win prizes
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Last Embrace by Pam Jenoff
  

The Last Embrace

Historical Fiction   Literary Fiction   Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A lovely warm, evocative story with a lightening sharp edge that highlights the conflict of the Second World War. Set mainly in the USA, with a sojourn in London, the beginning of the book steps back, back and back again in time, which effectively snares your attention. Addie is searching for acceptance, love and a sense of belonging, her relationship with the Connally’s is complicated, yet the family acts as a magnet to her. Pam Jenoff writes with a beautifully sincere and simple style, she covers the complexity of emotions within the storyline with integrity. ‘The Last Embrace’ has hidden depths, it is easy to lose yourself to the obvious relationship side of the tale, yet it is the veiled, the concealed and the undertones that really make this an enjoyably compelling read. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Pam Jenoff you might also like to read books by Rita Bradshaw, Kristina McMorris and Margaret Leroy.

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse by Alexander Mccall Smith

One very lucky winner will receive a signed copy by Alexander McCall Smith of his latest novel, The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 January 2018. The winner will be notified by 15th January 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/01/2018

Synopsis

The Last Embrace by Pam Jenoff

Forbidden love in the time of war, this is essential reading for fans of emotional historical romance, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee. August 1940 and 16-year-old refugee Addie escapes Fascist Italy to live with her aunt and uncle in Atlantic City. As WW2 breaks, she finds acceptance and love with Charlie Connally and his family. But war changes everything: secrets and passions abound, and when one brother's destructive choices lead to the tragic death of another, the Connally family is decimated, and Addie along with them. Now 18, she flees, first to Washington and then to war-torn London where she is swept up with life as a correspondent. But when Charlie, now a paratrooper, re-appears, Addie discovers that the past is impossible to outrun. Now she must make one last desperate attempt to find within herself the answers that will lead the way home.

Reviews

Wonderfully compelling... The story grips from the very first page, and the atmosphere of the circus is entrancing - you feel all the terror and thrill of the flying trapeze.' - Margaret Leroy, author of The Soldier's Wife`Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion...I read this novel in a headlong rush.' - Christina Barker Kline, #1 bestselling author of Orphan Train`A thrilling, yet heart-breaking story of life and love, heroism and sacrifice in wartime Europe' - My Weekly`This is a book not to be missed' - Melanie Benjamin, bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator's Wife`Jenoff has written a tribute to the human spirit that soars in the midst of epic despair...'-NPR`Jenoff's prose is evocative and compelling'-The Globe and Mail An emotional tale of survival and courage during a difficult time in Europe. - Suzy Approved Book Reviews Jenoff keeps readers on their toes with the numerous twists and turns... as well as the emotional peaks and valleys that had me reaching for tissues more than once. - Romance Dish THE ORPHAN'S TALE takes us on a heartbreaking, hopeful, touching and emotional journey; one that is not to be missed. - Jennifer Blankfein


About the Author

Pam Jenoff

Pam Jenoff was born in Maryland and raised outside Philadelphia. She attended George Washington University in Washington, D.C., and Cambridge University in England. Upon receiving her master's in history from Cambridge, she accepted an appointment as Special Assistant to the Secretary of the Army.

Following her work at the Pentagon, Jenoff moved to the State Department. In 1996 she was assigned to the U.S. Consulate in Krakow, Poland. It was during this period that Pam developed her expertise in Polish-Jewish relations and the Holocaust. Working on matters such as preservation of Auschwitz and the restitution of Jewish property in Poland, Jenoff developed close relations with the surviving Jewish community.

Jenoff remains involved in Polish-Jewish issues by writing articles and participating in a number of organizations. She has been honoured by the U.S. Commission for the Preservation of America's Heritage Abroad, served on the board of directors of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Southern New Jersey, been appointed as a fellow to the Salzburg Seminar (Social and Economic Dimensions of Human Rights), advised the Auschwitz Jewish Centre and is a member of the Polish Institute of Arts and Sciences in America.

Having left the Foreign Service in 1998 to attend law school at the University of Pennsylvania, Jenoff is now employed as an attorney in Philadelphia, where she also does pro bono and civic work focusing on at-risk youth, hunger relief and homelessness. The Kommandant's Girl is her first novel.

Author photo © Dominic Episcopo

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

13th August 2015

Author

Pam Jenoff

More books by Pam Jenoff
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.pamjenoff.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Mira an imprint of Harlequin (UK)

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Literary Fiction
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical romance

ISBN

9781848454019

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools