The Last Embrace

by Pam Jenoff

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on The Last Embrace

A lovely warm, evocative story with a lightening sharp edge that highlights the conflict of the Second World War. Set mainly in the USA, with a sojourn in London, the beginning of the book steps back, back and back again in time, which effectively snares your attention. Addie is searching for acceptance, love and a sense of belonging, her relationship with the Connally’s is complicated, yet the family acts as a magnet to her. Pam Jenoff writes with a beautifully sincere and simple style, she covers the complexity of emotions within the storyline with integrity. ‘The Last Embrace’ has hidden depths, it is easy to lose yourself to the obvious relationship side of the tale, yet it is the veiled, the concealed and the undertones that really make this an enjoyably compelling read. ~ Liz Robinson

Liz Robinson

The Last Embrace Synopsis

Forbidden love in the time of war, this is essential reading for fans of emotional historical romance, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee. August 1940 and 16-year-old refugee Addie escapes Fascist Italy to live with her aunt and uncle in Atlantic City. As WW2 breaks, she finds acceptance and love with Charlie Connally and his family. But war changes everything: secrets and passions abound, and when one brother's destructive choices lead to the tragic death of another, the Connally family is decimated, and Addie along with them. Now 18, she flees, first to Washington and then to war-torn London where she is swept up with life as a correspondent. But when Charlie, now a paratrooper, re-appears, Addie discovers that the past is impossible to outrun. Now she must make one last desperate attempt to find within herself the answers that will lead the way home.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Beyond the Veil of Tears
The Poppy Factory
The English Girl
The Forgotten Seamstress

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781848454019
Publication date: 13/08/2015
Publisher: Mira an imprint of Harlequin (UK)
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781848454019
Publication date: 13th August 2015
Author: Pam Jenoff
Publisher: Mira an imprint of Harlequin (UK)
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction,
Categories: Historical romance,

About Pam Jenoff

Pam Jenoff was born in Maryland and raised outside Philadelphia. She attended George Washington University in Washington, D.C., and Cambridge University in England. Upon receiving her master's in history from Cambridge, she accepted an appointment as Special Assistant to the Secretary of the Army. Following her work at the Pentagon, Jenoff moved to the State Department. In 1996 she was assigned to the U.S. Consulate in Krakow, Poland. It was during this period that Pam developed her expertise in Polish-Jewish relations and the Holocaust. Working on matters such as preservation of Auschwitz and the restitution of Jewish property in ...

More About Pam Jenoff

More Books By Pam Jenoff

Cover for The Orphan's Tale by Pam Jenoff
Cover for The Winter Guest by Pam Jenoff
Cover for The Diplomat's Wife by Pam Jenoff
View All Books By Pam Jenoff

Share this book