoking story that I consumed in a single day.' --The Sun on The Son-in-Law

'Engrossing.' -- Woman and Home on The Son-in-Law

'A gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening.' --Red Online on After the Fall

About the Author

Charity Norman

Charity Norman was born in Uganda and brought up in successive draughty vicarages in Yorkshire and Birmingham. After several years’ travel she became a barrister, specialising in crime and family law in the northeast of England. In 2002, realising that her three children had barely met her, she took a break from the law and moved with her family to New Zealand, where she now lives in Napier. Freeing Grace (2011) was Charity’s debut novel and After the Fall (2013) is her second.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

23rd July 2015

Author

Charity Norman

More books by Charity Norman
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Allen & Unwin

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781743318751

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools