debuts of the month tudor queens series
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Wild and Free by Wendy Holden

Wild and Free

Relationship Stories   Literary Fiction   Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A witty, at times cynical look at life through the antics of a group of people at a music/literary festival. Some are going there to forget, some to reclaim youth, some to re-establish old links and some just to have a thoroughly wild time. It’s a good way to throw a mixed bunch together and the author has great fun developing the romantic entanglements and humorous situations. All very tongue-in-cheek. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Wendy Holden you might also like to read books by Allison Pearson, Julian Fellowes and Mhairi McFarlane.


Wild and Free by Wendy Holden

Wild and Free by Sunday Times bestselling author Wendy Holden sees the author of Bad Heir Day and The Wives of Bath at the top of her game. Fun for fans of Jane Costello and Carole Matthews. Wild & Free is the festival du jour. Everyone piles through its gates - and Cupid lies in wait to sprinkle a little midsummer madness on them all. Teacher Ginnie is desperate to forget her crush on headmaster Mark, and hopes glamping might do the trick. But Mark is also heading for Wild & Free to reform his college band ...desperate not to be seen by anyone he knows. Mark's bandmate James dreams of a festival blow-out with his son, Guy ...until his wife Victoria's ambition kills the dream. Now she and Guy are en route to Wild & Free instead but when Guy meets Shanna-Mae and falls for her earthy charms, Victoria is determined to snap Cupid's arrow. Will the magic of the festival send them wild? Or set them free to find peace and love?


Using her trademark wit, readers are swept into this hilarious and heart-warming romp... Immensely satisfying * Sunday Express `S

* Cue lust, sunshine, jokes and a heist - Holden is a master storyteller * Daily Mail * Super-sharp ... This hugely entertaining novel is chick lit at its best! * Closer *

About the Author

Wendy Holden

Number One bestselling author Wendy Holden has written ten consecutive Sunday Times Top Ten bestsellers. A former journalist on the Sunday Times, Tatler and the Mail on Sunday, she contributes to a range of publications and is a TV and radio regular. She was a judge for the Costa 2013 Novel and Book of the Year Awards. Wendy lives with her husband and two children in Derbyshire.

Photo © Laurie Fletcher

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

23rd April 2015


Wendy Holden

More books by Wendy Holden
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group


480 pages


Relationship Stories
Literary Fiction
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)



Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell